Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting
The crossing of Ingo usually goes south, but due to sharks, Faro, Conor, Sapphy and Elvira are forced to go north. Despite the challenge of polar bear attacks and ice, they reach the south and Sapphy meets somebody she was not expecting to see ... A beautiful book, the last and best in the enchanging Ingo series.
By Amelia Jemima Eyles, aged 9.
Published on 18 May 2008 by J. Eyles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crossing of the Reader
Having enjoyed the previous 3 books in this series I was very disappointed with Helen Dunmore's effort with this installment. There are multiple unexplained elements, some poor spelling mistakes (the Tide Knot is even once referred to at the Tide Rock), and no decipherable point to the story.

Sapphire and Conor are left alone in their Cornwall cottage when...
Published on 27 May 2012 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 18 May 2008
By 
J. Eyles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The crossing of Ingo usually goes south, but due to sharks, Faro, Conor, Sapphy and Elvira are forced to go north. Despite the challenge of polar bear attacks and ice, they reach the south and Sapphy meets somebody she was not expecting to see ... A beautiful book, the last and best in the enchanging Ingo series.
By Amelia Jemima Eyles, aged 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingo The Best Yet, 4 Nov 2008
A Kid's Review
My mum bought me the first book, i saw the front cover and read the blurb 'mermaids' i thought, i wasn't so sure. I gave it a go anyway and i couldn't put it down, It was brilliant! The writer Helen Dunmore is an amazing author, She makes it feel so real and adds lots of brilliant adjectives. It wasn't anything like I'd have thought, not mermaidy at all, just so exciting and at times heartbreaking. It sent you on a roller coaster of emotions! The charatcers are very well explained and described in a subtle way, It's like you gain the characters' trust and affection. Once I ahd read 'Ingo' I found out there were two more, one called 'The Tide Know' which was so exciting and then 'The Deep'. I was on the edge of my chair the WHOLE way through. The whole trilogy is based on a sea loving family whose father/husband is enticed into Ingo a place were the Mer live, were he build a new famiy. Slowly Sapphy and Conor find out about their Mer blood. Unfortunately in this trilogy we don't find out what happens to the father/husband. But fortuantley there is a 4th book (no longer a trilogy). 'The Crossing Of Ingo' is the last stretch for Sapphy and Conor on thier journey to becoming full Mer. What will happen to dad?!?

Total ***** Reading

Carla Dobson-Perez 13yo

IngoThe Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) <<< Book No. 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the crossing of ingo brilliant or not?, 14 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) (Paperback)
the crossing of ingo is brilliant, it's a detailed story about sapphire and connor setting out to find their father and make the crossing to become truly part of ingo. To read this book you need to have read the other books in the series (ingo, tide knot and the deep). This book is adventorous, breath taking and extremly sad. I am 10 and this book has been one of the best books i have ever read. This book concludes the rest or the series and holds secrets that you can not live without knowing...
SO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crossing of the Reader, 27 May 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed the previous 3 books in this series I was very disappointed with Helen Dunmore's effort with this installment. There are multiple unexplained elements, some poor spelling mistakes (the Tide Knot is even once referred to at the Tide Rock), and no decipherable point to the story.

Sapphire and Conor are left alone in their Cornwall cottage when their mother and her new boyfriend go off to Australia. With 2 weeks to get involved in adventures they dive into the ocean, into Ingo, and try to prevent a new regime breaking out (or something) by going on a rite-of-passage called the Crossing of Ingo. Exactly how this makes sense is never clearly defined.

The Crossing means they circle the globe underwater. It's a long, long journey, and nothing particularly eventful really happens. The final showdown is over before it starts too, so it doesn't even go out with a bang. The main problem is that once the novel switches to Ingo it stays there until the end. The other books balanced things out by jumping back and forth, though this wouldn't really be a problem if the story had some meaning or made sense.

I'll still check-out The Ingo Chronicles: Stormswept, the 5th book in the series, but The Crossing of Ingo is a huge drop in quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossing of Ingo, 13 Nov 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) (Paperback)
This is the last book in the Ingo series. They are all fabulous stories and keep you engrosed in the undersea world of Ingo, I just didn't want the story to end!!! Well worth a read if you like imaginative books and escaping from the real world. Best books I've read for a while ...even my mum enjoyed them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a birthday present, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) (Paperback)
Bought this for my sister as birthday present and i haven't heard any complaints, but it must be a good as she has asked me to order other titles from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's getting a little bit boring now, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) (Paperback)
after the second book, i started getting a bit bored. granted, i read the first two when i was 12 and bought the last two now i'm 18, just to see what happens, so that might be part of the problem, but it seems like the book is just dragging out the story to try and make something sell-able...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mermaid fantasy, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. Carrie Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) (Paperback)
My 9 year old daughter loves this series of books and was begging for this one after finishing the last one. She loves the fantasy element and also the fact that it's set in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Crossing of Ingo, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Boudicca (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Crossing of Ingo is the last book in the Ingo series, written by Helen Dunmore. The series is about a teenage girl who lives in Cornwall, and finds a secret world of Mer-people in the sea.
The book is well-written and has surprising twists and turns in the plot, but it does not compare to the first one, Ingo. Ingo seems to be the most magical, as it describes the first time Sapphy - the main character- enters Ingo. But The Crossing seems to lack this magic, and has an unsatisfactory ending. Most of the book is set in the depths of the sea, as Sapphy, her brother, and their Mer friends make their way to Australia and back. Therefore, chapters in this book can be non-changing. The first and second books were set partly in the sea, and on land, where Sapphy has to keep Ingo a secret. This book does not really deal with this, and therefore - for all these reasons- has to have a three star rating. I would say this book is for the 9 - 12 section, and may not be of interest to anyone older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 3 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
I read the series this summer and it was the best book I have ever read Saphy and conner decide to make the crossing and it isn't easy they first get attacked by sharks which Ervys has recruted that where previousley gaurding the tide knot and from there it sets of showing the marvolous parts in INGO and the dark ominous moments Faro and Elvira are there too and a relationship is floating for Faro and Saphy as he expresses rather vageuly by saying how he will stop calling her little sister because she is not so little any more by the end you will have your own theory of what happens next the conclusion I made was that saphire would stay on land with her mother till she is finished school and then will join Faro in INGO but not fully and conner will stay on land with rainbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures)
The Crossing of Ingo (Ingo Adventures) by Helen Dunmore (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews