Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final showdown?
In this fifth book in the series, the author departs once and for all from a path that did once run parallel in a way to the Napoleonic Wars that we know from history, as Napoleon invades England, and the corps is called on to work with the army and the militia to try and force him back across the Channel.

Will Laurence has never been a light-hearted character,...
Published on 8 Nov 2008 by Deborah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire: Victory of Eagles
The first few books in the series were great, and volume four seemed to be a peak. This fifth installment is perhaps not as good, but still enjoyable and interesting. The war finally hits England, and Lawrence and Temeraire struggle through their own difficulties during the melee. We see a lot of the dragons here as Temeraire makes some headway with fighting for dragon...
Published on 3 Sep 2008 by David Brookes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars History revised at its best, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A continuous duration of the Temeraire series, this time set in the UK. Political manoeuvring and interesting references to the anti-slavery league. Well paced story, difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Temeraire novel, 22 April 2013
As of yesterday, I have read the first six books in this series and am waiting for the seventh to come out in paperback. Overall, I liked them very much, but I think this is the best one. All the books are well writen, all pay great attention to the period detail, all have interesting, well-drawn characters, the right amount of humor and intriguing plots. I myself am not a really big fan of detailed descriptions of battles, with which the series is certainly well endowed, but this is a matter of personal preference. Anyway, this one has all these things and also an added emotional depth, because the main character Lawrence, goes on a spiritual journey, which begins by a crisis of conscience and ends with him reaching a very deep level of emotional maturity and acceptance of himself and the world around him.

Initially, I was very surprised with the reviews that complained about an absence of plot in this novel, since all these books are somewhat episodic in nature; but perhaps the plot only seemed to be a bit thin compared to the previous ones, some of which (Black Powder War, for example) had enough plot for two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a must read if you have read the others. Excellently written by a brilliant author, I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book so far of the series, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading many negative reviews of this book, I almost left the series before reading it. I'm glad I didn't. This book really is outstanding, all the characters are introduced or expanded upon brilliantly, and the book is filled with action as well as the more political aspects of the story. I'm interested to see if It can get any better in the next book - I'm going to to download it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Temeraire, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Temeraire books and have the whole series, once you read one you are hooked. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, terrible editing, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The earlier books in this series roughly follow historical events, albeit with dragons adding an extra dimension to the battles. There are some deviances from history, but they tend to be fairly minor. The blurb for this one, however, makes it clear that it deviates significantly from history, as Napoleon invades Britain.

I wasn't sure that I would enjoy this one, since I liked the close matching of history, but Empire of Ivory: Bk. 4 (Temeraire 4) was left on a cliff-hanger, and I wanted to know what happened. I needn't have worried - the story is excellent, possibly the best in the series so far. It's exciting and well told, and the historical figures that appear (notably Arthur Wellesley, later Duke of Wellington) appear to be accurately portrayed.

The story easily warranted at least four, and probably five stars. I've only given it three because of the lack of editing and proof-reading in the Kindle edition. I noted in my review of Empire of Ivory that the standard of editing and proof-reading was not up to par, but I think it may have been even worse in Victory of Eagles.

Ms Novik's work deserves to be shown in a much better light than this. The errors that I found are listed here: [...] At least some of them are also present in the paperback edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Great series of books - I have read the first six and cannot wait for the next one to come out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High five for Novik, 14 Dec 2010
By 
The main protagonists in Novik's series include a rare, highly prized Celestial dragon, called Temeraire, who was snatched from a French ship as an egg. His handler, Laurence, was destined for a distinguished naval career - until he accidentally happened to be present when Temeraire hatched and was chosen by the dragon to be his companion. Together they have experienced a variety of adventures in different surroundings with plenty of fighting - both set-piece battles and skirmishes - and both characters have become ever closer and more aware of each other. In this fifth book, Novik does it again. She gives her fans yet another completely different twist to the ongoing tale - a feat not always successfully achieved by multi-book authors.

As the story rolls over almost without a break from the previous books, I recommend that you read them all before embarking on this latest volume, which will be a joy if you haven't yet encountered this very popular series.

While not as high-flown or wordy, Novik does nod in the direction of the more effusive manner of the 18th century style of writing. I am aware that this has hampered the enjoyment of at least one would-be fan, but I personally find the style eminently in keeping with atmosphere Novik has engendered.

In amongst the swash-buckling action, Novik has some interesting themes running through her work. Temeraire, as a Celestial dragon, is highly intelligent and capable of fluently speaking a number of languages, reading and writing. However, he is officially regarded as a piece of military equipment by the English authorities, who are much slower than Napoleon or the Chinese to give their dragons any kind of special consideration. Novik interweaves this strand with the anti-slavery arguments of the day - with Temeraire discussing the issue with Wilberforce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually my fave yet, 22 Sep 2010
Despite a few flaws, such as the grand battle being so short changed and others that have in truth been present all series if we are honest, this is actually my favourite Tem book yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great dragon book, 30 May 2010
By 
Mark E. Cooper "Fantasybooks" (STANFORD-LE-HOPE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great read. I can't wait for book 6 called The Tongues of Serpents The Tongues of Serpents (Temeraire 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victory of Eagles (The Temeraire Series, Book 5) (Temeraire 5)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews