Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Background to a history still vaguely recorded
Having been moved, each time, reading Saggitarius Rising, I moved on to other fictional accounts of WW1 aviation. Discovering On a Wing and a Prayer at last was a pleasure.

Wary at first that the author did not have a background in aviation, I was soon persuaded that his credentials were not questionable.

Mr Levine puts those other books into some...
Published on 17 Oct. 2008 by ChampChump

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading description.
The title is misleading. The content is heavily padded out with matters not connected to actual flying exploits. Some early parts are repeated much later in the book and the chapters do not flow with the months, years,and battles of the period. As a regular reader of aviation books and World Wars One & Two, I could not recomend it to others with a similar interest.
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by David H. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fighter Heroes of World War 1, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. Malcolm Shires "malc.1940" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
Well written book with plenty of factual detail. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of the first World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
Fantastic book I really enjoyed it. I am a great fan of the old bi planes, and the pioneering pilots, so it was very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done amazon, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good well recommended I canot wait for my next history lesson excellent service prompt and good value keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book, full of anecdotes and factual detail. A must for any aviation buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
All the more interesting as I found an ancestor had a part in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb History, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Somewhere in Southern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable read whilst getting across the history and novelty of a new weapon. I, as I suspect that most people do, think of the fighters of the latter part of WWI as typical, to read about aircraft at the begining of the war and the relationship with artillery (and in some cases individual shells fired by that artillery) was a revalation. As to falling out of an aircraft and living to tell the tale... well it's funny now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great view into the lives of WW1 pilots, 15 Mar. 2009
I have spent a lot of time trying to find good information about the lives of WW1 pilots. The libraries and bookshops are full of books about aviators from WW2, but the pioneers of aerialcombat are usually forgotten.

"On a wing and a prayer" gives a good view into the lives of theese men and the war they where fighting. The book consists of quotations from various letters written by WW1 pilots during the war, sewn together by facts, speculations and stratergies by the author.
A great book for all who are interested in aviation history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading description., 21 Jan. 2010
By 
David H. Morgan "Private flyer" (Uxbridge U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The title is misleading. The content is heavily padded out with matters not connected to actual flying exploits. Some early parts are repeated much later in the book and the chapters do not flow with the months, years,and battles of the period. As a regular reader of aviation books and World Wars One & Two, I could not recomend it to others with a similar interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GSCE text?, 10 Sept. 2008
By 
J. Busby (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If British schools ever decide to study the First World War in the air, this would make an ideal textbook. It is printed in a nice large typeface, it doesn't use big words, no knowledge of history is required, and there are few facts or dates. It's not 'judgemental' and it's full of 'empathy'.
I appreciate that an 'oral history' of this type is not aimed at a very demanding audience. Even so to write a good one demands some intellectual rigour rather than just the ability to use a word processor. Martin Middlebrook was the first successful author to use oral testimony as the basis for his books but he combined it with detailed historical research and sound historical judgement. This book has neither. The internet is not a substitute. Levine thus manages to make Peter Hart look like Gibbon.
Having said that there are one or two bits of decent material that I had not seen before but only Grade E for this I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighter Heros of WWI
Fighter Heros of WWI by Joshua Levine (Paperback - 29 July 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews