Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Sequel
Having read Howls Moving Castle and Castle in the Air, I was waiting for this to come out with a great deal of anticipation. And I can safely say that it was worth the wait.

Howl, Sophie and Calcifur make a welcome return and have more prominent roles in the story, which was a welcome surprise. The new main character Charmain, a sheltered young woman sent to...
Published on 28 Jun 2008 by Mr. C. McMartin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
Not really for me sorry it's a library copy and in very good condition and very well priced you pay more for the postage
Published 4 months ago by Tinkerbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars House of Many Ways review, 3 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: House of Many Ways (Paperback)
Saw the film Howl's Moving castle and then found out it was a book first so I had to go back and read the whole series.

Do the same they are very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book of many things, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. Elinor Deputy (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House of Many Ways (Paperback)
What a book. If you loved howls moving castle then you'll love this. It's great for kids over 8 and adults. The characters are great and Diana Wynne Jones takes you into a world of magic and intrigue. Howl and his family even make another appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the "Howl" series!, 20 May 2011
By 
Jack M (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House of Many Ways (Paperback)
I have read and thoroughly enjoyed "Howl's Moving Castle" and "Castle in the Air", both of which were beautifully written and a pleasure to read. However, "The House of Many Ways" is an absolute delight and reaches a new high. Diana Wynne Jones is quite rightly credited as one of the best children's fantasy writers of her time, and this book maintains her high standards. Her plots tend to meander, but in a good way, and the multi-facetted story lines mean that one must work to understanding what is going on. This makes her books all the more enjoyable and sets her apart from many other children's writers.

A true gem from an author who will be sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 13 Jun 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: House of Many Ways (Hardcover)
When book lover Charmain Baker has to go and take care of Great Uncle William Norland's (a wizard) house while he is away, she is in for a surprise.

Soon after arriving, she discovers that the letter she sent to the King was answered, and he wants her to work with him in the Royal Library. Then Sophie Pendragon, Wizard Howl, and Morgan arrive, making the palace almost a nursery.

The Wizard Howl and Sophie ask Charmain to help them look for the King's disappearing gold by looking for any mention of debts or loans in the records she is reviewing for the King.

With help from new characters Waif and Peter Charmain, the plot gets thrown into a confusing mystery. Diana Wynne Jones's sequel to HOWL'S MOVING CASTLE will keep readers breathless as they follow Charmain through her never-ending surprises and encounters with kobolds, lubbocks and elves.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys Diana Wynne Jones's writing or wants a fascinating fantasy mystery. Although this book is a sequel, it can be read without any prior knowledge of the first book.

Reviewed by: Elly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Many Ways (Paperback)
I love this series! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Many Ways
House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews