Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review # 61
With 60 other reviews here, I doubt anyone will wade through them to read this, but if you have, then it's appreciated.
Why I took the time to write this is because the 'Slash' is one of the best rock 'n' roll books you will ever read. And if you've got a 'must-read' list of books for your life, then this one should be added.
And it's not one of those large type...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Alan Burridge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a life of excess by a great musician
Rightly praised as a reasonably intelligent rock autobiography this is an authoritative account of the excess, hedonism, drugs, booze and sex antics and eventual demise of Guns 'n Roses, one of the better bands to emerge from the LA metal scene in the late 1980s. Slash tells his story in a fairly matter of fact style, but the theme throughout is the early friendship,...
Published on 25 Jan. 2011 by Neil Kernohan


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov. 2007
By 
G. Jennings (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I couldn't put this book down and read it in two days.Ive been a BIG fan of Guns n'Roses since I was a kid because they were the REAL deal,Living on the street,penniless, and trying to make a life for themselves.Thats what made Appetite one of the best hard rock albums ever.Because the songs are about real people and real life.
I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book., 25 May 2008
By 
L. L. Beddall (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I am a fan of GnR and was looking forward to reading this book and I was not disappointed. It appears to be an honest account of Slash's life and in my opinion he comes across as modest, intelligent and grounded. He gives a frank account of his addictions, his love of music and we are left knowing exactly what he thinks of Axl Rose (albeit written in a way that cannot be deemed as slanderous). Highly recommended for any fan of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent I read it in 2 days, 26 Jun. 2008
I loved the way this book was written.

It was so easy to read and better than any movie I seen.

It's a must for any GNR fan as almost the whole book is a GNR Fan wet dream.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guitar God Explained (with a bit of golf thrown in!), 1 Jan. 2008
By 
L. C. Gillard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been waiting 20 years to find the answers to why Slash is such a legend: this book didn't disappoint! I couldn't put it down, it has travelled everywhere with me!

Want to know how to be a true rock star? Read about the golf club...rock n roll at it's best!! I cried laughing!

If you loved Motley Crue's 'The Dirt', this is a sure fire winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why It's not an original copy???, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I dont like it because its not an original copy.

I got my package today and when i saw this book, I couldnt believe in my eyes.

Every pages has maden from cheap papers(Even the book cover, theres just a paper not a jacket.) and all of the photos are b&w.

You broke my heart amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the best autoboig of a rock star ever. Slash has an amazing story to tell. Reads like a gritty death bed confession. But he's not a miserable sinner so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but ultimately totally forgetful, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A talented guitarist and a debauched life are not enough to lift this book out of mediocrity. There is only so much self inflicted drug abuse a reader can take!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slash and the GnR days, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Ricardo Lopes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This book is a real cool reading and gives you a good insight of the band's story, where they came from and what they achieved. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally an autobiography that explains what happened with Guns N Roses and Slash and I never realised he was such a party animal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slash: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Great book and very entertaining from start to finish. Slash is a well detailed autobiography and a great read. Awsome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slash: The Autobiography
Slash: The Autobiography by Slash (Paperback - 5 May 2008)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews