Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellente!
Well, firstly to say... Thank God this series just got more interesting! Even though Darren Shan is probably my all time favourite author with the Darren Shan Saga, admittedly the last couple of books from the Demonata saga had lost that certain...edge. Rather than admiring the wonderful masterwork of the tradition Shan writing, the last few books had left me with a...
Published on 3 Dec 2008 by Alex Lee

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars supplier let down
Ordered this book and got an email an hour before its delivery in a bulk order that it couldn't be fulfilled. Real let down my supplier when i ordered the whole saga
Published 10 months ago by antonio martignetti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellente!, 3 Dec 2008
Well, firstly to say... Thank God this series just got more interesting! Even though Darren Shan is probably my all time favourite author with the Darren Shan Saga, admittedly the last couple of books from the Demonata saga had lost that certain...edge. Rather than admiring the wonderful masterwork of the tradition Shan writing, the last few books had left me with a slightly more bitter taste in my mouth. Not to say the least that they weren't interesting, they were brilliant! (Just not as good as the others).

Now, this new book, Wolf Island has to be one of the best in the series thus far. I thought the storyline was brilliant with the new introduction of a different side to the 'good guys' as we saw them to be and also the development of the main characters (I especially enjoyed the new... ability that Grubbs gains :D). The action and thrill that you could find in all of Darren Shan's pieces can be found jam-packed in this exciting read. (Admittedly, it took me only around 3 hours to finish and during that time I went everywhere with my eyes glued to the book. And I mean...everywhere)

If you have read the previous few books of the series and feel a little disheartened, I assure you, this book will re-capture your expected thrills and spills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another thrilling chapter in Darren Shan's epic Demonata series, 24 Nov 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Barcode: 9780007260409

Darren Shan's Demonata series is one which i always eagerly await each instalment of, his skills of storytelling and building of tension keeping you hooked to his every word. With each book, the events of the desperate battle between humans and demons become more and more epic, the sacrifices needing to be made growing ever larger.

Previous book Death's Shadow demonstrated these themes perfectly and with Wolf Island, we now see the events running parallel to that book. We return to Grubbs' point of view as he, Meera and Shark set out to uncover the mystery of werewolves on the loose. Fans of the series will already be aware of the shadowy organisation known as the Lambs and this book sheds some welcome light on them, exposing the true brutality of their work.

Wolf Island as a whole takes a step back from the magical feel of the series, taking on a more scientific, military feel and it makes an interesting change of style. Shan, is just as skilled in this department however and his descriptions of the group of soldiers accompanying Grubbs in his mission brings to mind images of classic Hollywood action thrillers.

The action on the 'Wold Island' itself is just as gritty and harsh as the world of the Demonata themselves and we see the re-emergence of the vile Juni Swan too, the reccuring villain tying various strands of the series together and leading on to the next book in the series.

In terms of characters, Grubbs is as charming as ever and Shark and Meera have their characters developed a great deal here too + the introduction of technological genius Timaas is a masterstroke.

All in all, another work of pure brilliance from Shan and one fans of the series will eagerly lap up. Well worht getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like 4.5/5 or so but whatever, 2 Oct 2008
This is a VERY good series, definately one of my favourites, if not the favourite, and it hasn't finished yet.
So, here we have the 8th instalment of this epic story, beginning slightly after the end of no. 6, Demon Apocalypse, and once again it is told from the point of view of Grubbs, which is good because he's the main main character but we havn't heard from Kernel since book 2, so I very much hope the next book will tell his story in the latest turn of events.
The book gets straight into the juicy demon-slaying action that is spread around these books *yay* but it does take a while to re-cap and such when we already know what happened, but I suppose dear Mr. Shan has to remind everyone in case they forget, good good. And Then a scene is repeated from book 7 0_o like whaaat, I found that pretty weird but it was nessesary, and cleverly written from the two points of veiw.
Now I shant say any further into the plot incase your reading this before the book, all I'll say is that some is predictible and it seems to be going smoothly but as it is in all Darren Shan books there's some very nice twistyness and disabling of the cliche 'hero' figure and a slight *anything is possible* feel. I like this very much. Plus OMINOUS PROPHECY TIME WOO Thank you Darren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 6 Nov 2008
A Kid's Review
Wolf Island is a very good book. Full of twist and turns and ended on a cruel cliff hanger.

Grubbs Grady and his friends must fight hordes of demons and werewolves. Grubbs tries to hold his inner wolf in. He and his friends try to survive and escape. This story is at the same time of the seventh book, showing what Grubbs was doing while the famous magician Bernabaus fought his battle, (which is in book seven.)

Good for 12+. There is less action than in the previous books, but a better plot in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 1 April 2010
This review is from: Wolf Island (The Demonata, Book 8) (Paperback)
This was a great book! I was totally hooked, it was a good thing i had time to read it pretty much in one go!

Lot's of stuff going on here, and we find out what was happening with Grubb's and co. at roughly the same time as Bec's story from Death's Shadow. (Or was i mistaken? That's how i took it anyway!)

The werewolves are back...in huge numbers! Incase you didn't work it out from the title, they are on an island!

(POSSIBLE SPOILERS!!!) This was a cleverly written book, and we get some really interesting stuff about Grubb's in this book. Poor Dervish is still dying from his heart attack, Juni is hanging around causing trouble, Prae Athim is back too. There is a lovely little play on Anthony Horowitz in the character 'Antoine Horwitzer', which I thought was pretty clever.

So all in all, a brilliant addition to this wonderful series! Read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, well done Darren Shan, 3 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another great book by Darren Shan. It's an easy read - no complicated words so young children can read it with no problems. It's action packed and full of surprises and unexpected twists. It keeps with the main story and follows on nicely - the surprises and twists are exactly what you don't expect - a must have in any teen horror books. The pace is quick but not too fast so you can keep up with what's happening without the need to re-read any parts [until you get to the end; you'll want to read it over and over again].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 18 Jun 2014
absolutely billkant love the whole demon conspiracy and the shadow being death, i wont say anymore incase you're reading this before reading the book but all in all an ace book!! cheers dazza
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book and great series can't wait to get the next one. It is a great book for teenagers and adults
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars supplier let down, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Island (The Demonata, Book 8) (Paperback)
Ordered this book and got an email an hour before its delivery in a bulk order that it couldn't be fulfilled. Real let down my supplier when i ordered the whole saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow just WOW. That's all I really have to say. A a a a (writing this so I can submit it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf Island (The Demonata, Book 8)
Wolf Island (The Demonata, Book 8) by Darren Shan (Paperback - 27 Mar 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews