Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Inheritance: A Review
Whether you're a fan of Megan Lindholm or Robin Hobb (or both, as I am) you may find the best thing about this collection is not the fiction, but the preface and brief introduction to each of the stories. These passages provide clarification (even for those fans who have followed the author on her online blogs and newsgroup) into the emergence and development of one of...
Published on 25 Mar. 2011 by Fantasy Lore

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag of short stories
Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm are one and the same person but they are very different writers. The Inheritance is a collection of short novels, novellas and stories, some of which are based in Hobb's popular universe of the Six Duchies. Before each of the stories, Lindholm/Hobb gives a small snippet of history as to how she came to write the piece and I loved this insight...
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by A. L. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag of short stories, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm are one and the same person but they are very different writers. The Inheritance is a collection of short novels, novellas and stories, some of which are based in Hobb's popular universe of the Six Duchies. Before each of the stories, Lindholm/Hobb gives a small snippet of history as to how she came to write the piece and I loved this insight into her working process. I have read all of the novels written so far by Robin Hobb and thoroughly enjoyed them but this was my first experience at reading anything by Megan Lindholm. I would say that I'd be tentatively willing to pick up a Lindholm novel in the future but I do prefer her work as Hobb.

The three stories by Robin Hobb - strictly, one short story and two novellas - were the strongest part of this collection. In particular, I adored `Homecoming', a tale about some of the first settlers into the Rain Wilds. Lady Carillion, a noblewoman betrayed by her husband, was strong and capable, a joy to read about. The tale of the misfit group becoming the seeds of a new civilisation was just long enough to allow me to truly immerse and gave me a strong desire to re-read the Liveship Trader trilogy.

The shorter tales from the pen of Lindholm were more of a mixed bag (as is the case, I generally find, with anthologies). `A Touch of Lavender' was a quirky and very enjoyable story of aliens - beneath the surface there is a darker discussion on the nature of drug addiction and motherhood that gave this short a very powerful edge. `Strays' was also fantastically written; the punky Lonnie is a great character and one I would welcome a longer piece about. I spent the whole story wondering about how Lonnie came to be the kind of person she is and why she takes such care over stray cats.

I did not, however, like `Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man' a great deal. This story, Lindholm confesses, was written for her husband and I feel it should have remained a private matter between them. I'm sure that if I was privy to the couple's in jokes, then this tale would have been more fun. As it was, it was whimsical but incredibly lightweight and didn't leave much of an impression. I had the same feeling of dissatisfaction after finishing `The Fifth Squashed Cat' and `Drum Machine'. Both of these stories felt as though Lindholm only had the grain of an idea that she hadn't developed effectively into a complete tale.

The Inheritance is not the strongest anthology I have read and didn't leave me desperate to pick up novels by Lindholm. However, fans of the Six Duchies work by Robin Hobb will find this chance to read more about the world extremely satisfying, while newcomers can pick it up very successfully as well. Cautiously recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Inheritance: A Review, 25 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
Whether you're a fan of Megan Lindholm or Robin Hobb (or both, as I am) you may find the best thing about this collection is not the fiction, but the preface and brief introduction to each of the stories. These passages provide clarification (even for those fans who have followed the author on her online blogs and newsgroup) into the emergence and development of one of the most popular and influential fantasy authors of recent years, and offer a revealing insight into the distinctness of her two pseudonyms. When you read the preface in particular it's clear how significant this collection is for the author- it marks a milestone in her professional career and is an almost-apologetic acknowledgment of these two parts of her writing style. You sense it's a cathartic publication for the author, as well as being long-awaited for hardened fans.

While it's nicely done (and apt considering the prevalence of cats in this collection) the UK cover art by Jacqueline Morris doesn't quite capture the essence of this book, where as the US cover art (in a rare example) captures perfectly (with it's twist on the ying/yang symbol) the intent of the author with the publication of this fantasy & science-fiction anthology. It brings together various works by Megan Lindholm, who's written such well-received novels as `Wizard of the Pigeons' and `Cloven Hooves' and Robin Hobb, the author responsible for such epic fantasy series as The Farseer, Liveship Traders, Tawny Man, Soldier Son and Rain Wild Chronicles. It's comprised of ten stories, three of which are published for the first time in this collection.

(1) `A Touch of Lavender' by Megan Lindholm
(2) `Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man' by Megan Lindholm
(3) `Cut' by Megan Lindholm
(4) `The Fifth Squashed Cat' by Megan Lindholm
(5) `Strays' by Megan Lindholm
(6) `Finis'* by Megan Lindholm
(7) `Drum Machine'* by Megan Lindholm
(8) `Homecoming' by Robin Hobb
(9) `Inheritance' by Robin Hobb
(10) `Cat's Meat'* by Robin Hobb

*Previously unpublished.

(1) `A Touch of Lavender' by Megan Lindholm (56 pages)
*Previously published as part of the anthology `Isaac Asimov's Mother's Day' edited by Gardner Dozois*

Here is a rare example of the author flavouring her particular brand of engrossing fantasy with the spice of science-fiction. In my opinion it's the most imaginative, genuinely-moving and inventive short story in this collection and therefore, a superb opener. (10/10)

(2) `Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man' by Megan Lindholm (28 pages)
*Previously published as part of the anthology `Isaac Asimov's Camelot' edited by Gardner Dozois and Sheila Williams*

With a modern-day setting twinned with the inspiration of Arthurian legend, this is a very enjoyable tale filled with magical and romantic elements. (9/10)

(3) `Cut' by Megan Lindholm (12 pages)
*Previously published and still available to view online at Asimov's Science Fiction homepage*

With a short page count and not-too-distant future setting, this story quickly grabs the attention of the reader. It's sparse in fantasy elements, heavy in teen-angst and while it is a morality tale of sorts, it's one that handles its subject matter subtly rather than with a heavy-hand. (8/10)

(4) `The Fifth Squashed Cat' by Megan Lindholm (20 pages)
*Previously published as part of the anthology `Xanadu II' edited by Jane Yolen*

This story has a modern-day setting and only a tinge of fantasy. As the author makes mention of in her introduction, this is one of her stories that falls into the category of her intent to rework a tired formula, and not simply to placate the reader with the customary fantasy framework. It makes its point in an interesting and succinct way. As with all her stories, it's one the reader continues to think about long after finishing it. (7/10)

(5) `Strays' by Megan Lindholm (25 pages)
*Previously published as part of the anthology `Warrior Princess' edited by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough*

A modern-day setting once more and perhaps my least favourite in the collection, if I'm honest. It has a good core story and a gutsy protagonist, but I think you really have to be a cat person to fully appreciate this one! (6/10)

(6) `Finis' by Megan Lindholm (14 pages)
*New story for this collection*

A vampire story. Written by Robin Hobb? Really?? Well, surprisingly...yes. It was probably the last subject-matter I expected this author to explore, but it works very well. As is often the case with her work, there's a twist to the tale, or at least symmetry to the story that reveals itself only when it is read from beginning to end. The (small) problem with this story is that the twist is remarkably apparent almost from the very first page, so I felt the reveal and particularly the final line, fell a little flat. Nonetheless it's a great change of pace with setting and characters that are established and explored with all the skill for which the author is renowned. (7/10)

(7) `Drum Machine' by Megan Lindholm (15 pages)
*New story for this collection*

A little in the vein of Margaret Atwood's `The Handmaid's Tale', or at least in that branch of futuristic dystopian fiction, this story starts well as it sets the scene of an imagined future where human reproduction is strictly regulated and prospective parents must go through vetting procedures before they can conceive, and even then not produce their own genetic offspring, but only those embryos deemed compatible with their lifestyle by the relevant government body. Then the story devolves into a tale about art and the creative process, which didn't interest me as greatly. I felt a little like there were two ideas here that would have benefited from being developed as separate stories. (7/10)

(8) `Homecoming' by Robin Hobb (88 pages)

*Previously published as part of the anthology `Legends II' edited by Robert Silverberg*

One of the longer stories in the collection, `Homecoming' takes place long before the events in Hobb's `Liveship Traders' and `Rain Wilds Chronicles' series, but it has the same setting and explores the lives of some of the original settlers of the Cursed Shores- men and women exiled from their fare southern homeland to the untamed and unforgiving lands of the north. It's told in a diary-format, which works brilliantly, as well as being very accessible as it reveals much about the Cursed Shores not previously known. (8/10)

(9) `The Inheritance' by Robin Hobb (23 pages)
*Previously published as part of the Voyager short story anthology `Voyager 5: Collector's Edition' to mark their fifth anniversary in print*

This is an extremely engrossing story and is tied for me with `A Touch of Lavender' for the title of best story in this collection. Perhaps due to the fact that it's a Six Duchies tale (well Bingtown actually, but that's close enough) is really in its favour. The heroine and her plight are pure Robin Hobb. Small, but perfectly formed. (10/10)

(10) `Cat's Meat' by Robin Hobb (92 pages)

This is probably the story I was most looking forward to reading. This collection marks its first publication, it's set in the Six Duchies, part of the story is told from the perspective of a witted beast and it's the size of a novella; in other words it has all the ingredients of a mesmerising Robin Hobb offering.
I did really enjoy it, because it delivered pretty much what I expected, which was a scenario that will be very familiar to fans of the author- a protagonist who is ineffectual for most of the story until circumstances turn in her favour. Unfortunately this configuration of the ineffective vs. the dominant partner that the author has used in her stories in the past isn't developed to the extent that was possible in her novels.
It's particularly disappointing since the protagonist's name is shared by a reoccurring character in the Farseer and Tawny Man trilogies and therefore I was expecting the protagonist to take radical action to improve her circumstance (which would have been very much in keeping with her namesake), but as she didn't assert herself greatly, I gather the two characters are not one in the same (?)
The story ends on a bit of a sour note, which is a shame since there are plenty of stories in this collection that end, if not necessarily happily, then at least with a measure of hope. (7/10)

The short stories not present here that I would have like to see included, but many of which fans can still find elsewhere in other publications are `Blue Boots', `Bones for Dulath', `Superior Graphics' and `Words Like Coins'. And there are a lot more besides, more than enough to warrant The Inheritance, part deux!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hobb Books, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Mrs. M. A. Harmsworth "Book Mad Maggie" (Chessington Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
I've read a lot of Robin's books and I've never been disappointed. 'The Inheritance' was different from others that I'd read by Robin Hobb simply because it was a selection of short stories. It was intriguing, lots of interesting subjects, leading you on to further pleasures. The one I had the most enjoyment from was 'The Homecoming'. I'd read the Rain Wilds books and found that I wanted more. So I was very pleased to read the beginning of the Rain Wilds, once again, I was begging for more!!! I don't know if there is a book featuring the time between 'The Homecoming' and 'The Liveship Traders', but I would be interested in reading it. I love books to do with dragons and magic, and Robin Hobb always comes up trumps. I reccommend ALL her books and look forward to reading a lot more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Lindholm and extension to Hobb, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
This is the first time I've read anything by the author's Megan Lindholm persona, and I've found the shorts here varied and interesting. Brief comments on each follow.

A Touch of Lavendar - A bittersweet story about a family in slightly sci-fi world. Beautifully written and much more moving than anything I think I've read from the Hobb persona.

Silver Lady - A modern day fantasy love story that while pleasant I'm not sure I really got.

Cut - An unsubtle look at uncomfortable issues that doesn't seem afraid to go places that a lot of mainstream fiction wouldn't. Actually poses real philosophical mind benders.

The Fifth Squashed Cat - For reasons I can't fathom, this one reminded me of John Grisham. Perhaps it's the style of the first-person narrative. It's weird, but it makes you think.

Strays - Quite a sad coming-of-age story as a girl learns more about the world, with a really interesting character and relationships.

Finis - Short, almost sweet story that I really enjoyed reading.

Drum Machine - One interesting issue that arose was not knowing the gender of the first person narrator - it happened in several stories but this was the one where I felt most established in the woman I was envisioning when suddenly she became a man. Maybe this was intentional. Again, this poses some interesting ethical questions in a dystopian setting, and worked really well to tie that in with a revealing narrative.

The rest are 'Hobb' stories, set in the author's 'Realm of the Elderlings' world.

Homecoming - A prequel to the Live Ships trilogy, which fills in a chunk of backstory. Really good and felt like it could easily have been expanded to a full novel (although there are a number of similarities to the Rain Wilds series), but the journal style compressed it down nicely and allowed for some amusing asides.

The Inheritance - A nice short tale which again feels like a Live Ships prequel, but one that's really about a new character rather than telling us anything about the world.

Cat's Meat - The final short story is a standalone set in the Six Duchies before the events of the original Farseer trilogy. Another character story that explores the magic of the world in a new way, and one in which it's interesting to get a new and different perspective on this part of Hobb's creation. Reminiscent in part of the Tawny Man trilogy.

I've really enjoyed exploring other parts of Hobb's world and experiencing Lindholm writings for the first time. I'll certainly be looking for the longer Lindholm works once I've finished working my way through the author's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When Megan met Robin, 17 Oct. 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
Robin Hobb, writer of several epic fantasy trilogies, and Megan Lindholm, author of animal and urban fantasy [among others] novels, are in reality two pen names used by the same writer.

Here, in one volume that runs for just under four hundred pages, stories published under both names are collected.

Half of the books contains Lindholm stories, the other contains Hobb ones.

The book starts with a preface in which the writer explains the origins of the pen names and their somewhat different styles.

Each story in the two sections has an introduction which explains how the story came to be.

In the Lindholm section:

'A touch of lavender' runs for just under sixty pages and is the story of a boy called Billy, who is trying to get by whilst living with his mother, who is a groupie to aspiring musicians. When musical aliens come to Earth she falls under their influence and Billy has to deal with the consequences. With a sympathetic main character and superbly enigmatic aliens this is a very memorable piece of work.

'Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man' is just under thirty pages long and sees a woman who tried to be a writer and failed meet a man who may be magic. And who may make her dreams come alive again. An enchanting little fable.

'Cut' is just over ten pages long and tries to make the reader think about issues of body fashion and who has the final say in them, when detailing a character struggling to come to terms with them. The short length means it's one of those tales where you read the end again several times before it sinks in. And even then, it may not have quite the impact you'd expected.

'The fifth squashed cat' runs for twenty pages and sees two women driving across country meet a man who has a way to put magic into their lives. A tale about what you might have to sacrifice to change your life it offers food for thought but the impact may vary by reader.

'Strays' is just under thirty pages long and is the story of a girl who meets another girl who has a terrible home life. And an affinity for cats. An excellent character drama with a superb finale makes for a very good bit of urban fantasy.

'Finis' is just over ten pages long and is the writer's take on a certain popular subject for genre writers of late. It's like an old tales of the unexpected. You may see the ending coming, but it's still a very good one.

'Drum machine' is just over fifteen pages long and is the story of a man who handles parental choice in a world where childbirth is licensed. And of the artistic sacrifices he made in his past. The point of the story is good but as with cut the strength of the ending just isn't quite there.

Then there are three Hobb tales, all of which are set in the world of the six duchies, the liveship traders, and the river wild, as seen in her other novels.

'The homecoming' is eighty pages long [approx] and is written in the form of a journal belonging to an upper class lady who is amongst a group exiled to the rain wilds. She finds hardships and strange landscapes and possible riches. The first person journal narration format takes a few pages to get used to, and the main character starts out very unsympathic. But she develops very nicely as a person over the course of the story, which shows memorable landscapes and some great plot twists. And is a very good read.

'The inheritance' is just over twenty pages long and is about a girl whose family lost everything finding a magical item that seemingly gives her a chance to get it all back. Managing excellent characterisation and a good setting plus a good finale in a relatively short length, this is a strong read.

'Cat's meat' is over eighty pages long [approx] and is the story of a woman who fell for the wrong man. Who had a child by him. And who has to fight for her survival when he returns to her. Fortunately she has an ally, in the shape of her cat. Who will stop at nothing to defend his home.

Also with strong characterisation and a great setting, this is a great one for cat lovers as the cat in question communicates with humans in a way that will be familiar to readers of her stories about Fitz. With excellent plot development and a superbly memorable ending it's a top notch story to round of what is a pretty decent collection all in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read!, 11 Aug. 2012
Although Robin Hobb has ranked among my favorite SFF authors for years, other than "Homecoming" and "Words Like Coins," prior to reading this collection I had never read any other piece of her short fiction. And as hard to believe it it may be, I had never read anything she had written under the pseudonym Megan Lindholm.

Yeah, yeah, I know. . . Stupid of me. Especially given the fact that the strongest short stories contained in The Inheritance and Other Stories were all written under the Megan Lindholm byline. I'll definitely have to track down novels written under that pseudonym.

Here's the blurb:

A treasure trove of tales from a master storyteller--the first to feature works written under both her pseudonyms, Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm . . .

The Inheritance

Before she became an acclaimed New York Times bestselling author, Robin Hobb received resounding critical praise for work written under the name Megan Lindholm. Though they spring from the same imagination, Hobb and Lindholm are separate, diverse identities, each with her own unique style and perspective.

The Inheritance celebrates the boundless vision of Hobb and Lindholm, bringing together for the first time classic and new short works from both names. The collection is comprised of three generous offerings from Robin Hobb, including the title story, which makes its U.S. debut here, and a brand-new tale, "Cat's Meat." Megan Lindholm contributes her Hugo and Nebula Award finalist "A Touch of Lavender" and Nebula finalist "Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man," as well as several classic and new gems.

Each piece is prefaced by a brief yet informative author's note, offering insight into each story's genesis. Fascinating, compelling, and wonderfully entertaining, The Inheritance reveals the full spectrum of skill and talent of one of the world's finest fantasy writers.

Each short fiction piece is prefaced by an author's note which offers insight into the creation of each work. At times, I found those introductions to be nearly as interesting as the stories themselves. It's always fascinating to discover how these tales came to be.

This collection starts with an unmistakable bang with Hugo and Nebula finalist "A Touch of Lavender." The Skoags are intriguing aliens, and the premise of the story made me think about the movie District 9, only a hundred times better. I loved the way music and interracial love were explored as underlying themes.

The Nebula finalist "Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man" was written for her husband's fortieth birthday. For years, the author and her husband have had an agreement. He would never read her fiction, for he knows her too well. Yet this one was the exception, and what a great and personal present it must have been.

"Cut" is a short but memorable piece on female sexuality and the extent to which society should be allowed to interfere into our personal choices. This one definitely stays with you long after you read it. . .

"The Fifth Squashed Cat" is an entertaining tale of friendship and the price one must pay for the use of magic. The funniest piece of the collection.

"Strays" is a moving piece about two young girls -- one living in relative luxury and the other in poverty -- and their unlikely friendship.

"Finis" is the author's answer to the market's clichéd vampire stories.

"Drum Machine" is a weird but engrossing tale of music and procreation.

Writing as Robin Hobb, the collection begins with "Homecoming," a piece that was originally published in Robert Silverberg's Legends II and which chronicles the first exploration of the Rain Wilds.

"The Inheritance" is the story of a young woman who inherits a talking pendant made of wizarwood. The magical artifact reveals the truth about her family and helps her regain a measure of respect.

"Cat's Meat" feature a poor single mother who must deal with the return of the man who humiliated and betrayed her. Marmalade the cat could well be Hobb's most ruthless protagonist to date!

Given the quality of the stories comprising The Inheritance and Other Stories, here's to hoping that Hobb/Lindholm will release more works of short fiction in the future. Though she is better known for her long form works, the deft human touch that imbues her novels is always present in every short story, giving each of them another dimension.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly about Cats, 23 July 2012
By 
Manly Reading (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
I've read pretty much all of Robin Hobb's work so far, and none of Megan Lindholm's: as I understand it that is not too uncommon, despite both being pseudonyms for the same writer (in fact one Margaret Lindholm). This is an anthology of both their works - and yes, I am aware that none of the above really makes a lot of sense. If you are interested, reading the introduction and book makes it all pretty clear, and if you aren't, well trust me on it and move along.

Both authors write genre fiction - fantasy and sci-fi - but Megan Lindholm writes short stories largely set in a modern contemporary world, while Robin Hobb tends towards high fantasy novels set in worlds solely of her own creation. However, both seem to have a soft spot for cats (something I had previously not noted in Hobb's work). In this book, Hobb gets three stories to Lindholm's near-10, but the page count is about the same across both. That should also give you some idea of the comparitive lenghts and structure of the stories.

I do prefer Hobb to Lindholm, but enjoyed Lindholm's stuff for the most part. However, I don't know that it is stuff you are meant to enjoy. A lot of it is pretty bleak - victories are pyrrhic, losses are real, actions have consequences and sadness is ever-present. There is the odd exception, but that is the rule. "Valentine" and "Finis" were probably my favourites here.

The Hobb collection included Homecoming, out of Legends II, and some stuff I had not read before: both Inheritance and Cat's Meat were interesting additions to Hobb's six duchies and trader liveship world. Both have high fantasy bits throughout, and are really well-written.

After I finished the book - and only then - two things occurred to me:
1. there were an awful lot of cats; and
2. not a lot of sympathetic male characters, and quite a few who range from uncaring to nasty.

Now, Hobb can really write men well, so I guess it must be deliberate that there really are not any in view here. The closest we get, probably, to a "good" adult male character is the 40-ish Merlin from "Silver Lady" - and even he is written so that he may just be a rogue, and as it turms out, his main achievement is enabling the return of the (female) literal muse of the protagonist. I would not call it a strongly feminist collection, in a pejorative sense, but its pretty clearly able to be read as a "feminist" approach to high fantasy.

And, if that's not a problem for me, then I cant imagine who it could be a problem for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 5 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
I had bought The Inheritance some time ago but have only just got round to reading it, not being a massive fan of short stories. However I had just finished reading City of Dragons by the same author (writing as Robin Hobb), which was slightly disappointing but did leave me wanting to read more tales from the world of the Six Duchies.

The Inheritance is split into two sections, the first being short stories by the author writing as Megan Lindholm, and the second comprising not-so short stories under the name of Robin Hobb. As I am not very familiar with the Megan Lindholm books it was the Robin Hobb stories I was more interested in reading, but actually I was pleasantly surprised by all the stories in the book.

The Megan Lindholm stories tend to be either near-future sci-fi tales (A Touch of Lavender, Cut, Drum Machine) or urban fantasy (Silver Lady, The Fifth Squashed Cat, Strays & Finis) - by which I don't mean vampire/werewolf romance tales, but fantasy in a contemporary, urban setting. My favourites out of these are A Touch of Lavender and Strays, although Cut is one of those short stories that will stay in your head for ages due to its horrible premise.

There are only three Robin Hobb tales, but as I said above, they are quite a bit longer than the Megan Lindholm stories, and all are set in the world of The Six Duchies and The Rain Wilds. First is Homecoming, which details the expedition of the first Rain Wild settlers, told in the form of diary entries by a Jamaillian noblewoman. I don't know how interesting this would be to anyone who has not read at least the Liveship series by Robin Hobb, but I loved it! It filled in a lot of backstory of the people who eventually became the Rain Wild traders, how Trehaug was founded and the first discovery of the underground Elderling city.

The next Robin Hobb story is The Inheritance. This is set just outside Bingtown, somewhere before the events of the Liveship trilogy, and focuses on a young woman's quest for vengeance, aided by a wizardwood pendant. This is probably the weakest story of the three Robin Hobb tales in my opinion, but is still quite enjoyable, and is a stand-alone tale so would make sense to anyone who has not read any of the other books set in this world.

The final story in the book is Cat's Meat, which is set in Buck prior to the events of the Farseer trilogy, and possibly my favourite out of these three. This is also a stand-alone tale and again a kind of revenge story, about a woman whose lover abandoned her when she fell pregnant, but who has now come back to try and regain his place in her life - against her wishes, but more importantly, against the wishes of her cat.

Overall, I enjoyed all these stories, and this collection has definitely inspired me to try some Megan Lindholm novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
I've read "both authors" so though I knew what to expect here, I though it was going to be good - it was even better!

The book is split into short (and not so short) stories by Megan Lindholm and Robin Hobb. The Robin Hobb were more or less what I expected although I don't know how it could have topped it - I have missed my Hobb books and it was like a homecoming almost, reasonably typical Hobb tales which is a very good thing.
However those by Megan Lindholm really opened my eyes, I don't know much under this author other than having picked a few up to satisfy my Hobb craving. I don't know if Lindholm is more outside fantasy but certainly her books I've read so far have all been so. These short stories do not fall into typical fantasy as part of scifi/fantasy, some may be a bit paranormal fantasy but then genres tend to blur nowadays. These stories were refreshing takes on the typical offering in the appropriate genre and such a wide variety, these were the hidden gem for me as I expected more from Hobb as my preferred author of the two yet Lindholm delivered over and above anything I expected.
Loved it, might read it again right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Hobb fans, 25 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. The short stories by her Lindholm title are clearly not the same as Hobb - although they are the same person they have different writing styles. Despite that, I found the Lindholm stories quite pleasant, if breif, and enjoyed their tales.

As for the Hobb side of things, there are three stories in total, all with themes that Hobb fans will love. One is of how the Rain Wilds became inhabited, following the story of those exiled there to start new lives. Another involves a wizardwood charm, and the final tale involves my favourite of all Hobb tales - the Witted folk. (Or more correctly, a cat who rubs minds with humans).

Before each story is a short introduction as to how the story came about, which is really interesting and gives an insight to Hobbs life and thinking.

I was very pleased to add this book to my swiftly growing Robin Hobb collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inheritance
The Inheritance by Robin Hobb (Hardcover - 31 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews