Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice enough book but not what I expected, 12 July 2010
By 
Naomi Thornley (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
I was recommended this book for a 5 yr old who is fascinated by space. However the book is the memories of someone who was a boy at the time of the moon landing rather than being about the landing itself. I enjoyed the book but he found it rather uninformative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic illustrations, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
This is just the sort of book you expect from mark Haddon. This is a well-written story of a boy with dreams.
The illustrations bring the story to life beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
What a delight to find a book which really brings back memories for myself, and a springboard to introducing a topic about space.

Have now bought three copies and wish it had been there for my own children at that age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Love This Book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
We ordered this book as part of a home education study on Humans in Space. My children are 7 and 5, but young for their years. The book itself is beautiful, the illustrations are a feast for the eyes and inspired a lot of pastel work in the children.
The story is wonderfully told of one mans' memory of the Apollo 11 mission to the moon when he was a small boy. The language is well crafted and it almost reads like a poem. The children loved Mars being described as the 'space tomato'. Overall it presents as very simple but we found layers of interest and warmth in this delightful book. My children also now have a picture of the solar system on theirs walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching story of Mankind's greatest adventure, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
A charming book which captures the inspiration of project Apollo and the sense of wonder that a child watching from Earth would have had growing up in the 1960s and 70s. A nice book to read to your children if you were born in the 1960s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great teaching book, 25 Feb 2013
By 
C. L. Massey (Hollinhey, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
Fabulous to share with children of any age. Used it as a base for a reflected story about dreams & ambitions. Great to introduce change of person and tense. My 11 year olds enjoyed discussing the illustrations and especially the front cover as some did not look at it carefully enough on first glance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Jan (Newton Abbot, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
I loved this book for the gentle story, wonderful illustrations, and shared memories of the moon landings. Like the author, I watched the moon landings as a child in 1969 and have never forgotten the awe and wonder of that moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 12 July 2009
By 
C. L. Daniels "cld1947" (Wickford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Audio CD)
Mark Haddon's book is an absolute treasure. I regularly read it to my Year 2 class when we are 'doing the Moon Missions' and find it difficult to finish without a tear in my eye. The illustrations are ethereal and just right, with lots of little details to encourage close inspection. The words evoke the time and event perfectly. My favourite children's picture book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 18 April 2009
By 
Mr. Dennis Irwin "dennis_irwin" (Orpington, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
This book has wonderful illustrations and a great storyline. My Year 1 class loved it. I would highly recommend this book to all ages, especially those adults old enough to remember the Moon landings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. S. Bagenal (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Tranquility (Paperback)
love it- beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sea of Tranquility
The Sea of Tranquility by Mark Haddon (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £0.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews