Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Father's Hurin
This is a tale of unrelenting tragedy. Drawn from the history of the First Age of Middle-earth, it tells of how Morgoth, the original Dark Lord to whom Sauron was but a lieutenant, wreaked appalling vengeance upon the family of the man Hurin, chiefly for his refusal to betray a great hidden city of the elves who were his allies. Readers acquainted with the story from a...
Published on 24 Aug 2008 by Edward Waters

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Tolkien Completists, but New Readers Should not Start Here
This book is hard going. Compare the writing here with Tolkien's masterpiece "The Lord of the Rings" or with his wonderfully accessible "The Hobbit" and you will be very disappointed. This is not surprising as this is not a book Tolkien published. Instead, as detailed in the preface, the book has been brought together from Tolkiens noted with a minimum of editorial input,...
Published on 31 July 2009 by Sir Furboy


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tolkein, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Hardcover)
I am a very big tolkein fan having read the hobbit and lord of the rings twice. I was diasappointed with the book as were other tolkein fans that I leant it to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Hurin (Paperback)
A good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth reading if you are a Tolkien fan, ideally there would also be a map of Beleriand included as will make it easier to navigate. If you've read all the lost tales much will already be familiar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to be compared with Lord of the Rings, 28 April 2008
By 
Big Bad Bill "Big Bad Bill" (Somwhere on the Celtic Fringe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Paperback)
I feel that some of the publicity surrounding this book is misleading. Children of Hurin is not a proper novel in the sense that the Lord of the Rings volumes or the Hobbit are. It is written to read more like a traditional legend. As such it lacks all the fleshing out of the characters etc, and detail of events etc that you would expect in a fully developed novel. However it is readable. I do question how much it really adds to the events we know from the completed stories. This book is set in an earlier age and the only real similarity is that there are men, dwarves, elves and orcs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely beautiful book. Shipping was fast, packaged great, and overall just a fantastic read. I cant wait to get more books to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a Tolkien, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Paperback)
No much to say, another great book from J.R.R.Tolkien. A excellent quality book. Must to have and read if you are a fun of the stories of middle earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J R R Tolkien., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Hardcover)
yET AGAIN ANOTHER GIFT FOR MY SON, WHO IS AN AVID FAN AND COLLECTOR OF PRETTY MUCH ANYTHING BY TOLKIEN.THE QUALITY OF THIS BOOK UNREAL.TOPNOTCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Paperback)
I came late to being a Tolkien fan, but, am making up for it now! Great book and it arrived in perfect condition!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Children of Húrin, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Paperback)
Bought this book as a birthday present for my son in law, he loved it, and the price was right too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Author ever strikes again!, 18 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Hardcover)
Thank you Christopher Tolkien for giving this work of art to the world. The book is a classic Tolkien novel. I had missed his unique writing style so much, I had to go back to old works of his to satisfy my hunger. Now, The Childern of Hurin, this long expected novel, has come to offer relief to my spirit and soul. Its a great story, a fantastic book, all Tolkien fans will love and respect. Its got everything you want and even more. It wont dissapoint you in any way. I just received it a couple of days ago and couldn't stop reading. Didn't want to stop reading. I just finished it, and now I'm gonna re-read it to understant it better. So, everyone, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Children of Húrin
The Children of Húrin by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews