Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restaurant Quality Recipes
This is a really splendid book and the recipes tried so far have been great. The recipes are straightforward to follow, with interesting and well-judged flavour combinations turning out restaurant quality food that's hearty and deeply delicious. I prefer books by cooks instead of TV chefs generally - the latter don't often create anything I would want to cook and I feel...
Published on 26 Nov. 2008 by L. A. Ellett Iolite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very exciting!!
Nice book. but unfortunately not very practical. I cooked the chicken with dumplings and frankly it was insipid and boring. Not sure how this could be as I know Richard Corrigan is a well respected chef. He does wax lyrical in a very Irish way which is nice but I would prefer if the recipes were a bit more appetising.
Published 4 months ago by Rhona Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restaurant Quality Recipes, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
This is a really splendid book and the recipes tried so far have been great. The recipes are straightforward to follow, with interesting and well-judged flavour combinations turning out restaurant quality food that's hearty and deeply delicious. I prefer books by cooks instead of TV chefs generally - the latter don't often create anything I would want to cook and I feel let down by some books where there is style above substance. Richard Corrigan's book is quite different - this is the stylish fare of oyster bars and gentlemans clubs - but with an Irish twist and some unexpected pairings of flavours, seemingly simple but sooo clever. As an amateur cook & slow cooking fan - the book has inspired me to try new ingredients and techniques - which is proving a fun exploration - trying new cuts of meat, varieties of fish etc. We especially enjoyed the pork chops with apricot sage & honey, the oyster stout rarebit, colcannon soup and the awesome heritage apple pudding. I notice from his restaurant website that recipes in the book appear on the menu - I look forward to visiting his restaurant soon to compare my attempts with the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just about recipes - just a book you'd love to read, 10 Jan. 2009
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
I started buying cookbooks 15-20 years ago after I discovered the pleasure in good food writing that Nigel Slater's 'Real Cooking' brought. But I must admit that for the last few years I'd gone completely off buying cookbooks - finding them a bit 'all the same'.

I was bought Richard's book as a present this Christmas, and honestly, I have read the whole thing from cover to cover. It's as much an entertaining story of where his passion for food has come from as a recipe book. But as you read you can almost feel yourself soaking up the knowledge about food on every page at the same time as enjoying the story - superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp Eye on Traditional Values, 15 Nov. 2008
By 
Ian Henderson "Sharp Eye" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
This is a cracking book in which Richard Corrigan brings the value of strong and simple cooking back down to earth. Praise be! Here's someone who's prepared to reach back in time to show us how to find and prepare great food. It resonated with me. As did the accompanying photographs. I had to search a bit to find the name, but Kristin Peres, who's stunningly simple and evocative photographs capture Corrigan's philosophy so brilliantly, has helped Corrigan create a classic book that will outlast all recent popular recipe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encourage Mr. Corrigan, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Stephen D'ARCY "trappist" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
"The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food" sums up top Irish chef Richard Corrigan's attitude to food in general, and life in a wider context.

His happy, self-sufficient Irish farmhouse upbringing gave him the building blocks for the treatment of food in his restaurants in Dublin and London. (As someone fortunate enough to eat at his new restaurant, Corrigan's in Mayfair, in December 2008, I can report it is a triumph of simple food prepared, cooked and served extremely well, without fuss at very reasonable prices.)

Another cook book in a field already overladen with the genre? Yes, and thank you for it! It is as much philosophy as recipes, well-illustrated with grainy photos; a book which will give pleasure both to the cook and the comsumer who is more interested in consumption than preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure delight, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
I adore this book. Richard Corrigan gave us a wonderful insight of his life in food. From the very beginning at home on the family's small farm there wasn't much money to spare but they ate like Kings, he took this principal when he started in the food industry and still practices it today. Everything fresh from the sea or soil. Cooked in the simplest way and to be eaten with great joy. He writes in a wonderfully lyrical way. No wonder he is one of the finest restaurateurs in Great Britain today. The recipes are easily translated into the average kitchen and the photographs are exquisite. It was a total pleasure to read and to cook from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clatter of Forks and Spoons, 23 April 2009
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
I was inspired to buy this book after having a fantastic lunch at his restaurant, Bentleys, in Dublin.

The recipes are not always easy but are certainly accurate (unlike many other books) and produce delicious food.

It contains much on his views on food and its provenance and is beautifully photographed throughout.

Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling book, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
T Collins "Collins" (Stirling) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
Richard Corrigan is a master and this book is not just a set of recipes, it is a brilliant read. He explains the roots of his attitude to food - rural Ireland - and he celebrates it. Glorious pictures, and some fantastic ideas too for food which is realisable in a domestic kitchen. Undoubtedly one of the best cookery books of 2008 and, I believe, one of the finest of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very exciting!!, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
Nice book. but unfortunately not very practical. I cooked the chicken with dumplings and frankly it was insipid and boring. Not sure how this could be as I know Richard Corrigan is a well respected chef. He does wax lyrical in a very Irish way which is nice but I would prefer if the recipes were a bit more appetising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Th clutter of Forks and Spoons, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
I rate this cookbook 5 stars. Clearly the chef Richard Corrigan brings such a great passion and an awesome commitment to his work. It's a love affair with simplicity honouring where our food comes from. It's a bedside reading book for me and very hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Clatter of Forks and Spoons, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
M. D. Leith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food (Hardcover)
A lovely book! So much in it, and an interesting read as well. Recipes look good, but it's just before Christmas, so will read 'after the port!', and try some in the new year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food
The Clatter of Forks and Spoons: Honest, Happy Food by Richard Corrigan (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2008)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews