Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection from some of the best talent in the genre
Millions of years hence, the Sun has grown old, bloated and red and is about to go out. In these dying days humanity, now capable of great feats of magic, shares the much-changed Earth with hostile races such as the deodands and pelgranes. This is the vivid setting of Jack Vance's Dying Earth series, four books (now usually published in one volume) which now stand as one...
Published on 5 Oct. 2009 by A. Whitehead

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but .....
Whislt I would certainly recommend this intruiging collection to any appreciator of Vance (those who haven't read the originals should buy them in preference). I can't agree with some of the more adulatory reviews here. What struck me most about these rather variable in quality stories was how most of the writers fail at a pretty elementary level to fully comprehend the...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Time Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Jack vance, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
then you would love this book! some of the stories are hit and miss for me but overall I feel that this is a great read and worth your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for a Jack Vance fan, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
Michael Jones (North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs of the Dying Earth (Hardcover)
After reading the other excellent reviews there is little to add except to say that if you, like me, have read everything that you can find by the great Jack Vance and still crave more then you will enjoy these stories very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Tribute out there, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Songs of the Dying Earth (Hardcover)
When I originally heard about the line up for this tribute based on Jack Vance's world I was not only very excited but looked forward to its release by counting down on my calendar. What I thought was going to be not only an excellent tribute to the much loved author was not only that but really was something special. However, that said, my only real gripe was the apparent nervousness as it felt like a number of them who had been asked to contribute really weren't fans of Vance's writing as they weren't as confident about some of the facts that they'd placed within their texts.

Now that I've got that out in the open it is one of the best tribute novels out there and will hopefully lead to more novels for not only Jack Vance but other authors who've helped build the genres. It is well written and perhaps my favourite was the tale by Dan Simmons however whichever you enjoy you know theres real quality available within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but ....., 6 July 2010
This review is from: Songs of the Dying Earth (Hardcover)
Whislt I would certainly recommend this intruiging collection to any appreciator of Vance (those who haven't read the originals should buy them in preference). I can't agree with some of the more adulatory reviews here. What struck me most about these rather variable in quality stories was how most of the writers fail at a pretty elementary level to fully comprehend the masterful original series and their unique and skillfuly crafted aura of other-human malevolance.

The finest story in the bunch I would classify as George RR Martin's, not a writer I have enjoyed much before, whilst among the worst oddly enough are Robert Silverberg and Neil Gaiman's, normally two of my favourite fantasy/sf short story writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Kenneth Otoole "Burnt Out Wreck" (Runcorn.U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars did no hum this song, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Songs of the Dying Earth (Hardcover)
songs of dying earth
picked this up thinking it was an anthology of sci fi tales set in a ravaged future of no ozone and technofailure very 1990s
turned out to be tribute volume to the dying earth a book by jack vance i had never read
a furious jabberwocky of overblown fantasy and aside characters livig in a blatant world at the end of time
that constantly reminded me of disneys sword in the stone
some good some bad the weak stories made me realise didn't really miss much by not reading the original vance in ace double novel however i have read vance's space opera dragon masters and big planet years ago but just forgotten them as i forget this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fitting tribute, 6 Nov. 2010
By 
A. G. L. Williams (ashington england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the various contributors, I also was captured by Vance's prose style when it first came to my attention. This book is a worthy(and weighty)acknowledgement, though as with all such books some of the contributions are better than others. A must buy at a reasonable price for Vance lovers, with a good bibliography anddetails on and by the contributors.Buy it with the handsome new complete Lyonnesse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facsimiles in praise of Vance, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
Derek Simpson "hgiderek" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent compendium of short stories after the style of Jack Vance's 'Dying Earth' series. Most are so good that they could have been from the master himself. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs of the Dying Earth
Songs of the Dying Earth by George R. R. Martin (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2009)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews