Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, insightful, funny and moving
Just finished madness. A really gripping read, just as when reading Wasted (MH's first bosk), I found myself awake at 3.30 am with the book and my mini-bright light under the duvet reading like a teenager.

In reading Madness I got a sense of excitement, and a little trepidation as the time-line got closer to the present as the narrative really drew me in...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by Marcus Paine

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read
I have read 'Wasted' numerous times and for me 'Madness...' falls a bit short. I *loved* Mayra's writing in Wasted, but somehow Madness seemed rather contrived... I can't quite put my finger on it. It wasn't just that it was an uncomfortable read, which it absolutely and unsurprisingly was, it just wasn't as well written I didn't think. Perhaps partly because it covered...
Published on 16 April 2009 by Holly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sad, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Madness: A Bipolar Life (Paperback)
MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN DIGNOSED WITH BIPOLAR AND I WANTED TO KNOW HOW HE IS FEELING AND WHAT IT IS LIKE TO LIVE WITH IT ,AND I FEEL VERY SAD FOR ANYONE WHO IS GOING THROUGH AN EPISODE ,THIS BOOK IS a very good read and would recommend it to anyone if they know someone who suffers with bipolar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOT ON, 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: Madness: A Bipolar Life (CD-ROM)
This book is a must read for anyone suffering from bi-polar illness,(you really are not alone out there after all!)Such a well written and brilliant account from an obviously brilliant mind.The mental health professionals should be made to study this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing but annoying!, 10 July 2009
I am 3/4 of the way through this book and it took me a while to get into. Marya really takes you into the mind of a bipolar sufferer, quite horrifying at times. However, I did get a bit annoyed at her constant torpedoing of others' efforts to help her, therapists, parents, etc. She went on drinking regardless, ignoring all warnings. Though I am aware this is just one symptom of the manic phase. And she always had safety nets, whether parents or boyfriends/husbands, to catch her when she fell. Never seemed to be short of money either. How many bipolar sufferers out there end up on the streets as they have no such safety nets? She never seemed to be very appreciative! So a good book but self-indulgent and self-absorbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness: A Bipolar Life (Paperback)
This book can be described in 1 word - AMAZING! I have never read anything like it ... for all the pain and sadness in this book, there is so much heartfelt humour and ever word made total sense! I wish i had a packet of post-it-notes with me while reading and marked pages for my husband and family to read, because the emotions within the book are so real that im amazed she managed to put them down in words! Not only is the book a must read for people with bipolar or touched by the illness, but i honestly feel the more people not touched with mental illnesses who read this type of book, the better society will deal with this illness that has (lately) been given a label (with celebs) of glamour and that popping pills, or coming off them for a bit of time in rehab is cool!! believe me, it isnt.. and this truthful book would shame any of these people!
Buy this book, read it and keep it to pass onto friends, family and work mates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Madness: A Bipolar Life (Paperback)
With out long rivers of words, I will just say that from all the books I have read on this topic, this one is far the best.
Marya is a brilliant and gifted writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an utterly exhausting read, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Madness: A Bipolar Life (Paperback)
This book is stuffed to the gills with unimportant trivial details and but has no real depth.

I think if Hornbacher had had the courage to give control of her story to a more talented writer this book could have been exceptional.

As it is, she comes across as an obnoxious egomaniac who's fortunate enough to be surrounded by a network of people willing to help her out of countless jams and to pay those horrific medical bills. But who are they? They're simply wraiths flitting through Marya's story when needed and disappearing when they're no longer of use to her.

People are always titillated by the chance to get a peek into a mad life. They get no more than a superficial peek with this book. However, Marya has compiled tons of helpful information on the illness for people to reference if they so wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memoirs of a garden variety mad alcoholic, 9 Feb 2009
This is the second book I have read by Hornbacher, the first being Wasted which, while harrowing, was real and understandable having been a young woman and a bit mad myself. Madness, on the other hand, is an unnecessary and vain continuation. While Wasted details life experiences few endure, Madness describes the standard frustrations, confusions, and instability of a mad self-centered alkie progressing from a young person into an adult. The self doubts and confusions Hornbacher feels are no different to those felt by hundreds of other young women - go to any AA meeting and you will hear similar stories, only maybe from poorer people and those with less family support who, without the crutch of family and money, would not have survived the self inflicted 'breakdowns' that Hornbacher is allowed to repeatedly indulge in.

Her story here really is not unique, not at all. The drinking, the madness, the losing time, the moving, the relationships - they are all standard fare for any mad alcoholic! The difference between Hornbacher and most, however, is most fully admit they ignored advice and were aware they were not looking after themselves. Hornbacher seems a bit too keen to put those responsibilities back on to the 'professionals', which results in the reader losing sympathy for her very early on. One also wonders why this woman does not take care of herself, and why she still channels such large sums of money into the professinals - therapy and the like. Perhaps Hornbacher should get a standard office job and live in the real world for a while to put her at times petty whining into perspective.

One wonders what next for Hornbacher? After all, this is an author who has her success based on madness, instability, and crisis management. Having accepted the diagnosis of bipolar, understanding the importance of abstaining from alcohol, and generally looking after herself, one thinks this must be the last 'chapter' in her memoirs. If that doesn't make the author off the deep end I don't know what will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madness: A Bipolar Life
Madness: A Bipolar Life by Marya Hornbacher (Paperback - 16 April 2009)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews