Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just an over-grown kid!
I read this book when I was a child (pre-teen, I think) and loved it. Then I grew up and decided I should read more 'grown-up' books, so I bought T. H. White's 'The Once and Future King'. That contains a version of 'The Sword in the Stone', but that version is pitched at adults and the magic is different. Yes, Wart is still turned into animals, but there's no battle with...
Published on 11 Nov. 2010 by Cheerful Dragon

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a marred edition of a beautiful book
it's wonderful to have this alternate version of the first part of The Once & Future King, but this edition is marred by gormless copyediting that "corrects" much of White's wordplay, destroying part of the book's wit and charm, and sorely disappointing readers who know and love this book. the publishers owe us all a revised edition.
Published on 1 April 2011 by clio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a marred edition of a beautiful book, 1 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
it's wonderful to have this alternate version of the first part of The Once & Future King, but this edition is marred by gormless copyediting that "corrects" much of White's wordplay, destroying part of the book's wit and charm, and sorely disappointing readers who know and love this book. the publishers owe us all a revised edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just an over-grown kid!, 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book when I was a child (pre-teen, I think) and loved it. Then I grew up and decided I should read more 'grown-up' books, so I bought T. H. White's 'The Once and Future King'. That contains a version of 'The Sword in the Stone', but that version is pitched at adults and the magic is different. Yes, Wart is still turned into animals, but there's no battle with Madam Mim!

For years I promised myself that I'd buy this book. I'm glad I did. It's like meeting an old friend that you haven't seen for years.

If you have a pre-teen/early-teens child who enjoys funny stories about magic, this is a good book to give them. If you're an over-grown kid who likes funny stories about magic, like me, get this book. If you're an adult who wants more 'grown-up' Arthurian stories, get 'The Once and Future King'. They're both good books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages, through all ages!, 13 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This is undoubtedly one of the best books I have ever read, and is highly deserving of its place as a 'classic'. Unfortunately, to many people being dubbed a classic suggests that a book must be boring. Far from it! Forget Disney's rendition of 'The Sword in the Stone', because it doesn't come anywhere near the literary prowess, intricate descriptions and luxurious fantasy of this masterpiece. If, on the other hand, you have seen the film 'Excalibur' then you have an idea of the immensely wise, slightly insane and incredibly funny character of Merlin that you will meet in this book.

White tells a fascinating story, builds interesting and enjoyable characters and fleshes the story out with excellent descriptions of bygone pursuits, such as falconry and questing, ancient customs and agriculture, interwoven with magic that spans centuries and civilisations at times. The character of Merlin is particularly enjoyable, and although the book is perhaps a little slow in the first couple of chapters, once Merlin comes on the scene we are whisked off on one magical journey after another.

Read it, enjoy it. Maybe even share it with a child! Like all the best "children's literature", this book is just as entertaining for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars File under 'Shouldn't work but does', 26 Mar. 2011
By 
Gregory Heath - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is one of the strangest books I've ever read. Here's a list of some of its qualities (in no particular order). This book is: bizarre; entertaining; erudite; surreal; inventive; free (of most accepted writing conventions); sloppy; funny; characterful; wilfully inconsistent; (randomly) indebted to Shakespeare; (randomly) informative; (randomly) opinionated; (randomly) time-travelling; (consistently) random. I'm giving it four stars on account of the fact that despite all of the above I read it to the end and enjoyed doing so, which gets more impressive the more I think about it. Apparently it's about the Young King Arthur, who like many a young man was fond of mounching on mercy-flavoured bread, which of course has yet to be invented...

Gregory Heath, author of 'The Entire Animal'.

The Entire Animal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting and strange, 2 July 2011
By 
Mike Heron (Truro, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Anyone coming to this via Disney is in for either a shock or a pleasant surprise. For me it was the latter. It isn't a particularly easy read for a child but worth the effort, if only for the descriptions of the realities of jousting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sword in the stone, 14 May 2011
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Paperback)
The cover quality was a little disappointing, but the book is great, such fun, and witty humour. It felt like "Three men on a boat" or something akin to that sort of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once had the book, lost it or it fell apart. Stimulating, entertaining, sneakily educational. A thoroughly pleasant read. good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but love the, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Always found this book difficult to get through, but love the mythology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Paperback)
I started, and couldn't help myself. This book is dangerously addictive and entertaining; I warn those who posses enough courage to pick the book up, as they shall be forever enthralled by it's charm and wittyness. A great read, and beggining to T.H.White's exciting version of Artherian Legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the boyhood of King Arthur - infinitely better than Disney, 12 Dec. 2002
By 
Amanda Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword in the Stone (Paperback)
Firstly, I would like to say the previous reviewer is a chump. Ornithology indeed! Yes, White knew a lot about birds of prey, having kept them, and his knowledge and feeling for them make up some of the best details of the Wart's transformation into a hawk as part of his education by Merlin. Yet that leaves out all the rest - what it feels like to swim as a fish, to grow as a tree, to cower as a snake. All of these magical experiences come together when the boy Wart gathers his strength to finally lift the sword from the stone, and become King Arthur.
If you only know this story from the Disney version, think again. It's a hundred times funnier, more gripping and less crude - the one thing Disney added were the self-washing plates, which I seem to recall appearing in Sleeping Beauty too. The bits about Sir Pelinnor and the Questing Beast a trifle heavy-handed, but otherwise it's a feast. Don't bother with the subsequent novels, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics)
The Sword in the Stone (Essential Modern Classics) by T. H. White (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews