Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So you think you know Graham Poll?
Well let me tell you, you don't! This is a terrific book, from both footballing and non-footballing point of views. This is not one of your typical footballing biography's. It has pace, pathos and literal integrity. A real page turner, full of mixed emotions that will have you welling up, laughing out loud and outraged within a single page.

Seeing Red reveals...
Published on 20 Aug. 2007 by D. J. Barron

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opiniated Poll
On his retirement as a referee it would appear that Graham Poll as chosen to write a book not about his life but as an opportunity to put his side of the story about many of the controversial episodes in his refereeing career. Fair enough. Unfortunately though, this gets a bit wearing after a while and, as a result, I found this book it to be a little dull.

It...
Published on 16 July 2008 by Bantam Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
A real insight to the life of a referee. A eye opening read which is a brilliant read. Fully recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A view from the other side., 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
It's a thankless job which a million others know better, but if done correctly you can be invisible. A good read for all football fans to get grip of reality, it may seem like life or death, but it's just a game. Graham poll gets this across along with passion and understanding that every fan wants his team to win even when they are rubbish, and the referee just wants a fair game. He also shows the desire and drive, sometimes mistaken for arrogance that is needed to reach the top in all walks of life, with a million critics every weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood?, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Firstly I didn't realise it had been six years since Graham Poll retired. I liked Poll, I always thought he was firm but fair. Certainly there were times, as football fans, when we thought he courted controversy and enjoyed the limelight but that doesn't really come across here.
Graham wanted to be the best, I think he wanted to be a human being rather than a robot on the pitch. Because of this perhaps his actions were misunderstood.
Some of the stories recounted are great but I wish we had a little bit more on the characters he encountered. There
looked to be more, for instance, to the row between Keane and Vierra.
Despite this lack of detail, I certainly enjoyed the read and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the world of refereeing, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Ed Jie (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Poll gives a great insight into the small world of elite referees. He brings all the issues, pressures, highs and lows on board but also lets us the fans, the players, and the others understand that every referee is also "a human". Its a well written book that should inspire those thinking of becoming referees in the future. All Premier League fans should read it too so they can be better informed about the various refereeing "mistakes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP BLOKE, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
Honest and at times a touch of arrogance to the chapters but also revealing the intense pressure at the top. As an ex referee i understand the long trek through the parks to get to the standard that one can attain.
Excellent record in europe and extremelyt unlucky t to get a world cup final.
Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
I've just passed my Refereeing Basics Course, but haven't yet been 'referred to'. After reading this I feel like I'm going into refereeing, not with my figurative eyes open (I can assure you, my actual eyes will be open); I'm sure only real-time refereeing can do that, but just squinting into the dark that is the future unknown. Now I have a vague idea as to what to expect, where before it was none.
Thanks Graham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Dave (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
A unique look at the lonely world of refereeing. Of course Graham has his character, perceived by many to be the real him based on quips by pundits and chants by crowds. But this is the story of the real Graham Poll and what it's like to be that ****** in the black!

Very entertaining nonetheless. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, well written and provides an insight, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that I feel my opinion of Graham Poll was somewhat coloured by the media before reading this book. He has always been portrayed as being an arrogant so and so who consistently wanted the cameras to be on him. While after reading this book I'm not going to say he is completely adverse to the publicity he has got during the course of his career, I do have a new found respect for him. Throughout this book Graham recounts on various interactions with players, managers and members of the media. It is extremely interesting reading at times and gives the reader a real persepective into how challenging the job of being a referee at the highest level can be. One really interesting story for me was about when Graham was an assistant referee in which Pierluigi Collina, the legendary italian referee was 'in the middle'. Graham spoke of a pre match meeting where Collina spoke about the various tactics both teams would use, what would happen if one team went a goal up etc etc. Graham said that all of these predictions as to tactics etc were accurate as the game unfolded.

Graham Poll is no wall flower. He does sound like he liked the attention of his job, but why not? Overall a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Paperback)
Well written and enjoyable, he was a bit of a character but he also has a genuine love of the game. Good to hear his version of the three yellow card episode. Made the best of the talent he had worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
Middy2000 "Middy" (NE LINCS - England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seeing Red (Hardcover)
If you like your football stories then this is a great book, covers the life of Graham including the infamous 3 yellow card World Cup game that potentially stopped him refereeing a world cup final.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeing Red
Seeing Red by Graham Poll (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews