Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another lovely cookbook from the Irish Domestic Goddess
A new Rachel Allen book to go with the T.V. series of the same name. Though it's so much more than just a tie-in cookbook.

It's Rachel's biggest book to date, and covers all the home meals that you'd want to cook for your familys' daily meals. Breakfast, Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Supper and Desserts plus some savoury treats and lots of sweet ones too. There is even...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by KM Cook Book Queen

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a book for the experienced home cook
Although this book is nicely presented with some delicious recipes, I was a little disappointed with it.

The recipes, in the main, are too basic for the experienced cook; it would better suit a beginner.
Published on 25 Feb 2010 by Janetell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another lovely cookbook from the Irish Domestic Goddess, 30 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
A new Rachel Allen book to go with the T.V. series of the same name. Though it's so much more than just a tie-in cookbook.

It's Rachel's biggest book to date, and covers all the home meals that you'd want to cook for your familys' daily meals. Breakfast, Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Supper and Desserts plus some savoury treats and lots of sweet ones too. There is even a chapter on Baby Purees, if that's where you are at.

Nicely presented with lots of recipes and pictures. Good comforting and homely home cooked food, these recipes will easily weave their way into your weekly cooking.

Here's a small taster of a few of the recipes:Zac's chicken and sweetcorn soup, crispy duck rolls, roast chicken with 5 sauces and 6 stuffing variations to choose from, creamy gratin of butternut squash, pecan and vegateble loaf, 4 risottos including red wine risotto with chorizo and peas, Mum's chicken and ham lasagne, steak and mushroom pies, date and orange syrup pudding, strawberry and white chocolate tiramisu, dark sticky gingerbread, Turkish delight, white chocolate fudge - and a whole load more!

This is Rachel's sixth cookbook, and I did wonder if she could come up with another great book, especially after Bake last year, but no worries there, it's another cracker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rachel Allen does it again!, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. N. Millican (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I am definitely a fan of Rachel Allen - I have several of her cookbooks now and really enjoy watching her on TV. She is a such a likeable and approachable person. She does everything with ease but doesn't make it seem impossible to achieve.
I got this book for Christmas and am already eager to get going and try some of the recipes in the book. There are several different sections in the book and various pages of advice/suggestions. There really is something for everyone in this book, ranging from snacks, to picnics, to sweets to baby food! There are some new twists on old favourites and things I've never even tried before. The emphasis is definitely on home cooked food (no surprises there!) and it makes you want to do things from scratch and not have to resort to convenience food all the time. I don't have one negative comment!
The book itself is wonderfully chunky, full of bright colours and photos. Definitely one to add to the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty book, lovely food!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Flighty Rach (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book. Definitely nice enough for a gift, as it's a hardcover, and has a ribbon bookmark, beautiful pictures and pastel pages... really sweet.

The recipes are great! I've already made the sticky gingerbread and the smoked salmon and leek bake, both delicious and very easy. There is the odd oversimplistic 'recipe' in here for padding (not sure I really needed reminding how to make boiled eggs and soldiers..) but it's packed full of simple family suppers and lunches, various quick and easy pasta sauces, pies, lasagne, curries, puddings and snacks. There are big full colour photos of almost every dish, which helps you choose, and also a section of tips and hints, and some advice on baby feeding too.

Just an ideal book to reach for on a Monday morning to plan the next couple of days meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Home Cooking review, 26 Oct 2009
By 
E. O'Flaherty (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I highly recommend this book to anyone who cooks regularly for family and friends. It has both special occasion and everyday recipes that are clear and easy to follow, and taste delicious.

I previously had two of Rachel Allen's books, but I found that I did not use them very often. By contrast, I have already cooked more than half a dozen recipes in this book, having had it for about a month. I like the idea of cooking meals from scratch, but have often found that recipes who do this are a bit daunting - this book provides simple instructions and I have found that I was able to do this.

The only types of recipes that I haven't tried yet are the dessert/baking recipes. They look very tasty but I haven't had the time yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Godsend to this family's jaded palate!, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Caerphilly, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
Can't recommend this book highly enough. I'd got really bored with cooking and have bought numerous books by celebrity chefs but this is the best by far. I've only had it a few days and already I've done 5 recipes. And more are planned for the weeks ahead! Recipes are easy to follow with easy to obtain ingredients and fit in pefectly to a busy schedule. It is lovely to have different home-cooked food again instead of the usual spag bols, chillis etc. Buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest book on Home Cooking by Rachel Allen, 1 Nov 2009
By 
E. Roome (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
This is another great book from Rachel Allen - I have them all so may be biased but I find her ideas are always simple and within reach of even those who are just beginning their cookery journey. The recipes are easily followed and most important for most people is that the ingredients are readily available. I watched the series on television and followed with the book which was an extra bonus. Its a definite winner and a must for any cookery book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of things you might actually cook!, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Easterchick (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
Rachel Allen has done what some might have thought to be impossible - making good home cooked food fashionable again. This book is another testament to her creativity as a chef balanced with her sensibility as a mum. This follows in the current trend for multi-purpose cookbooks (like Fay Ripley's wonderful 'Fay's Family Food', another personal favourite!)

This book is full of recipes that anyone could make, which mostly have a small number of ingredients or are easy to prepare, and which result in good home cooked food which is equally serveable for a family dinner or at a dinner party.

Typical recipes include 'Stir fried noodles with chicken dumplings', 'Lamb koftas with dips and spicy pittas', 'Gooseberry sponge tart' and home made cherryade. There is also a nod to those with children with a baby puree section.

The only thing I don't like so much about the book (and the reason it loses a star in my review) is way that the chapters are laid out by meals, which are not intuitive and do not give enough information to make the book easy to browse or flick through - for example, if you were looking for vegetable dishes you would have to look in 'Lunch', 'Sunday Lunch' AND 'Dinner' to make sure you'd read them all.

Apart from this, this book is a winner and will be on my kitchen shelf for some time to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous recipes, beautifully presented, 30 May 2010
By 
stacey987 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I am a fairly new cook who was fed up of the same meals every week and wanted something to inspire me, yet that was still homely, filling and simple to make. I saw this and knew it was the recipe book I had been looking for. Not only are the basics there and explained simply, but there are some more adventurous recipes for when I feel a little more confident. All the recipes are explained in easy to understand steps, and often give alternative ingredients if you don't like something or love the recipe and want to vary it a little. So far everything I have tried has been delicious and I can't wait to try another recipe. Also would make a lovely gift as it is so lovely to look at, stunning presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa Harvey, 7 Jan 2010
By 
L. M. Harvey "Pixie Lisa" (Gloucester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
Another great book from Rachel, with plenty of ideas for the family, great section for baby purees as I have a 3 month old son and will definately be using that section alot when he is ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Georgina Tillyer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Cooking (Hardcover)
This is a lovely cookbook, full of family meals, easy to cook, also good recipes for entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae000f0c)

This product

Home Cooking
Home Cooking by Rachel Allen (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
20.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews