Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best AS level text book
As Head of Department at a very successful sixth form college, I buy in over 150 copies of this every year for my AS students. It is simply the best text book available for students studying towards an exam in AS Sociology. It is tightly focussed on the AQA syllabus and well organised into chapters that mirror the modules students will learn as part of their course...
Published on 29 Dec 2008 by K. Thompson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too vague for a primary resource
I have just finished my AS level in sociology and have to say this book was no way near as helpful as other reviews are suggesting, so I decided to review it for other students who are thinking of buying it. The information is quite vague and feels rushed and I found that it was not enough to get the higher grade answers in the essays since 24 and 20 mark questions need a...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by Bogira94


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best AS level text book, 29 Dec 2008
By 
K. Thompson "karlsoc" (uk, surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
As Head of Department at a very successful sixth form college, I buy in over 150 copies of this every year for my AS students. It is simply the best text book available for students studying towards an exam in AS Sociology. It is tightly focussed on the AQA syllabus and well organised into chapters that mirror the modules students will learn as part of their course.

Each chapter contains sufficient information to get any student a decent grade if they learn everything in the relevant chapters thoroughly, although more able students might wish the book went into more depth in certain areas. If you are one of these, then buy this and supplement with text books recommended by your teacher.

The book is very clearly written for a 16-19 audience and also contains research, examples and suggestions for activities and research that are much more up to date than any other text book on the market.

There are practice exam questions at the end of each chapter section.

The book is not suitable for someone wanting a general introduction to sociology, or for someone looking for a general interest read. For this try Thinking Sociologically by Bauman or the degree level intro. texts by either Giddens or Fulcher and Scott.

If you are an A level student, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too vague for a primary resource, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
I have just finished my AS level in sociology and have to say this book was no way near as helpful as other reviews are suggesting, so I decided to review it for other students who are thinking of buying it. The information is quite vague and feels rushed and I found that it was not enough to get the higher grade answers in the essays since 24 and 20 mark questions need a lot of detail. The book provides many key terms which can be very useful and some simplistic overviews on topics which is helpful if you are new to the subject sociology. I would however recommend this book as a secondary resource used alongside the Robb Webb revision guide (white and orange). If studying as sociology the Robb Webb revision guide is a must!!! (can not stress this enough, you'd be a fool not to get it) providing detailed information on all topics with many studies and theories which prove to be extremely helpful when answering the essay questions. The Robb Webb book also provides potential essay questions in each topic which you can complete and get your teacher to mark to prepare yourself for the exam which is extremely helpful. Over all this book is good for a brief overview and maybe those aiming at a C/B grade but not detailed enough for the higher A grade marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst sociology revision guide out there (no hyperbole intended), 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
The layout does not help at all, it is paragraphs and paragraphs of writing, which I find hard to revise from and pick key points to translate onto revision cards/notes. It's like a discussion rather than just simply laying down what you need to know for the exams that are easily understandable. This revision guide actually makes it sound more complicated.

Instead, I would recommend the Succeed at AS Sociology: The Complete Revision Guide, for the AQA Specification by Rob Webb. I can see that majority of the reviews are positive, but trust me, being a student with no previous knowledge of Sociology; this book is not the one!! #TeamRobWebb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, thanks, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
A useful book for sociology students, recommended as it shows you a good and clear insight of the subject which will help students in the exam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just the job, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
teenage daughter needs this for her course work at college and says its perfect and i saved a little of hard earned cash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for my grandaughter, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
this book was bought for my grandaughter and she found it great help with her studies doing her A levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
Perfect condition, quick delivery. I have got a few sociology books but this is by far the best, I'd recommend it to any one studying at any level-GCSE to Alevel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Study book, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
This was a fab book for my course i was able to use it through the whole of the course and as my lecturer was using this book to teach us from so i was able to refer to it and quote from it thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sociology book, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
Its a great book, i highly recommend it as its very easy to understand and isnt too complicated. the delivery was good and so was the packaging! overall a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sociology AS AQA, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA (Paperback)
Fantastic book, would recommend to anybody taking A level Sociology. Each topic is divided up into clear subheadings with a glossary of key terms at the end of the topic and plenty of 'Test Your Understanding' questions. There is also mindmaps on each topics which is another easy way to consolidate your understanding.Gives clear examples from each perspective like the views of Marxists and Functionalists, however does not have information about the founders of sociology like Auguste Comte and Emile Durkheim, which was a little disappointing.

With that said, this book has really helped me so far and I'm only 3 weeks in! thoroughly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA
Collins A Level Sociology - Sociology AS for AQA by Steve Chapman (Paperback - 3 Mar 2008)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews