Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vibrant new way to learn Spanish.
The Collins easy learning is a quick and simple way to pick up the language. Many of these types of language learning programs promise big things and dont deliver.

The learning program is split up into 12 short units which introduces 5 keywords and phrases per unit. To aid the understanding of each unit, there are sections on culture and etiquette. This is...
Published on 28 Aug 2008 by Astore Stargazer

versus
52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collins Easy Learning Spanish
'Collins Easy Learning Spanish' is a short Spanish course presented in a sturdy plastic case (think large DVD style), spread over three discs. It is very much an audio course and the booklet provided only shows the dialogue for each track. This course is very much in the listen and repeat vein and each unit introduces new words and phrases and then uses them in a...
Published on 12 July 2008 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collins Easy Learning Spanish, 12 July 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Collins Easy Learning Spanish' is a short Spanish course presented in a sturdy plastic case (think large DVD style), spread over three discs. It is very much an audio course and the booklet provided only shows the dialogue for each track. This course is very much in the listen and repeat vein and each unit introduces new words and phrases and then uses them in a variety of situations for you to practise along with. The course uses both male and female voices and doesn't have excessive cheesy music that i've experienced on other language courses. The 'beep' to signify it's your turn to talk grates after a while, but not excessively so. This is perfect to listen to in the car, washing up, on your MP3 or anywhere when you have a spare ten minutes. It won't make you fluent or help you understand grammar or reading/writing, but it well help you get by on holiday and business trips. A solid three stars, well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vibrant new way to learn Spanish., 28 Aug 2008
By 
Astore Stargazer (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Collins easy learning is a quick and simple way to pick up the language. Many of these types of language learning programs promise big things and dont deliver.

The learning program is split up into 12 short units which introduces 5 keywords and phrases per unit. To aid the understanding of each unit, there are sections on culture and etiquette. This is most helpful in adopting the spoken language, and this approach is a new idea I've not come across before within these learning packages and I have to say it works really well when trying to adopt the language into a conversation.

It also gives a better understanding of which words to use and why and will improve word selection dramatically. This is by no means an advanced learning package, so don't expect to be speaking fluent Spanish within a few weeks because that's not going to happen. What you can expect is to learn how to use the language properly. It will heighten confidence greatly to take the language to the next level or if your happy to get by at the intermediate level then look no further.

The package is a complete bargain, and contains transcripts of the CD's. I recommend putting the CD's onto an MP3 player. I have done the course twice now and even though I'm no Spanish linguist I can speak Spanish much more confidently now. I certainly wouldn't feel stupid using it abroad any more.

A great product at a great price don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent self-teaching language package, 19 July 2008
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wanted to learn Spanish but have neither the time nor money to attend a regular course - I've downloaded these CDs onto my MP3 player and am very impressed by them. The course is broken into easy-to-digest units, and you are encouraged to learn a little, then take a break.

The recordings are clear, and authentic. I felt the "teachers" were friendly and their crisp yet relaxed approach means you are interested in what you're listening to, and you don't feel lectured.

It's early days but I feel my confidence with Spanish improving and I would recommend this course - and others by Collins - to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmm...Este esta bueno!, 17 April 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Newton "Sassy Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a son, 13, who, believe it or not, is enjoying using these CD's as much as me. He's just started Spanish at school.

Often you will find me in the kitchen, with this audio course blaring out of my speakers, while cooking. Or at least trying not to burn things to the bottom of my pan. Before long my son's there at the table with me - practicing and shouting out the answers! (Before me sometimes, but shush!)

I love this. When Collins advertised this as an exciting Easy Learning Spanish kit, I wasn't too sure at first. It is fun, my 13 year old wouldn't be doing it otherwise. That kind of proves it for me. Maybe it's the thrill of learning a new language, or being competitive with his mum, but maybe it could be simply that this really is an easy way to learn. Out of the classroom, so to speak.

First, you hear a conversation all the way through, then line by line, with an explanation of new phrases and words. So there is none of this 'OK new word I don't understand. Where's my dictionary?' shenanigans.

Then, you listen to it all again, stop the CD and reply in your own time. You don't even have too stop the CD if you are confident enough. With more practice this is eventually what happens.

All you need to learn the Spanish you require while abroad is here. With no hefty grammar books! Just an accompanying 48-page colour booklet with all the CD conversations and helpful hints. Sound skinny and feeble to you? It's actually very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for starters, 18 July 2008
By 
Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great value for an introduction to Spanish, if you want to learn by repeatition rather than the basic grammer rules. Ideal if you're off on a Spanish jaunt and require enough Spanish to get by, however don't think that you'll be fluent by listening to a CD.

A good choice for downloading to your ipod (other mp3 players available!)and listening to on the way to work or in your lunch break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful holiday Spanish, 30 Jun 2008
By 
L Williams "les-williams" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This course teaches a number of useful phrases for different situations, as such it is similar to the BBC "Get By" series. Unfortunately the accompanying booklet is too large for a phrase book to slip in your pocket and only has written what is spoken on the CDs. If this was smaller and structured for different situations with useful phrases then this would be a good product.
To learn a language you need to learn the grammar and this course makes no attempt at that; I've found that the best way to do that is with an evening class. You won't learn Spanish with this course but you will learn enough phrases to be able to get by on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good beginners guide to spainish, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
This was my second spainish CD, and i found it alot better than the Berlitz version i also own.
The CD course starts at the basics, which i required, it was simple to use and listen to, and i found myself knowing alot more in a short period of time than i ever thought possible.
All i need now is to book a holiday to spain,
Muchas gracias Collins for this simple course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Si eres una turista y queres aprender algo para vacaciones esta muy bueno..., 25 Jun 2008
By 
Victoria (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This course is designed to get back to basics when it comes to learning Spanish - no getting bogged down by grammar rules, just the simple, effective, tried-and-tested approach of repeating words and phrases and hearing native speakers carrying out little dialogues.

It certainly won't make you fluent - the emphasis is very much on learning Spanish for your holidays. But it is a good beginning, especially if you don't have much time to learn. The course is broken down into 12 units over 3 CDs, and each unit has a 'basics' section to learn the vocab, a listening section, and a section on dialogues. The units revolve around situations you may face when in Spain. The audio tracks themselves are very clearly narrated and easy to follow, and I liked the fact they had little cultural snippets relevant to the topics, as it made it a little more interesting.

This is very much an AUDIO course - there IS an accompanying booklet that contains extracts from the CDs, but it is....minimalist. I think the idea is to stick it on your ipod or in the car and learn on the go. This is a wonderful idea for people who are new to learning languages and just want to get by on vacation. The course tries to ensure your pronunciation is authentic and you will be able to recognise and comprehend the answers to your questions 'en espanol'.

I have given it 4 stars because I felt it could have been jazzed up a bit and made a bit more exciting...but for the price and the easy approach, tourists really can't go far wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars English people don't learn foreign languages ..., 17 July 2008
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
... even in school. Instead they learn to speak languages - the focus is on collections of phrases, leaning heavily on cognates, with little time spent on context, grammar, or formal learning of vocabulary. Unsurprisingly, few Anglophones are able to remember much of any foreign languages within a year or two of leaving school.

If you really want to learn to speak Spanish this way (and to be honest, that's about as much as most people do), then the Collins Easy Learning Spanish is as good a way to do it as any other. It is audio-based, with hardly any written material - you are encouraged to stick it onto your MP3 player for practice. The course is structured to give you a catalogue of phrases that will allow you to get by in Spanish. It is clear, uses sensible strategies for word retention (repetition, word association) and progressive, with a good focus on pronunciation which is an area where English people are frequently weak. Collins has a reputation for being solid in matters related to language, and this is a good product at the cheap end of the market.

For myself, even with a relatively shallow grasp of grammar, I found it frustrating in lesson 2 to separately learn the phrases: "Donde esta el hotel" "Donde esta el ascensor" "Donde esta el restaurante" etc. when I could have learned the verb "estar" and some vocabulary, which would have opened up "Donde estamos" "Donde esta la iglesia" without having to learn them separately. A more grammar-based course (like Spanish: Beginner's CD Language Course (Hugo in Three Months CD Language Course)), although less accessible, would result in a better real understanding of how Spanish works. But I know I'm swimming against the tide in suggesting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but let down, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) (Audio CD)
I wanted an audio book which would introduce me to the Spanish Language and get me up to speed pretty quickly. Before buying this CD the only Spanish I knew was 'Hola', 'Gracias' and 'Adios'.

I would have given this product 5 stars, for the following reasons:

- The CD is easy to use, simply put it into the computer and rip the tracks. It also transferred onto my MP3 player without any problems.

- The dialogue book is clear. Some have said it's too big, but it is supposed to be used for learning/reading with the CD, it's not a phrase book to carry around town with you!

- It is excellent for listening and learning to pick out words, because the people speaking do so fairly quickly, and representative of how a spanish/latin american might speak to you in reality.

- The audio book does focus on situations which are likely to come up. I.e. - rather than learning how to say "I have 2 brown cats who live in the garden", you learn how to order a drink, hire a car, make a room reservation, ask someone if they fancy going to a nightclub (ha, honestly).

- The people speaking/teaching/introducing aren't overly annoying or patronising. The nature of an audio course like this means there will be quirks which you might find odd, but generally it's fine. It might sound snooty, but I trialled another audio book and couldn't stand it because I found the american person really irritating!

So, why only 4 stars? Well the most important factor in learning a language is surely that you learn the correct words. I have friends who speak Spanish (or actually are Spanish), and they have told me that some of the phrases you are taught on this CD are not what people would actually say. For example:

- "Queria" to mean "I would like"/"I want". Apparently this is never used, instead "Quiero" or "Me gustaria" would be.

Even though this is only one example, it leaves me wondering how much of the dialogue in this audio book is correct (In terms of what gets used, not just technically sound).

It is a shame, because the positives far outweigh the negatives, it just so happens that the one negative is a really important one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course)
Spanish: Stage 1 (Collins Easy Learning Audio Course) by Carmen García delRío (Audio CD - 7 July 2008)
Used & New from: £4.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews