Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are some real hidden gems in this book...
On the whole this is a good baby name book, crammed full of names from varying origins, and therefore suits every naming style. I don't think any parent will struggle to find the 'perfect' name in this book as there is something for everyone.

From a personal point of view, I was looking for a rare name for my impending arrival, but I still wanted a name with a...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by Bathsheba Everdene

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not designed for the UK reader
This book is comprehensive and you will undoubtedly find an appropriate name in here. The main drawback is that the roll-call of famous people with each name and the reasons to avoid certain names derive from an overwhelmingly American slant. It does not read easily for the British audience.
Published on 2 Dec 2007 by PR Baker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are some real hidden gems in this book..., 31 Aug 2007
By 
Bathsheba Everdene (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
On the whole this is a good baby name book, crammed full of names from varying origins, and therefore suits every naming style. I don't think any parent will struggle to find the 'perfect' name in this book as there is something for everyone.

From a personal point of view, I was looking for a rare name for my impending arrival, but I still wanted a name with a genuine origin/meaning as I'm not a fan of modern creations. I found some real gems in this book that matched my criteria perfectly.

My only gripe with the book, is that as it has been compiled by two American authors, there are many boy names which are labelled as being "unisex" which clearly are anything but. In America, it's very popular to use masculine names on girls, and that is clearly shown by the authors' suggesting that names such as Peter and Ian (!!) could be used on girls. It's a trend I think would be best avoided here in the UK and I hope very few people take notice of these laughable suggestions.

However, the "unisex" name thing aside, this is a good book full of naming ideas and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not designed for the UK reader, 2 Dec 2007
By 
PR Baker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
This book is comprehensive and you will undoubtedly find an appropriate name in here. The main drawback is that the roll-call of famous people with each name and the reasons to avoid certain names derive from an overwhelmingly American slant. It does not read easily for the British audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and makes a hard task more amusing, 10 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
Bought this when pregnant with my son.
Found it witty and liked the descriptions the authors had put beside the names.
May not be to everyones taste but made choosing a baby name a lot more amusing and had a good laugh the the obscure names and the comments made beside them.
Think it silly for anyone to get offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid if you're in the UK, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
No doubt a good selection of names are in this book. Unfortunately it's padded out with complete rubbish. Unless there's a chance you want to call your child Beige or Beelzebub (both of which are listed), get yourself a book with real names for real people.
The 2 authors also see fit to add their own reviews of individual names, some of which are downright insulting and definitely upset my 8 year old daughter when she looked throught the book with me.
As mentioned by another reviewer, it is more suited to an American reading audience, not UK. Unless, of course, you want to risk your child having a seriously hard time at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best baby name book by far, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
Love this book, it has an easy to read layout, witty comments about names, most importantly, loads of names! Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and useful, 16 Jun 2013
By 
C. G. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
A friend of ours had this book when we were both expecting, and we had an entertaining evening reading out some of the humorous comments the editors had put alongside some of the names. We bought it for a friend who was subsequently expecting. We are now expecting number 2, and not being able to borrow a copy, we're going to buy our own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best One Yet, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
best one yet i love so many different names absolutely fantastic i would highly recommend to anyone to buy this title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 12 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
really fab well laid out baby name book, loads of old and new modern names and meanings. good vfm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not (Paperback)
bought for a friend and she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brilliant Book of Baby Names: What's Best, What's Hot and What's Not
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews