Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit dry, but a good resource
Good pocket reference, also includes a 60 minute audio download. It has a two-way dictionary and a menu reader so that you know what you're ordering! There's a small grammar section in the back with the absolute basics of constructing Turkish phrases, but don't expect it to help you express anything too complicated - there isn't enough room. Overall high quality with...
Published on 11 July 2011 by amazoomer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good format but a few errors
As a teacher of Turkish and English, I found this book to have a good, user-friendly format, liked the use of images and photos, but it has a few errors in translation. However it's small and pocket-sized, and useful for the tourist or traveller.
[...]
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by Ebook Proofreader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit dry, but a good resource, 11 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
Good pocket reference, also includes a 60 minute audio download. It has a two-way dictionary and a menu reader so that you know what you're ordering! There's a small grammar section in the back with the absolute basics of constructing Turkish phrases, but don't expect it to help you express anything too complicated - there isn't enough room. Overall high quality with breakout sections to help you understand Turkish culture and laws in situations you're likely to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Turkish Phrasebook - Excellent Value, 13 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. N. Robinson (Anstey, Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
For the price, this is an excellent phrasebook. I particularly like the easy-to-follow layout of the sections, and the audio download gives an idea of how to pronounce the words and phrases. A very handy size to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary, 4 May 2010
By 
Mr. Leslie Barker (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a great little book. Does what it says on the cover. Contains useful phrases with phonetic pronunciation to help with actually speaking the phrases.
Has useful, though not huge dictionary. Overall a useful little handbook.
For some reason I have been unable to get the free 60 minute audio download so far, which would have been useful with pronunciation too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good format but a few errors, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
As a teacher of Turkish and English, I found this book to have a good, user-friendly format, liked the use of images and photos, but it has a few errors in translation. However it's small and pocket-sized, and useful for the tourist or traveller.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
I was having trouble with a few bits and pieces on my Rosetta Stone course, and the answers to all of my questions were in here! It really is a gem of a book, and has helped immensely. Contains far more than a standard dictionary, and could well be a one-stop book for holidays. Price was very good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Turkish Dictionary, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a nice user friendly dictionary, with useful lists like numbers and days of the week. It's easily portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins does it again, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
I now travel to Turkey on a regular basis and find this phrasebook anexcellent companion.The layout is simple yet effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book for value, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
well this small book is very good to learn basic turkish
You get help of sounds with english tranlated words......so you can make a sound like turks!
I found it interesting and still learn some phrases. good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars turkey, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
this came in very handy wen in the taxi & wen at the hotel too - gr8 - and as I go to turkey every year I will get my monies worth!¬!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is good if you have a little understanding of Turkish first, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary (Paperback)
I have visited Turkey several times for my annual holiday and wanted to speak a few words so I can talk a little bit with the locals. I think you would struggle to learn by just using this resource without a better understanding. The sections are far too specific and I had to keep going back and for the t find the sentence or word I needed. The free upload of the CD was handy though as I could practice a few new words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary
Collins Turkish Phrasebook and Dictionary by Collins UK (Paperback - 7 April 2008)
Used & New from: £6.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews