Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest and best of his WW1 series, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Michael T. Isaac "Mike" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Richard Holmes is well known as a military historian who can not only make the details of military campaigns intelligible, but can recognise the human stories beneath. There is little in terms of campaign detail. There is not that much that is especially original, either. But these are trivial matters compared with the book's place as in my opinion one of the best annotated photo albums about WW1. Enormous knowledge is worn lightly; the choice of photos is without exception excellent, with most them having appeared rarely if at all before. The greatest strength is that Holmes teaches us (without seeming to do so) how to read photos of WW1 and probably all conflicts, drawing us into the detail of the picture with warmth and humanity. Highly recommended even at full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shots from the Front: The British Soldier 1914-18, 7 Feb. 2009
A typically excellent volume from Richard Holmes as one would expect. With his encyclopaedic knowledge of the First World War his detailed interpretation of the images extracts a wealth of detail and exposes the hidden facets bringing out the real meaning behind the photograph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be compulsory reading at secondary school, 9 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very interesting (superb value, possibly underpriced!) and the photos and commentary text are very readable; my interest was maintained throughout. The shots used are unusual, and many are of the less dramatic side to war- the sitting about, rations, casualty evacuation and the logistical side. There are also some less pleasant subject matters shown.

Richard Holmes also makes those very engaging battlefield documentaries and he's got a way with words too. This should be compulsory reading at secondary school, everyone should be aware of some the potential realities of war, and WW1 in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Balanced Picture, 24 Sept. 2011
By 
P. J. Connolly "Caractacus" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Richard Holmes was one of the great authorities on the British Army, especially in respect of the Western Front of the First World War. This book, one of his last, is a fitting summary of that lifelong interest.It mixes a wealth of really interesting photographs with a very down to earth portrait of everyday life there.There is a tendency to-day to see the western front as a scene of unmitigated and unrelenting horror from which no one emerged other than as a shattered wreck. Whilst clearly true for some of the time and for some of those involved it is too glib an explation. Somehow most of those engaged muddled through and for some it was the defining experience of their lives, and not necessarily in a negative way.This is a balanced and sober summary that gives a poignant and fascinating insight into what it was really like for the generally very young men who fought in the First World War. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove of interesting and unusual facts showing us more than “In Dulce Decorum Est” ever can., 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Shots from the Front: The British Soldier 1914-18 (Paperback)
At the time of writing, Amazon wants to know if reviews are based upon “verified purchases”. I shall show I have read the book by making reference to it.

Why should you read / buy this book ?

Far too many people think they know WW1, whereas all they really know is the highly selective view they have been taught (indoctrinated with ?). There is far, far more to WW1 than “mud, blood, mechanised slaughter”, Sassoon and Owen, and in this invaluable book we find the proof.

As the author points out in Chapter 1, p21 et seq, much anti-war poetry and literature was written in the 1930’s, when it was fashionable to think like that, and actually the poetry written at the time covered far more topics, and was far coarser, than is commonly presented to us (by those with a distaste for the nationalistic, jingoistic, scatological and earthy). Again, in contrast to the caricatured stereotype, on p210 Holmes reminds us that shells accounted for more damage than machine guns. But the concept of soldiers walking slowly into machine gun fire seems a very difficult to remove idea.

The book is themed, rather than in chronological order, so it is not until p71 do we get to the indiction process. Here too is little known information, eg p72 and fig 42, that the British Army uniform was of better quality than most working men’s everyday clothes.

And so the ignored, over-looked, mind-expanding, and above all real, keeps coming, for example, p90 and fig 58 show us a carrier pigeon being released from a tank; p91 and fig 59 show us and tell us about the Fullerphone, a predecessor of broadband where Morse could be sent down the same line at the same time as a spoken phone call, and the Morse was almost impossible for the Germans to pick up with their buried microphones; p100 and fig 67 shows us a bloke up a transportable pole (I kid you not), desperately trying to see what’s going on.

For those who can’t understand how, and why, the artillery couldn’t hit what the soldiers at the front needed them to hit, a look at fig 71 on p104 shows us a very complicated board where the information from the front is being turned into the information the artillery need (very different forms of data), and which gun is firing where. This vital link is widely ignored, and far too many people assume the process was extremely simple, when it wasn’t. The accusation of incompetence needs to be directed at those who will not research what was actually going on, rather than directed at those who did know what was going on, but didn’t run the war the way 21st century pacifists would like it to have been.

Also spectacularly absent are fields of holes and mud. Given that the vast majority of these pictures are ‘snap-shots’, taken by the soldiers themselves, we notice what was of interest to the soldiers, not those with a vested interest in proving the war was a particular caricatured way. We see people shaving, washing, meet some FANYs, see a tank well and truly jammed in a German trench, and occasionally visit fronts way from the Western one, eg East Africa and the Middle East. Remember, it was a world war, not a Flanders war.

And when the soldiers came back, they miss it (p236) ! They had a predominantly positive tone during the war: this was one of the many reasons they coped. The problem surface in peace-time in re-adjusting to peace and the lack of support for returning soldiers (still far too common today).

My criticisms are two-fold. Firstly, the author seems obliged to pander to the “death, doom, and disaster” brigade because just about everyone who is mentioned in the text (not necessarily in the photos) dies. Brief work with a calculator shows this is not so (total BEF force approx 5.7 million, total BEF dead approx 0.7 million. That is approx 12%, ie 88% live.) and yet it is only the stories of the dead we seem to hear. Secondly, there are precious few shots of the extensive victory celebrations, reinforcing the idea that it was not a victory worth celebrating.

This book goes some way to bringing us a balanced, but still more needs to be said about the overwhelming majority who served and lived, and to stop the fixation on Flanders. This book contains many, many deeply interesting and unusual viewpoints that we never hear, and really ought to be part of the British school curriculum so we can have a balanced and rounded view, rather than a warped and selective one.

Please buy and read this book, and see how the soldiers really lived, away from the highly selective viewpoint of those with a stubborn, pre-disposed hatred of the whole venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 24 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating pictorial view of WW1 life. As usual Richard Holmes is entertaining and shows us some of the lesser known facts of the campaign. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Par for the course for Holmes, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
S. C. Tipler "TommyTip" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The usual high standard we have come to expect from Richard Holmes, a fascinating collection of photos telling the story of WW1 from all theatres of war not just the Western Front. I just wonder what we can expect next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ww1a history, 26 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Holmes is an outstandig historian on the two world wars. This book deals with the first and gives an insight into the minds of the brave men who fought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Read, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shots from the Front: The British Soldier 1914-18 (Paperback)
.....from a top notch author. Many photographs not often seen before are included and Richard Holmes' commentary is absolutely fascinationg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fathers day gift., 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my dad for fathers day.He is a WW1 buff.He was flicking through it and we found a photo of my great grandfather at the front on the Somme.So it was a great gift with family history to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shots from the Front: The British Soldier 1914-18
Shots from the Front: The British Soldier 1914-18 by Richard Holmes (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews