Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent FH introduction
'Tracing Your Family History' is an excellent guide and reference book that will be useful for any genealogist starting out on a serious family history quest. Not owning Mark Herber's similarly aimed book, 'Ancestral Trails', which at a whopping 840 pages is more than twice the size of Adolph's volume, I can't compare the two, but TYFH...
Published on 25 Jan 2006 by Chris Pomery

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Colour Blind
Whilst the information detailing the many and varied sources that can be accessed for tracing family history is excellent the production of the book is just dreadful. The printing of text onto coloured panels makes it almost impossible to read particularly under artifical light. The book was recommended to me by my daughter in law but when I challenged her on this problem...
Published on 7 Feb 2010 by R. A. Scarfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent FH introduction, 25 Jan 2006
'Tracing Your Family History' is an excellent guide and reference book that will be useful for any genealogist starting out on a serious family history quest. Not owning Mark Herber's similarly aimed book, 'Ancestral Trails', which at a whopping 840 pages is more than twice the size of Adolph's volume, I can't compare the two, but TYFH is certainly a book that's designed to be used and would make an excellent present for someone starting out in their research. It's the kind of book that's worth dipping in to, and returning to from time to time, as well as reading from cover to cover.
Its chapters are structured by category of record, which means that it is easy find everything you need about specific types or sets of records in one place. This is useful as, once your family history investigation gets under way, this is usually the way one organises the research process.
One danger facing any author in this field is that the internet references quickly become dated. TYFH has a large number of URLs that can be usefully followed up, in fact more than enough to keep an assiduous researcher fully occupied for many, many months. However, if you're the kind of researcher that has to nail down every reference or potential website record then you probably need Peter Christian's 'The Genealogist's Internet', now in its third edition, as well.
It's hard to imagine any single book containing everything that a present-day genealogist would ever want, the range of documentary materials transcribed and online records available is simply too great, but this is an exellent single-volume description of the field that covers the full scope that almost all family history projects will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins Tracing Your Family History, 2 Feb 2006
By 
This is an updated edition of a book that was first published in 2004. It is well produced and lavishly illustrated, though some sections could have done with a bit of basic, old-fashioned editorial work and proof-reading. The author, an experienced professional genealogist, covers all the standard sources: oral evidence; birth, marriage and death certificates; census returns; wills, and so on. But there are also useful sections on subjects not touched on by earlier books on family history, such as the implications of DNA technology for genealogists, and the tracing of ancestors who were not born in Great Britain. It is particularly helpful to have an up-to-date address list, which includes some of the most useful websites. In all, a valuable addition to any family historian's library, whether they are a beginner or an old hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family History, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Penelope J. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
Bought a copy of this book after borrowing one from a friend. I've been tracing my family history for many years but found this book gave me other places to search that I was not previously aware of. A must for genealogists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tracing your family History, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well laid out chapters comprehensively take the reader through all relevant aspects of genealogy research. It is suitable for the newbie researcher; a useful manual even for the experienced or professional in this field. Well illustrated and an absorbing read. Online information now a little dated, so checking and your updating necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
This book was delivered very soon after my order, thank you.
It was recommended to me by our local family history group.
Its wonderful, very easy to read, follow and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for all Genealogists..experienced or beginner, 21 April 2010
By 
Paul Cooper "Bossman1959" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
I am relatively new to Genealogy and like many others I was unsure about how to handle the issues encountered when trying to obtain data that is as accurate as possible. Many find it frustrating when faced with the mass of often conflicting information. It is all too easy to go down the wrong path and find out after six months that your hard work has been in vain!
This book goes through the various methods of obtaining data explaining how to cross reference sources to validate the information. The writing style is easy to follow and has been split in a manner to make it possible to read the book in small sections if required.
I frequently refer back to sections of the book so it has proved to be excellent value to me. I would strongly recommend it to anyone wishing to begin creating or continuing to research their family details.

Collins Tracing Your Family History
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FAMILY HISTORY, 30 Dec 2009
By 
A. Taylor (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
The book was given as a Christmas present so the following is provided by the person it was given to.

I have "dipped" into this book at random and have found the articles particularly interesting and informative. A good source, it would seem, for anyone trying to trace their family history, easy to read and the details quoted in good everyday language. My is copy is a Hardback publication; I think a Paperback version would be easier to carry around with you when following "leads".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as a present..., 1 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Mcleod "Denise" (Glasgow, Scoland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
for my husband who is just starting out on researching his family tree. He has found this book very helpful and I can say between this and the laptop he hasnt put any of them down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference guide, 4 July 2009
By 
Graeme Stevenson (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
This book explains all the basics about starting out on family history research, and is set out in simple and esy to read format - good for just reading selected relevant sections or as a whole. Its well laid out, and easy to follow, but seems to have the crucial hints and tips. Gives a good steer of wher to gomand how to do it - and is extremley up-to-date on data availability - this is a fast changing! A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Colour Blind, 7 Feb 2010
By 
R. A. Scarfe (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Tracing Your Family History (Hardcover)
Whilst the information detailing the many and varied sources that can be accessed for tracing family history is excellent the production of the book is just dreadful. The printing of text onto coloured panels makes it almost impossible to read particularly under artifical light. The book was recommended to me by my daughter in law but when I challenged her on this problem after receiving the book she immediately agreed with me, she is a middle aged school teacher obviously used to reading text books but found this book very difficuly to read. Its a pity because as I say the helpful information and advice is first class from a very experienced researcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Tracing Your Family History
Collins Tracing Your Family History by Anthony Adolph (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2008)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews