Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The further adventures of narg...and they are fabulous!
If you have read Doonan's 'Wacky Chicks' you'll be familiar with Narg, his lobotomised grandmother. In 'Beautiful People', Narg is back and in full effect rampaging through the pages and what a joy she is to behold!

In 'beautiful People', Doonan describes his early years in Reading, his move to London and eventually America. The joy of the book is that it is so...
Published on 4 Oct 2008 by Sarah Durston

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Came qucikly but heavily stained
The book came quickly and undamaged by packaging etc. But the cover was heavily stained. As the cover is fairly resilient to water I took a damp cloth to it, and it came off completely, only taking 30 seconds, it was an unnecessary bad first impression.
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The further adventures of narg...and they are fabulous!, 4 Oct 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
If you have read Doonan's 'Wacky Chicks' you'll be familiar with Narg, his lobotomised grandmother. In 'Beautiful People', Narg is back and in full effect rampaging through the pages and what a joy she is to behold!

In 'beautiful People', Doonan describes his early years in Reading, his move to London and eventually America. The joy of the book is that it is so camp and over the top that you can't help but smile. Early on, Doonan describes writing this autobiography as like having a 'psychological enema' and he lays even the most embarrassing details open for our enjoyment.

Delights include; Narg (of course); his mother's quest to get bigger and higher hair; the wine making attempts of his father (parsnip wine?? I don't think so); a joyous holiday at 1950's Butlins and Blind Aunt Phyllis's guide dog, Lassie, who guides Phyllis into an open grave.

A pure joy! Camp, delicious and just what the doctor ordered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful holiday read!, 19 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
This was my holiday read and I recommend it. This book, drink, sun-lounger, pool... perfect! It's very funny. Simon Doonan has a wicked way with words. I especially enjoyed his zany (?) but true-to-life view of things. I grew up in a different town and moved to London a bit later but the stories still reminded me of lots of things. I feel like I've met some of these people... or people like them over the years. Can't wait to see the TV series.

Charles Jamieson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simon doonan's beautiful people, 11 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
This book is a great read, entertaining and funny. It is the original story (the original title is Nasty) the tv series Beautiful People (hilarious!) was based on. Simon Doonan's descriptions of his family, friends and their adventures and misadventures is great fun but never cruel, he writes with great warmth and affection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful People by Simon Doonan, 4 Feb 2009
By 
P. Roberts (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
Simon's account of his life is a very interesting and humourous story.His childhood with the crazy Doonan clan. His yearning to escape from small town boredom and seek out the "Beautiful People"is full of things you may recall.This book inspired the BBC2 programme of the same name which borrowed much of Simon's syle of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The further adventures of narg...and they're fabulous!, 4 Oct 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
If you have read Doonan's 'Wacky Chicks' you'll be familiar with Narg, his lobotomised grandmother. In 'Beautiful People', Narg is back and in full effect rampaging through the pages and what a joy she is to behold!

In 'beautiful People', Doonan describes his early years in Reading, his move to London and eventually America. The joy of the book is that it is so camp and over the top that you can't help but smile. Early on, Doonan describes writing this autobiography as like having a 'psychological enema' and he lays even the most embarrassing details open for our enjoyment.

Delights include; Narg (of course); his mother's quest to get bigger and higher hair; the wine making attempts of his father (parsnip wine?? I don't think so); a joyous holiday at 1950's Butlins and Blind Aunt Phyllis's guide dog, Lassie, who guides Phyllis into an open grave.

A pure joy! Camp, delicious and just what the doctor ordered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book bought on recommendation of a friend - Love! love! love!, 8 Dec 2013
By 
ATC Brian (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
It's hillarious at points. I found myself suddenly laughing out loud in bed at it and reading on the train to work the next day, I started laughing out loud again. embarrassing. :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 12 Jun 2013
By 
E. G. Maclellan "Gordon the Toad" (Buxton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
Rich, warm and entertaining, this book is a good read but very different from the TV series of the same name. The overall sense of place and adolescent confusion are the same but the TV series is a much tighter set of stories and the characters and setting updated considerably. Both are worth reading/watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful People - Beautiful Book, 14 Jun 2012
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
Simon and I were both born in 1952, but how different our lives. I enjoyed his, through this book, more than I did mine. This was an absolutely joyous book that I didn't want to end. He has a great gift for writing life - kind, generous and so very funny. Each to his own of course, but I have never deeply enjoyed a book as much as Beautiful People. Thanks Simon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and underrated, 12 Feb 2010
By 
PJGE (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
'Beautiful People', the BBC2 comedy series and the Simon Doonan book which inspired the TV series are both hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read the book AND watch the series!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
MR RICHARD W GROOM (buckinghamshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beautiful People (Paperback)
If you expect this book to be a mirror image of the TV programmes you would be wrong but not, I think, disappointed. The TV series is very loosely based upon the book so you will find a very different set of colourful characters. The TV series is also set twenty years later than real life and a lot has changed in that time!

The real Simon Doonan's story is rather different.It certainly has its hilarious moments - like the time the mare he was riding gained the amorous attentions of a randy stallion! It also has its poignant episodes - like the death of a former lover from AIDS. "Mundo's diagnosis was my diagnosis", he says.

Enjoy this book. There are no 'girlfriends' but there are 'daughters'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful People
Beautiful People by Simon Doonan (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews