Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Background to a history still vaguely recorded
Having been moved, each time, reading Saggitarius Rising, I moved on to other fictional accounts of WW1 aviation. Discovering On a Wing and a Prayer at last was a pleasure.

Wary at first that the author did not have a background in aviation, I was soon persuaded that his credentials were not questionable.

Mr Levine puts those other books into some...
Published on 17 Oct 2008 by ChampChump

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading description.
The title is misleading. The content is heavily padded out with matters not connected to actual flying exploits. Some early parts are repeated much later in the book and the chapters do not flow with the months, years,and battles of the period. As a regular reader of aviation books and World Wars One & Two, I could not recomend it to others with a similar interest.
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by David H. Morgan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A great read to remind us of sacrifice beyond the call, 31 Mar 2014
OK this is not meant as some kind of erudite tome chronicling the aerial events of the Great War but it is a great read. Nice format too for those who like to read without the specs on! Somewhat weighty for the poolside so maybe consider the Kindle version. I got this as an Xmas pressie and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done amazon, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good well recommended I canot wait for my next history lesson excellent service prompt and good value keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
One of the best flying books about World War 1 that I've read.
It's full of personal accounts and anecdotes. Some of the survival stories are more bizarre and unbelievable than pure fiction. It's a great read about the start of the Royal Flying Corp and its progression from an observation role to a fighting force. It's also very amusing in parts and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Warning, 23 Nov 2011
By 
D. Cooknell "Retired academic" (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
I concur with the favourable reviews of this book. It is perhaps not as well-researched as the Peter Hart books of similar content, but is most enjoyable to read. However do note that it was issued in hard-cover format with the title "On a Wing and a Prayer". I discovered this after purchasing (at a bargain price) the paperback here described. I had already purchased the hard-cover version. I shall give the paperback to an interested friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing history allive., 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
I saw this book just before I went to the battlefieds of France and Belgium, and found it
invaluable. I was able to locate the grave of Albert Ball VC. There are other stories in
this book which makes me want to investigate more and visit the battlefields again.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in aerial combat of the 1st WW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aces Low - a better history, 1 Dec 2010
By 
John R. Orr "Socrates" (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
This was a surprisingly good book.

I thought it would be the usual hagiographic biopic of various fighter pilots but it turned out to be much better, more thoughtful and very interesting account of air warfare in the First World War.

The collections of notes, biographies and personal details were such that I consider that it was one of the most illuminating histories of that era and I thoroughly recommend it.

John Orr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and fascinating read, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
If you want to know more and understand just how it really was from the writings of the men that went through the first world war then read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captures the extraordinary character of these early airmen, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
I ordered the book having seen the author on a Sky programme on the Air War of WW1 and found it a fascinating, and at times disturbing read. The research and detail is spot on, yet is presented in a readable and at times humerous way which, I think, is a true reflection of the people and the time. It left me in awe of the achievements of these remarkable young warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recollections of people who were actually there, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
This is a damned good book. It's a collection of memories by people who were actually there at the time, and it describes day to day life as well as their experiences in combat. Of course it wanders in various directions - any real conversation does! But the diversions are all relevant and describe events that played a part in the lives of these pilots. This is the story of real people living from one day to the next, not a detailed record of who flew against who on what particular date. There are plenty of other books for that.

I found Joshua Levine's work to be absorbing and well written, and would recommend it to anyone interested either in WW1 aviation, or in the general history of that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fighter Heroes of World War 1, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Malcolm Shires "malc.1940" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Heros of WWI (Paperback)
Well written book with plenty of factual detail. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of the first World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighter Heros of WWI
Fighter Heros of WWI by Joshua Levine (Paperback - 29 July 2011)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews