Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rind - What Prince Charles Buys in the Pub
For fans of I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue, this second volume of the Uxbridge English Dictionary will come as no surprise - an excellent book of word play and hilarity. And now that poor Humph has left us, this may become a unique item....depends what they do with the show. Excellent book, very funny, and guaranteed to make you laugh - a great tribute to the show...the...
Published on 20 Jun 2008 by S. Bradnam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected
Having heard a great many words and alternate definitions from the radio shows, I must say I was disappointed with this presentation. A lot of the words were unknown to me and often referred to persons of which I have no knowledge.

I much prefer words like 'bin-liner' a sunken vessel (my own concoction) than some of the references.

This volume did...
Published 5 months ago by MR PETER SHARPEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rind - What Prince Charles Buys in the Pub, 20 Jun 2008
By 
S. Bradnam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
For fans of I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue, this second volume of the Uxbridge English Dictionary will come as no surprise - an excellent book of word play and hilarity. And now that poor Humph has left us, this may become a unique item....depends what they do with the show. Excellent book, very funny, and guaranteed to make you laugh - a great tribute to the show...the best radio comedy show around. Highly recommended.....oh and one more definition....Propaganda....A good look :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book I have EVER read!, 18 May 2008
By 
D. P. Hearn "David Hearn" (Liverpool; Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Fans of I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue will need no introduction to this collection - for everyone else all that I can give you is one "defination" - "Reincarnation - to be born again as a tin of condensed milk" - I am a cynical, hard bitten old sod but I cried tears of laughter when I read this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious Second Edition, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Martin Green "ISIHAC Fan" (Warwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is the second edition of the book based on the "I'm Sorry I haven't A Clue" game ... and it is as good as the first.
Full of spurious, comedy definitions of words. There are always some that bring tears to the eyes with laughing so much !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Nicholas Tier "nuck_the_king" (Danehill, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Hilarious: if you love the radio programme, then you already know that you're going to love this. If the definition of "louche" (where Sean Connery goes to the toilet), or "lovelorn" (to be really, really fond of grass) doesn't make you chuckle, then don't buy this. Otherwise, it's under a fiver: what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb linguistic joviality, 10 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Great fun for anyone who likes linguistic humour and a must for all fans of "I'm Sorry I Haven't a Clue"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only dictionary that I've read ene to end, and have enjoyed, 8 April 2009
By 
Mark "Maxsmithy" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
My family are great fans of, 'I'm sorry I haven't a clue,' with our favourite round being the new definitions round. that made this book a must buy. I don't think i've ever sat round and read a book with a whole load of people and being laughing constanly. It also has side entertainment from the looks of peoples faces when you tell them you are reading a dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best laughs for ages, 28 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of 'I'm sorry I haven't a clue' then this will be your bible. Just buy it for some of the best humour ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Malleable" - a matriominally available Chinese lady, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
If you find that funny, which I do, this book has many, many chuckles and will look great in your loo. "Warming" - Geordie porcelain. You get the idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a load of nonsense, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
As a follower of Sorry I haven't a clue for forty years I just couldn't avoid buying this for my wife who was absolutely thrilled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Funny if you like the radio series., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Uxbridge English Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is the type of book that demands you read aloud the latset gem you have read.
Great for those who have and continue to enjoy the radio series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Uxbridge English Dictionary
The New Uxbridge English Dictionary by Iain Pattinson (Hardcover - 19 May 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews