Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Promise
It is 1805 and the Napoleonic Wars are raging. Trafalgar has been fought and won, but Austerlitz is soon to come. Fleets and armies, and overhead flights of dragons claw, spit and hurl fire in defence of their nations. Novik has created a real twist by combining fantasy with alternate history.

Throne of Jade continues the story of Captain Laurence and his...
Published on 15 Oct. 2010 by M. Hepworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brillaint
I loved the first book and couldn`t resist buying the second book but though it was still interesting it didn`t keep pace with the first of the seires.

I found the first half dragged out too much then the last half which was ment to be the big finale was not described in much detail and left you frustrated.

Still enjoyable and I have just bought the...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Kayrose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Continues the story, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
RHG (Norfolk. East Anglia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the idea of setting a fantasy (Dragon's) novel directly into a reasonably well documented period of History. A very good follow up to the birth of Temeraire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
Part of the best series of dragon-related Napoleonic war fantasy-historical epics i've ever read! If you get this one, you'd be mad to stop there. Black Powder war is even better, and Empire of Ivory is, 200 pages in, turning out to be just as cracking. Apparently Napoleon invades Britain in the 5th book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good Reading, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
brilliant great reading if your into dragons.
About a rare dragon that the Chinese want back and the sea captain doesn't want to give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating draconic drama, 16 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
I found this second story, `Throne of Jade' in the continuing series just as engrossing and fluid as the impressive first book, `Temeraire'. Indeed, all of the story elements familiar to Novik are here in abundance e.g. political wrangling between warring nations punctuated with immensely vivid and barbaric battle sequences, while the on-going development of the relationship between Laurence and Temeraire adds some much needed human drama to the well-plotted whole.

Despite some terrific set-pieces throughout however, I'd agree with a previous reviewer who has mentioned that the main bulk of the novel (that covers the journey to China by Laurence, Temeraire and their fellows) will undoubtedly cause some readers to grow restive, as the journey meanders along pleasingly, but is lacking in dramatic complication and revelation in story. Important clues as to the eventual outcome of the novel are provided along the way, but this section does nonetheless feel of unnecessary duration. But that really is only a minor criticism, because even then I was still just as hooked as ever and so that shouldn't deter anyone from picking up and enjoying this book with as much pleasure as the first.

The ending might be a little abrupt and the page-count still considerably less in comparison to other examples of the genre, but for me that's another part of the immense charm to these stories. I'd only deduct one star for the few instances in which character development is disappointingly sacrificed for no apparent reason- Novik will often conclude a chapter in dramatic fashion with a surprising revelation, but will then gloss-over these significant developments that I would really have been interested in knowing more about. But you can't have everything and when I read these books I'm more than appreciative of the unique characters, plots and heady historical atmosphere, so I can easily overlook some small imperfections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantasy, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
the person i bought it for tptally loves this series of dragons and fantasy as feels as if he is that world when he reads it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
anyone who likes dragons alt history all of Novik books are very good reads flows well draws you into it cant put book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Naomi's work and how she implements dragons into the past, can't wait to start the next book! Strongly recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
daughter absolutely loved reading this series of books many thanks she also brought the other 2 in this series thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Temeraire books and have the whole series, once you read one you are hooked. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic example of Dragon based story telling, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the characters Lawrence and Temerera are so real and cant wait till I can order the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2)
Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) by Naomi Novik (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews