Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars304
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2013
Not the best of endings, I'm afraid... but there it is nonetheless...
Pug and Magnus's

adventures surely will be missed...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Feist never fails to deliver!!

Fantasy of an epic scale.

Characters and plot which have an incredible level of depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
As good a story as the rest of the series, an excellent read.
I Will return to it again and again as I do with the rest of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Grand tour of the characters if a little self indulgent at times (missing the sentimentla music in the background). One more word required
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Oh, well. It's very hard to consider the merits of this book without also thinking about the epic series as a whole. Unfortunately, this means that a very harsh light is cast upon Magician's End.

As others have quite rightly stated the original Riftwar series was great, building up a to a satisfying climax and the defeat of a clearly defined enemy in the Valheru. It even set up continuing antagonists in the Pantathians. Krondors Sons (Princes of the Blood and the Kings Buccaneer) were also enjoyable. While many I now did not like the Serpentwar Saga, I quite enjoyed the new characters and a fresher perspective on the dealings around Midkemia. I was, and I think many will agree, completely ignore the Riftwar Legacy books as a complete waste of time, with Jimmy and the Crawler being the worst example of "posting it in" ever committed to print.

After this things began to go astray. With the Conclave of Shadows the series dive-bombed. The characters just became carbon copies of each other, just changed the names. The story became convoluted and as a reader very unsatisfying. There was a new enemy every book who was easily defeated but the turned out to be under the influence of an even more malicious entity, How handy. This is none more evident than in this final volume, pages and pages of expostition about the Ultimate, angels and demons and Bliss and the Dread and time and............whatever. I enjoy a challenging book as much as the next person. I enjoy working through the different constructs and rules of a fantasy world. This was laughable though, poorly thought-out and poorly described. While by the end I understood who or what the Big Bad was supposed to be, it was very hard to muster and feeling for it, and as for the dragon/angel analogue..........

But it wasn't just the worldbuilding and plot structure that let the series down by the end. Let us leave the gramatical errors that began to appear in the later books and concentrate on some of the more inexplicable errors, the many, many contradictions. One huge bug bear I had was the naming of Sorcerer's Isle, or was it Island, nope it's Isle on the next page, oh wait it's Island again. PICK ONE!!!!!!!!!!! Why did Erik Von Darkmoor say he was never married when he married Kat in the third book of the Serpentwar? Why (in Exile's Return I believe) does Kasper say he was an only child when his sister, Natalia, was pretty major character in the previous book? In fact (I admit I may be remembering the book the scenes were in wrongly) there was a section in the books where Kasper and Natalia met for dinner after he returned from Novindus. It is clear that the scheduled release dates of one book per year meant that Feist did not or was unable to hone the books before release, and also that his editors did a very poor job of ensuring consistancy across the whole series, all of which led to a very hollow feeling when finally concluding the series.

The newer characters built up over the preceeding two books were already thinly veiled clones of previous creating and had barely any development from there, established characters were thrown around to keep them in view but with no other reason to be there, a half hearted attempt to get us to care about the political turmoil in the Kingdom (again mirroring the end of Magician) but with non-established characters that the readers are not invested in. The plot was inconsistant with new races being introduced for, well, no reason whatsoever that could be established, a painful amount of exposition trying to explain cosmic concepts that Feist himself clearly had but a tenous grasp of onderstanding. Add to all this a conclusion that could be summed up as little more than "is that it?" rather that the clearly signposted "oooohhhhhh, Pug's back" ending that they wanted.

After finishing the book I felt saddened, not that such an epic series had come to an end, but that something that began which such bright promise could end with such a pathetic whimper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
A good ending to a very long story. It's a shame it had to end. It is well worth a read but you really need to start with the first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Wonderful read though I now have more questions and there are no more answers coming from the author aaaaaaargh what happens next ??????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
if you,ve read the whole series in parts predictable but a good read as usual pity there are not more or is magnus to start a new series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
A very good book could hardly put it down a must if you've been following the series of Pug would recomend to everyone who likes fantasy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Great book a fitting end to a wonderful series. Time to start from the very first book again (The Magician). Looking forward to that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse