Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Promise
It is 1805 and the Napoleonic Wars are raging. Trafalgar has been fought and won, but Austerlitz is soon to come. Fleets and armies, and overhead flights of dragons claw, spit and hurl fire in defence of their nations. Novik has created a real twist by combining fantasy with alternate history.

Throne of Jade continues the story of Captain Laurence and his...
Published on 15 Oct. 2010 by M. Hepworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brillaint
I loved the first book and couldn`t resist buying the second book but though it was still interesting it didn`t keep pace with the first of the seires.

I found the first half dragged out too much then the last half which was ment to be the big finale was not described in much detail and left you frustrated.

Still enjoyable and I have just bought the...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Kayrose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fantasy, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
the person i bought it for tptally loves this series of dragons and fantasy as feels as if he is that world when he reads it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Naomi's work and how she implements dragons into the past, can't wait to start the next book! Strongly recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
daughter absolutely loved reading this series of books many thanks she also brought the other 2 in this series thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good Reading, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
brilliant great reading if your into dragons.
About a rare dragon that the Chinese want back and the sea captain doesn't want to give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic example of Dragon based story telling, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the characters Lawrence and Temerera are so real and cant wait till I can order the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brillaint, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
I loved the first book and couldn`t resist buying the second book but though it was still interesting it didn`t keep pace with the first of the seires.

I found the first half dragged out too much then the last half which was ment to be the big finale was not described in much detail and left you frustrated.

Still enjoyable and I have just bought the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Temeraire books and have the whole series, once you read one you are hooked. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cancellation, 11 Mar. 2012
OK, first off, these books are awesome, not to be knocked. However, having attempted to buy Black Powder War (Kindle Edition) and discovered I have accidentally tried to buy Throne Of Jade (Kindle Edition), I am appalled to find that there seems to be no way to cancel a kindle order. Does anyone know a way around this? Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Continues the story, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
RHG (Norfolk. East Anglia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the idea of setting a fantasy (Dragon's) novel directly into a reasonably well documented period of History. A very good follow up to the birth of Temeraire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace from the first book but still an engrossing read, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) (Paperback)
In the second of the Temeraire series, Novik widens the scenario from the first book. The Chinese want Temeraire back and eventually, if reluctantly, agree that Laurence can accompany him to China. En route, there are assassination attempts on board the transport ship, and storms to contend with - both physical and emotional.

I love Temeraire and really like what Novik does in this book. Admittedly, we miss the other dragons and their captains, but to compensate there are interesting developments in the relationship between Temeraire and Laurence when they arrive in China.

If you're looking for something action-packed and fast-paced then this may disappoint. Much of the interest comes from the interaction of the characters, not least the political machinations and the confrontation between English and Chinese.

Temeraire's education into what it means to be a dragon in China is done very well, and his maturation leads to some nice interplay with Laurence.

So this is a slower book, in lots of ways, than the first but I still found it completely engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2)
Temeraire: The Throne of Jade (Temeraire series book 2) by Naomi Novik (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews