Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a real treat.
I have fond memories of my time at the BBC and travelling in the UK on book promotion tours with Keith. I remember the early days when bookshop signing audiences were thin on the ground but latterly crowd control barriers were a must as we travelled the country. David Pritchard gives a wonderful and at times hilarious insight into Keith's journey from obscurity to...
Published 4 months ago by Harry Dunn

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Good Recipe
I fully expected more from David Pritchard. I have seen him interviewd, I have watched him in dialogue with chefs, I have admired his tv work. I had anticipated his skills coming across rather more posotivey in his book. Sorry, David, I didn't enjoy it very much at all. Too much David, too much Flloyd, not enough others.
Published 19 months ago by Peter T H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a real treat., 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Kindle Edition)
I have fond memories of my time at the BBC and travelling in the UK on book promotion tours with Keith. I remember the early days when bookshop signing audiences were thin on the ground but latterly crowd control barriers were a must as we travelled the country. David Pritchard gives a wonderful and at times hilarious insight into Keith's journey from obscurity to international stardom. At times chaos reigned behind the scenes and I was taken back to the times when television seemed so much more spontaneous and exciting. Chances were taken and feathers were ruffled at the top but the result was legions of followers and a series of programmes still enjoyed around the world today. I wish Keith was still around. David Pritchard tells it how it was and I highly recommend this book. It's a real treat. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Mr Pritchard, Thank you for writing this book., 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
Simply excellent.

If you are into food and fondly remember Keith Floyd's hilarious/serious/delirious exploits then this extremely well recounted book will appeal to you. More than that it is an insight to the last days of the BBC old school institution, a lighthearted giveaway of technique on how to film a cookery series and a series of hilarious travelogues.

It is the story of a crazy, talented, inept, brilliant, troubled, self-deprecating and inspired career.

Did I mention the later chapters with Rick Stein?

Honestly I absolutely loved it and could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shooting the cook, 21 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
Great as I knew it would be. Brought back lots of memories as I worked at Southern TV and lived in Southampton. Have watched most of the Keith Floyd programmes in the past as well as Rick Steins and it was interesting to have some insight into the making of these. Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 12 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Paperback)
If you were a fan of the Keith Floyd programmes, this is for you. It's actually about the director, not the chef(s), but what makes it fascinating is that it's told from beind the camera by a bloke who is at least as interesting as anything he was filming, whether it's his childhood, his working relationship with the chefs, or his career up the ladder at the BBC. He's also a good writer, which makes all the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting the Cook, 28 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
Shooting the Cook As a freelance cameraman I am interested in producing TV programmes and saw this book advertised in a National newspaper and ordered it immediately. Now living near Bristol and having Cornish roots,the cooking of Rick Stein brings back the nostalgia of home. This book took me on a journey from the early days of its writer, David Pritchard, the Producer/Director of all the Rick Stein cookery programmes. His first sortie into this area of programme making was with the ubiquitous cook Keith Floyd I found this book compulsive reading - too short - and I hope David Pritchard will write a sequel !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting The Cook, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
What a clever marrying of title and artwork, `Shooting the Cook', a pulp fictionesque cover featuring, to me anyway, a morphed image of both Keith Floyd and Rick Stein, complete with the distressed damsel, gazing in horror as the `Frankenstein Monster' of gastronomy keens it's blade ready to release retribution on an unsuspecting world, which has for years sat idly by, silently watching the average `Brit' being force fed a daily diet of grey blandness. It's reminiscent of the `adult' type paperbacks I would see (but never dare read) ,when as a youngster I would spend my pocket money on Superman comic's at the second hand bookstore.

This book dishes no dirt, it's a straightforward, albeit charmingly naive account of how David Pritchard didn't set out to change the world of food forever. Starting from his childhood David takes us on trip through his life, never quite leaving that childhood innocence behind, the innocence that believed two boys could survive a two hundred mile route march with nothing but a packet of custard creams, his adolescent fumblings as he attempts to negotiate the erogenous zones of television production, to the eventual realisation that the monster he had created was beyond his control, through a period of loss and despair, until eventually regaining the tiller and sailing into a sea of serenity and renewed creativity.

I love this book immensely, it's not and doesn't attempt to be a latter day `War and Peace', it's simply a, `darned good read'. So my advice to you dear reader, if you are contemplating buying this book, don't procrastinate, ignore all of the negative reviews, tick the box, order it, and when you relax with it in your favorite chair, unable to put it down, have a good `slurp' of your preferred wine,give a thought or two to poor old Keith, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by its cover, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
CRP - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
I heard David Pritchard talking about this book on the radio and it sounded like a must read.

It is. It's a very funny book charting the rise and rise of TV chefs as the new rock and roll stars starting when Keith Floyd came to our screens and started doing cookery programmes for men.

There is no doubt Pritchard created the springboard for the TV formats and celebrity chefs of today, and the book is a laugh a page about how he created those early Floyd and Stein shows. Taking cookery out of the kitchen onto location and beyond the appeal of just housewife TV to an audience who wanted to relax with a glass of wine and not worry about the exact measurements of the ingredients- but just cook!

Pritchard relates how the shows were planned, filmed and received in the era before compliance, Health and Safety, bureaucracy and audience ratings. Stories of only one camera being used, tiny regional TV budgets, the volatile relationship between Floyd and Pritchard from start to finish (including a recent reconciliation), and the latter's reminiscences of the shocking British foods of the 60's and 70's, and how European food was, and still is, his inspiration.

So why 4 stars? Because it's a light, funny and engrossing read, but the book jacket ...it's just so awful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting the Cook, 20 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Marcia Clark "mgc reader" (co. durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
Excellent read about David Pritchard's early life and his development of TV cookery programmes from their early static kitchen base to the Keith Floyd experience, and then Rick Stein. Really honest, entertaining about how these programmes were made. He doesn't even mind recounting stories that question his judgement. If you would like to know what went on, read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
Ac Pa Parrott (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Hardcover)
Super read whilst sipping a glass of wine. Made me smile - and made a poor flight really go very quickly. 5 stars from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read. The Floyd- Pritchard interaction, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Cook (Kindle Edition)
A fun read. The Floyd- Pritchard interaction ... what can one say? - My wife is firmly on Keith's side :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shooting the Cook
Shooting the Cook by David Pritchard (Hardcover - 30 April 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews