Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy recipes for every occasion
As always with Rachel's books, the recipes are easy to follow and turn out the way you expect them to - so you get great results with a minimum of fuss. There is something for every occasion in this book, as the chapter titles show: "Food for the Soul", "Childhood Favourites", "Making Memories", "Something to Celebrate", "The Lazy Sunday", "An Elegant Afternoon", Pleasure...
Published on 14 Aug 2008 by Sabine Zimmermann

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars recipe I tried did not work
I really like Rachel Allen recipes, I find them tasty and easy to make. She is my favorite chef.
This book however was a disappointment. Did not like the way the index was organized, and one of the recipes I tried did not work at all page 193 Torta di cappuccino. It probably had the wrong amounts. I looked it up on the internet and unfortunately found out that other...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by hav


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy recipes for every occasion, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Sabine Zimmermann (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
As always with Rachel's books, the recipes are easy to follow and turn out the way you expect them to - so you get great results with a minimum of fuss. There is something for every occasion in this book, as the chapter titles show: "Food for the Soul", "Childhood Favourites", "Making Memories", "Something to Celebrate", "The Lazy Sunday", "An Elegant Afternoon", Pleasure Without the Guilt", "Food for Romance", "For the Love of Chocolate" and "Classic Dishes". I tried the "White Chocolate Buns" and they were dead easy to make, I even managed to whip them up before going to work, something I normally wouldn't be able to do, since I'm not exactly a member of the rise and shine party. They tasted great (funnily like macaroons - very yummy and a bit sticky) and disappeared really quickly once my colleagues tasted them. I can only recommend this book, especially if you're looking for something to make the whole family happy. Since it is beautifully laid out (with an added pink ribbon to mark your page) it also makes a nice present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable, 11 Mar 2008
By 
G. R. Defiore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
I now own two of Rachel Allen's books and have tried many of the recipes from each (Food for Living & Food for Friends), they have worked every time and are very reliable and easy to make. At last a 'proper' cookbook and Rachel seems to be a very likeable person - well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the Soul, 12 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
Marcel Proust may have explored the effects of a Madeleine cake on the memory but Rachel Allen's recipes for `Dad's Brown Bread' and `Rhubarb and Custard Tart' are equally capable of evoking all those memories of Sunday-teas gone by whilst expanding your practical cooking skills.

With chapters that offer great recipes from childhood, meals for celebrations and even food for romance, Rachel Allen invites readers to cook dishes which are (or soon will be) part of the fabric of life. Grown-up Pavlova and rich buttered lobster recipes sit surprisingly well alongside the simple joys of cheesy pasta bake. Each section is beautifully illustrated with stunning family-centric photography and the recipes are easy to follow - encouraging household participation in cooking (although readers may find it difficult to share any of the goodies that are the result of the chapter entitled `For the Love of Chocolate').

Wholesome without being preachy and sweet without being sickly, Rachel Allen's Food for Living is quaint food philosophy with a kick and the perfect book to add to your kitchen shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely invaluable!, 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
this is such a fab recipe book! i got it for xmas and i use it alot. so far have made the spanish chorizo (used veggie sausage instead) and chickpea soup, blue cheese potato and leek soup (which is so gorgeous), heart shaped toast with egg and the cheesy soda bread, and some of the smoothies! they all turned out really well. i can't wait to make so many different things and next on my list is the chocolate and banana bread and butter pud! the book is written in such a simple and lovely way and is not pretencious atall. it also has great illustrations and feels very good quality. i particularly like the different sections such as food for the soul and the lazy sundays section, as there is something for any occasion. i would DEFINITELY recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best ways I know to get your calories...., 10 Oct 2008
By 
M. Crane (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
A lot of the recipes can be got from the web but for the pictures and the recipes themselves buy yourself the book (or better still, buy for he/she who lurks in the kitchen area). The chocolate brownie recipe is a personal favourite featuring their inspired use of raspberries and (as they keep for ages) you don't really have to share them with anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, simple, delicious recipes, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
I have now made 4 recipes from this book in the space of a month. The fact that it is themed by mood and has great pictures has meant that it has been v. easy to use. Ingredients lists are relatively straight forward, as are the cooking instructions. V. easy to use and to find something that suits the occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book full of Real Food, 21 Sep 2007
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
I was so excited to see Rachel Allen has published another cookbook!
It's a beautiful book, full of lovely colourful photos and most of the recipes are things I will actually use.

She's always great on Saturday Kitchen so I made sure to watch her new show and I love it - she's very easy to watch and her accent is lovely to listen to. It's refreshing that there are no pointless self-obsessed innuendos like Nigella or tired cliches like Gordon and Jamie. I get the impression she's just a real woman with a real family and real clothes who likes really good food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful recipes, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. L. Bark (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Rachel Allen book that I have purchased although I have been a fan of her cookery shows for a long time. I think the book has some very good recipes and good photos. I have tried some of the recipes and they were delicious!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars irish and continental, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Food for Living (Hardcover)
this book contains my favourite roast lamb recipe which i hav ecooked around 30 times. Thank you Rachel! it is clear she is a good teacher because the instructions are very clear and easy to follow. A reliable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars recipe I tried did not work, 1 Nov 2011
I really like Rachel Allen recipes, I find them tasty and easy to make. She is my favorite chef.
This book however was a disappointment. Did not like the way the index was organized, and one of the recipes I tried did not work at all page 193 Torta di cappuccino. It probably had the wrong amounts. I looked it up on the internet and unfortunately found out that other people had the same problem with this particular recipe. Pitty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rachel's Food for Living
Rachel's Food for Living by Rachel Allen (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews