Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit
Anna is nine and is far to busy with schoolwork, tobogganing and making important decisions about whether wood yo-yos, are better than tin, to do more than notice the posters of the man who has a moustache like Charlie Chaplin. It isn't until one morning she finds her papa has disappeared that she starts to listen to the grownups talk of Hitler, elections and Anna's...
Published on 3 Aug 2002 by muswellprincess

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No-one mentioned it was a tiny little edition
I love this book and was buying it as a gift for Christmas. However, when it arrived, it turned out to be a pocket edition with tiny tiny print. The person I was buying it for will not be able to read it. Shame there was no mention of this when I bought the book. Great story though - box of tissues deffo needed.
Published on 13 Dec 2011 by Hollyj


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, 3 Aug 2002
Anna is nine and is far to busy with schoolwork, tobogganing and making important decisions about whether wood yo-yos, are better than tin, to do more than notice the posters of the man who has a moustache like Charlie Chaplin. It isn't until one morning she finds her papa has disappeared that she starts to listen to the grownups talk of Hitler, elections and Anna's Jewish background. And then one afternoon she comes home from school to discover her missing father is uneasy over their safety and they must go to Zurich that very week to meet him that she realises how serious the threat of Hitler is.
It is the story of a lost childhood and the dissent from fame and wealth to poverty and having a price on your head. It is the story of four lives destroyed by the Nazis. And it is a true story.
It is one of the best books written about World War Two it shows the funny sad side of a childhood destroyed by hate. And the difficulties of French and English to a nine year old girl from Berlin whose mother who can't cook. This is a Brilliant book as are the sequels The Other Way Round and A Small Person Far Away. Lovers of 'Anne Franks Diary' and all the Michael Magorian's books will revel in this book of courage, pain and growing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!!, 10 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I saw this book on display in a local bookshop and was interested by the title. I picked it up and read the first couple of chapters in the shop. I was so mezmerized by it I had to buy it and once I got it home I could not put it down. The book really displys the innocence of childhood and really shows that things that can happen in life can be just as traumatic and confusing to children as they can for adults. it is a dramatic sometimes funny,sometimes poignantly sad book that takes your right into the world, and at times the suffering, innocent people had to endure because of their faith or beleifs. This book is beautifully written and I would advise any parent to let their children read this book it will teach them a lot about tolerance. A suitable book for any age not just children - I enjoyed this book from start to finish - and I'm 31!!!! I will be buying the next two in the series and then will give them to my neice to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 months in Switzerland, 2 years in Paris and then london., 13 Feb 2008
By 
sceptical (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I totaly adore this book! My mum bought this for me when I was nine (just like Anna), and I have totaly read it to pieces.

Max and Anna's father is a famous Jewish writer, but when the Nazis come into power they must leave everything and flee, first to a village in Switzerland, then to Paris and finaly to London. All the time getting poorer and poorer.

One of the best parts is when she worries about not being able to become an auther because she hasn't had a diffecult enough chidhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal first step, 31 Oct 2008
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
When I was a child, this was my first introduction to a time in history I would otherwise have been too young to understand, and it remains the best children's story about the events of the period. Wonderful, to be read when young, then re read as you grow up, then read again to remember the fragility of innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why it changed my life forever., 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I first read this book when i was 7years old, and living in post war Germany. I read about how anna had suffered and i felt for her, my father was also wanted ad killed by hilter, and i knew how she must feel, moving countries to escape it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, 14 Nov 2007
Content: The book describes the changing life of Anna (9), her brother Max (12) and their parents. They live in Berlin in 1933 and the Nazis are on the verge of taking over.
Firstly they are a normal family, affluent, happy, they had a nanny and a scullery-maid - but the situation converts them into a refugee family. The father is a critical journalist who writes political articles for different magazines and is an adversary of the national socialists which keep an eye on him not just because of his articles but of the fact that he's Jewish. So the family goes to Switzerland just with a few things that they don't arouse suspicion. Anna can't take her pink rabbit with her, it has to stay in Berlin.
In Switzerland the children find new friends and go to school there. The problem is that their father can't find work due to the fact that nobody wants to publish his political texts. For want of money they move to France where they hope against hope to live in better conditions.

The author's intention: The book is about a little girl who can`t say good bye to her friend in Berlin - because nobody is allowed to know that her family travel to Switzerland - she has to leave all the things which mean something to her and she has to accustom to many new things. But she manages it all and doesn't give up when it comes to the crunch. That's what she shows to her parents and also to the reader.
She's just a little person who believes in herself and her family and she's confident that they manage everything. Sometimes her firm conviction seems a bit naive- but, I mean, that depends on her age.

Facts: When Hitler stole pink rabbit" takes place between 1933 and 1935, during the time of Hitler. Fundamentally the book, which was written in 1971 and comprises 240 pages, is autobiographical. Judith Kerr, daughter of the famous journalist and detractor Alfred Kerr, describes her own experiences. The story continues in the books The other way round" (1975) and A small person far away" (1979) that's why it doesn't have a happy ending.

Impression while reading: Basically the book is exciting (family is persecuted) and in some places it is sad (uncle Julius and little dog Pumpel die) but I expected a little bit more from the title. The author just tells us twice about the title pink rabbit". So I think it stands for the good time in Germany.

My opinion: I think the book explains - suitably for children - the life of the refugee families at the time when Hitler took over and ordered to kill Jewish people, and all the consequences and historical events happening at that time. The story describes the destiny of many other families, although many didn't have the chance to go to other countries.
And so the reader, in my opinion especially children, learns that it's not important how you think about religion or where you are from because a person is a person. I think although the book is over 30 years old it's a classic and from my point of view it's still up to date and you can compare this book to the diary of Anne Frank.

Furthermore: In 1974 the book was awarded with the Deutsche Jugendliteraturpreis" as an outstanding children's book". In 1978 it was picturized (in German) under direction of Ilse Hofmann. The first broadcast was on 25th of December 1978, with Martin Benrath and Elisabeth Trissenaar as parents and Ariane Jessulat and Alexander Rosenberg as Anna and Max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a better JK for grown-ups, 24 Nov 2009
By 
V. Bridge "valery" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story line was really gripping and the innocence of the children very convincingly done. JK manages with spare detail to show food, cutoms, travel at the time, from the children's point of view. Despite the horrific hinterland, this is a nostalgic feel good read; the family manages to stick together. This is both an excellent grown-up and young person's read. We see life during WW2 through the child's eye without feeling that the child is being patronised. Pink rabbit disappears forever but hope wins through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulas!!, 25 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Anna is too busy with school work and tobboging to bother with a man with a moustache like Charlie Chaplain named Hitler.
But when her brother, Max and his friend,Gunther, bring home a badge with a hooked cross on it called the 'Nazis swavtika' she starts to take more notice, the following morning her Father dissapers, he is wanted by the Nazis- dead or alive. Anna and her family are secretly smuggled out of Germany, they live in Switzeland and Paris, and at the finish of the book, England.

I found this book very good, excitng, and being the only book about the Holocaust I have read so far, very interesting, at first I thought it had a funny name, and had hearrd it before and did not think much of it, but then got 'A small person far away' which is thr last one, then I read it and found it fantastic.
Highly Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will teach you something., 10 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This book is was about a girl called Anna and a boy called Max. They had to leave Germany because Hitler wanted to arrest Anna and Max's Papa. Anna, Max and their Mama and Papa went to Zurich which is a place in Switzerland. Anna and Max go to school and make friends. At first it feels like they are on holiday because they speak the language. The main thing is they miss their toys.
Papa can't make a living in Switzerland so they have to go to France. In France, it is hard because they don't know the language. After France they go to England but thats another story.
Anna was a refugee. She was a very determined character.
I liked the book because it was sad, funny, exciting and interesting. The book was interesting because it taught you something. By Bethea aged 7 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent novel that I could read over and over!, 7 Aug 2005
I had seen the book 'When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit' advertised before with its eye catching front cover of a little girl looking up. The Modern Classics front cover. I had never considered reading it but when I brought it to read on holiday and I began to read it, to my amazement couldn't leave it. An excellent story set in the 2nd World War about a young German girl of nine who is more concerned about her schoolwork than the talk of Hitler but everything then changes when she and her brother are to flee from Germany to find out that their father is wanted by the Nazis. Written by Judith Kerr who was German herself and had to leave Germany in 1933 to escape the Nazi's, comes a fantastic novel loved by all who read it. In the story, the young girl Anna, her life is based on Judith's experiences. A great book that derserves to be read more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30ab2b8)

This product

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics)
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics) by Judith Kerr (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews