Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So you think you know Graham Poll?
Well let me tell you, you don't! This is a terrific book, from both footballing and non-footballing point of views. This is not one of your typical footballing biography's. It has pace, pathos and literal integrity. A real page turner, full of mixed emotions that will have you welling up, laughing out loud and outraged within a single page.

Seeing Red reveals...
Published on 20 Aug 2007 by D. J. Barron

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opiniated Poll
On his retirement as a referee it would appear that Graham Poll as chosen to write a book not about his life but as an opportunity to put his side of the story about many of the controversial episodes in his refereeing career. Fair enough. Unfortunately though, this gets a bit wearing after a while and, as a result, I found this book it to be a little dull.

It...
Published on 16 July 2008 by Bantam Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Refs, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Paul Hanratty (Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seeing Red (Paperback)
When I first started watching football the referee was the man in black who blew the whistle. He wasn't a celebrity and we often didn't even know his name. Those days are well behind us with Messrs Ellerary, Winter and Poll all treating us to tales from the middle. I am like many football fans, totally biased to my own team and quick to blame the ref for the team's shortcomings. Therefore I was interested to read "Pollie's" story and initially had a degree of sympathy for him as he seemed to be unfairly maligned by one camp or the other for anything which contributed to a team's downfall. However, I felt he milked the mistake at the World Cup and had in mind the phrase "get over it". No one died and ultimately it made no material difference to the outcome of the match and the only reason I could discern for Mr Poll's misery was that he clearly believed he was destined to referee the final. Egotistical, arrogant, self-important - yes probably a little of all but don't pretend you didn't enjoy the fame/notoriety which went with it, Graham. For all that I quite enjoyed the book as it gave a different view of life in the beautiful game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars settling scores in football autobiographies, 10 Sep 2007
By 
DT (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seeing Red (Hardcover)
Seems to be de rigeur, but this book is at first blush well written and criticisms (against the FA and certain senior officials) are generally well written and constructive. A good ghost writer has clearly earned his fee. Objective one - to conceal the vanity of the subject - is largely achieved.
However, there is the undertone of a grudge with someone, an unnamed contemporary, and the author can't resist tempting the libel lawyers with a 'not so subtle' reference in the index.
"Come and have a go if you think you're hard enough" - Mr Winter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Great read, interesting to hear a referees perspective. Well written and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dross!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Hated the book, Poll is so self I indulgent it's sickening. Give this a wide berth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CANDID INSIGHT INTO THE MODERN GAME AND THE REF'S STORIES!, 24 Nov 2008
By 
R. G. Williams "raywilliams12" (Cheshire, England , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Paperback)
I loved this book and couldn't put it down. One of Englands' top ref blows the whistle on great incidents we have all seen on the box, who said what etc as well as talking about the game both domestic and international in general and his own career. This is a great book.

Poll goes into some detail about some key incidents inlcuding of course the media row with John Terry following the England captain's controversial sending off against Tottenham Hotspur after grappling with Ledley King. he also covers verbal tussles with Rooney and Mourinho in his final years at the top and of course who could forget the three yellow cards incident!

Poll digs in the FA too on the way they handle interaction with the officials at every level of the game, he also looks at behind-the-scenes tales of what it means to be a professional referee both at home and at major international tournaments, there is certainly a few things in here that will keep any football supporter interested, even (and sometimes especially) if you are not Poll's biggest fan.

After reading this book,you get the impression that Poll liked to be noticed - both in his career and since. Throughout, he does try to explain away how people came to think of him as arrogant - a character trait he likes to deny.

But you get the distinct impression from some of the anecdotes he furnishes the reader with that this is simply not the case.

The book is a good read in general and is punctuated with enough tales and stories to make it interesting - but with enough other substance so that the narrative is never a simple 'he said, she said'.

What is perhaps the most lavish praise for this book is the foreword by Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Fergie is not exactly known for his love of the officials throughout football, especially when it comes to their timekeeping.

Therefore, the fact that he has taken the time out to write a generous introduction for Mr Poll's book suggests the man is genuinely a good and well-liked man among his peers.

There is, of course, the obligatory family history/upbringing/early life part to the book, although this is mercifully short and the focus is most certainly on the sections of Poll's career that people will buy this book for.

It's a good read for anyone with a vested interest in professional football as a whole, as it gives a viewpoint that is normally hidden from the public view.

Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Poll too little football, 16 Sep 2007
By 
Bruce Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Hardcover)
Dont get me wrong , this is a good read and for anyone interested in football, and i would recommend it.However where Mr Poll could have written a great work about refereeing, he didnt, he wrote about Graham Poll

One has some sympathy that a man in his position has a lot to get off his chest atfter 25 years of taking c**p from players and managers, but this will be of interest to no one in 12 months time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Very enjohyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Nick,
Humourous in places & good insinght into the world of Referreing.
Would recomend this book to any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring boring boring, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
I buy and read a lot of books from Amazon and to my shame rarely find time to write a review (good or bad). But I feel that as a service to my fellow readers I am duty-bound to add one on this book.

I pride myself on my ability to read with an open mind, and did so when opening this book. But rarely have a formed such a low opinion of a writer when reading - why does he spend so interminably long navel-gazing one single decision which (in my opinion) he blows out of all proportion ?

The most mind-numbingly boring book I have read in years. Quite why I stuck it out to the end I do not know.

If you are looking for an insight into the world of professional refereeing - avoid. If you are a chronic insomniac - then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the most used words in this book are "me" and "i", 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: Seeing Red (Hardcover)
This book is bad i have never read such egotistical rubbish in my life for the first sixty or so pages he bangs on about all the people who have upset him, theres a bit in the middle about how great he and all his friends think he is ,and then back to the slagging off of various people in the game.Its a constant brag and then whinge .Abusing referees is wrong but it happens as it also happens to traffic wardens if u cant handle it find another job.I was seeing red after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeing Red
Seeing Red by Graham Poll (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews