Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurence Gardner - Fascinating Man fabulous books
I bought this book for a friend because I enjoyed it so much. These books are not a quick read, there is so much in the content to make you think and question. It is shame that Laurence Gardner passed away really before his time, he would have had many books to write. I would suggest to any first time reader to acquire all his books they often need reading more than...
Published 13 months ago by Lisa

versus
4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who does he think he is kidding?
Utter trash from beginning to end. There is not a scintilla of evidence or probability in this book. It is strictly for the great unwashed.....
Published on 30 May 2008 by Simon Darling


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laurence Gardner - Fascinating Man fabulous books, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend because I enjoyed it so much. These books are not a quick read, there is so much in the content to make you think and question. It is shame that Laurence Gardner passed away really before his time, he would have had many books to write. I would suggest to any first time reader to acquire all his books they often need reading more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well researched alternative take on the early Church of Rome, 22 Aug. 2008
By 
Stephen Rice "STR" (Bartlesville, Oklahoma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How anyone can read this book and cite it as trash is beyond me. This book has 22 pages of just reference materials and notes in the back of the book. I find it very interesting to suggest that history can be proven in any area of study as 100% accurate and particularly on this subject. I suggest to the readers that its very hard to historically prove that Jesus even existed at all and most that are attracted to this type of reading should know this up front going in. Laurence Gardner has done this as well as any other author in his newest book here and more. He has also quite convincingly proven with some very credible evidence that Jesus was indeed married. Today most Christians believe Jesuse lived based on faith because if we relied on history to prove that out, well, it does not help to prove the fact much...until now thanks to Mr. Gardner. With that said finding much more than circumstantial proof covering anything on this subject is difficult at best and this, in my opinion is a given before you even take on such a task as the one Laurence Gardner has undertaken here. Personally, I feel he did an admirable job but when it comes to the marriage of Jesus and Mary Magdalene, well the old saying that actions speak louder than words pans out quite well.

I find nothing in this book so outlandish as to suggest it is harder to believe than it is to believe what we have been told by the church throughout history. Not only is there more 'evidence' in this book than there is to be found in many of the borrowed myths and legends many people believe blindly every Sunday as they study 'revised' scriptures from the much edited, mistranslated, numerous copies of the bible, but by this book once again Laurence Gardner has shown why he is one of the tops in this field of religious study. Granted, some speculation is shared in this book but in my opinion no more so and perhaps less than is found in Catholisism literature and in other literature found in Christianity as a whole. In many ways Laurence answers and puts to rest many of the riddles of the church that they would rather not discuss and also his take on things makes more sense in more than a few ways.

I found the Grail Enigma a good read, but not on par with his past works. I do feel however that it is well researched and documented as well as anything that comes to mind that I have read on this subject, which is quite a bit. I do not agree with all of what Laurence supposes at times but I do find that he presents his arguements very well, with great effort to not just suggest something blindly, but to first make an outstanding attempt to cross reference the material before it is presented. As a result of this his theories are often times believable, and even his weaker arguements are at the least as believable as those presented by the church itself. I give the book four out of five stars easily and feel its a fine edition to add to your library of other reference materials. I certainly don't regret buying the copy I have.

Every woman that cares about how history turned on them and when should read this book. It explains how woman were degraded systematically and routinely from Mary Magdalene on by the church and more specifically from "Tertullian" on by the church after his papers became widespread and this gives a very good picture that woman were at the least on equal standing with men in all matters until the church stepped in and changed all that with it's early campaigns against women. This book also points out how Mary Magdalene was considered a Saint by other estabished Christian religions at the time of the church in early history and by the churches that remained outside the influence of the Church Of Rome and this leads one to ask how it is that the Church of Rome could ever make this up to those they brutally killed for the same belief they themselves accept today as of 1969. I believe that those that adhere to the Church of Rome being a 'holy' office will find this book difficult to read but if you are like many of us that although raised Catholic were left with many questions and riddles that the church could not, or would not answer to your satisfaction then you will probably find the book a very worthwhile read and quite enlightening.

Lastly, if you enjoyed the "Da Vinci Code" by Dan Brown it is my opinion that you will find this book by Laurence Gardner much much more enjoyable.

STR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who are you trying to kid?, 26 Sept. 2008
Much of the evidence presented by Gardner comes from the same sources as that presented by christianity in favour of the traditional story of Jesus, just interpreted differently. At the end of the day you have to choose who you believe presents the most plausible explanation. Either Jesus was the son of god, performed miracles, was born of a virgin,died & was resurrected, or just maybe this is all fabriacations of the true meaning of the scriptures designed to impress. Perhaps he was just a man, who may have married & fathered children etc. Which is the most far fetched?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Enlightening, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
Suzanne L. Reuben "Susannah1903" (Croxley Green, HERTFORDSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene (Paperback)
Totally fascinating. I find books written by Laurence Gardner very interesting and wish that I had the skills in the ancient languages to enable me to verify the facts. However, reading all of his books, and books following this line of thought by other authors has finally vindicated my thoughts on the subject. I just wish learned people such as Laurence Gardner would come forward and challenge the dogma publically, so that the poor people who have been suckered in belief of these lies could be shown the Truth; or at least guided in the right direction. The World needs cleansing of these lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars none, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene (Paperback)
Delivery to Eire was brilliant.

Having read the Genesis of the Grail kings and the Magdalene Legacy,it seemed natural progression to read this,.Once again Laurence Gardner"s research is astonishingly good.Enjoyed reading this,and have now passed it onto a friend who thinks its quite brilliant;She also has read the Magdalene legacy,and wanted to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
J. Nicholson "juannic" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Authoritative book, good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What really happened to the Grail?, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
H W. E. Siviter "billysiv" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene (Paperback)
The Grail is buried in a cave under Alderley Edge, Cheshire.
"The Dark Men Of Biddulph Moor", tells the true story.
The Dark Men Of Biddulph Moor (illustrated)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grail Enigma, 1 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene (Paperback)
The book arrived as promised in very good condition. Thank you an excellent transaction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Awesome. There i'm done
Yall have a nice day and be sure to pray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who does he think he is kidding?, 30 May 2008
Utter trash from beginning to end. There is not a scintilla of evidence or probability in this book. It is strictly for the great unwashed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene
The Grail Enigma: The Hidden Heirs of Jesus and Mary Magdalene by Laurence Gardner (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2009)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews