Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was great, everything a book could have., 5 Sep 2000
By A Customer
The Magicians of Caprona was great I couldn`t put it down.It was funny, scary and sad plus it contained all other emotions of the emotional rainbow. If your looking for something less heavy than Harry potter with a bit more of a thrill-I recomend you read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chrestomanci Series, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a general review for the Chrestomanci series by Diana Wynne-Jones. I first read the Chrestomanci series when I was 23. I am now 37 and I am re-reading them again and it is just so blissful! The first Chrestomanci book "Charmed Life" was written in 1977 about 20 years before the first Harry Potter. In this book, newspaper photos moved, Chrestomanci had his different lives hidden in different places, people in portraits and pictures jumped from frame to frame, plenty of clever cats, not a magic wand in sight and so on. From the lowest witch or warlock to the most powerful enchanter, no wand. We're talking people with real abilities, and who do not become useless as soon as they lose their wand. Basically, many, many ideas in the Harry Potter books, you will find in her books. Although the stories are entirely different. And she writes in a light fashion, without too much overwhelming descriptions but just enough to keep the story moving at a good pace.

Why there has never been movies made of these books is a mystery to me as they are so superior to a lot of other teenage books around. Perhaps Wynne-Jones didn't want to. I highly recommend these books. I have just about finished the lot and I am restarting them again, particularly "Charmed Life" which I think is just superb. One just falls in love with the character that is Chrestomanci.

I very, very rarely read a book twice. However, with the Chrestomanci, I just seem to never tire. Even more so with her wonderful book "Howl's Moving Castle" which is not part of this series but which was made into an extraordinary full-length animated feature by the one and only Japanese master story-teller Hiyao Mayazki (Studio Ghibli). Now, I have lost count of how many times I have read this book. I just never bore of it either.

Diana Wynne-Jones is the only fiction author whose books I have read over and over. No one else. I completed "Charmed Life", and started straight at the beginning again.

I wish she had had time to write two or more Chrestomanci books before she passed away. At any rate, I believe her books will be in print for many decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its great and really follows on the sequence!, 6 April 2001
Its amazing and magical.About friendship with excitement jumping in.Its like a folded piece of paper which unfolds slowly as you read on.It leaves you really excited untill the end and you want to read more and more. Take my advice and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Chrestomanci story, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this immediately on finishing "A Charmed Life", which is the first in the series, and which I enjoyed very much.

I wasn't disappointed - a great, light fantasy story for children or adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Diana Wynne Jones, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love her books, and this one is as well written as the others. Recommend to readers of all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable story with great characters, 14 July 2012
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Magicians of Caprona (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 2) (Paperback)
A classic Diana Wynne Jones story, with characters you really care about and a vividly drawn setting. The plot has overtones of Romeo and Juliet, with two feuding families in an Italian city state, but with plenty of magic thrown in. Although the story is technically part of her Chrestomanci series, it can be read as a stand alone novel because it isn't necessary to know things from the earlier books and it does not contain any spoilers.

The book is slightly darker than I remembered, particularly in its middle section, although it would still be suitable for younger readers of around ten up. As with all Wynne Jones books, it's extremely hard to put down and has a clever story with plenty of twists and turns, all well paced. Older readers will forsee some of them, but that doesn't detract from the reading experience. Apart from Chrestomanci himself, who has a minor role, the characters are all new. This isn't a problem, because Wynne Jones has a gift for making her characters feel like good friends within the space of a few pages. It's this that makes her stories still enjoyable for adults, whilst remaining true books for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Author, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Magicians of Caprona (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 2) (Paperback)
The charm of Diana Wynne Jones's stories lies, in my opinion, with the unique and brilliant characterisation. This book is a prime example. Highly recommended, along with the rest of the Chrestomanci series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this item -well written, 22 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent addition to the Chrestomanci series and has some basis in fact as there are cities in Italy that still venerate Archangel Michael visitation to their city. Well written and a joy to read and read to others at bed time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story - one of her best, 23 July 2000
By A Customer
Possibly one of her best books - set in an alternative universe where Italy is split into many small kingdoms, at magical war with one another. Chrestomanci makes an appearance, and the setting is sub-Romeo and Juliet. Harry Potter fans will love it - so will cat lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant battle between rival magical families., 16 July 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set in an Italy of small states, this is as brilliant as Diana Wynne Jones usually is. There are two rival magical families (shades of Romeo) but the duel is not just between them, but a struggle to save Caprona. The Punch and Judy episodes are fantastic, and if you're scared of heights hold on to something while you read the part where the children and cats are climbing the Cathedral to find the solution to the crisis. The washing up spell is hysterical.The resolution at the end is as magical as the battle. A wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magicians of Caprona (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 2)
The Magicians of Caprona (The Chrestomanci Series, Book 2) by Diana Wynne Jones (Paperback - 4 Feb 2008)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews