Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILDLIFE OF KENYA, TANZANIA AND UGANDA 2006
This small book with 248 pages deals with photography in the first few pages. Explains lenses you need, cameras, exposure,lighting and posture to take pictures of moving subjects. Covers over 475 commonly-seen species including birds, mammals, reptiles, invertebrates and plants. Each species is illustrated with a full-colour photograph and features a detailed description...
Published on 2 Dec 2007 by Dr S. S. Nagi

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but a bit of a lightweight
This provides an outline of of wildlife in East Africa, mainly covering birds and mammals (150 pages and 70 pages respectively out of 250 in all), with a few pages each (just a token gesture, really) on trees, reptiles, insects and flowers. Nothing on fishes or marine life (useful if you're visiting Zanzibar). Useful to have a book that covers everything in a single...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Barry Sandell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kenya Wildlife - very good, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Colin Grimshaw "hob samba" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Very good reference book , for good identification of mammals in particular in Kenya and many birds, except one eagle and heron species.
Nice pictures, good to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Took this book on safari to Kenya and found it extremely useful. Good clear photos and descriptions and a manageable size to take out and about and comply with tight weight allowances.
Useful section on wildlife photography too.
Emphasis mainly on birds and mammals so would have liked a few more insects, reptiles and amphibians perhaps.
Also, I did find it quite difficult to identify some of the birds when out and about as you needed to know what 'family' you were looking for whereas if they had been entered in some kind of size and colour order it would have made it much easier.
All in all though a great little book and good value for money. Recommended for taking out on game drives and bird walks for those who want a quick, basic guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Identification essential reading, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this book to identify some animals & birds seen on and photographed on safari in Kenya. Excellant book to identify and explain about what we had seen. I only wished I had bought it before we went on holiday. Good price for some amazing photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Wildlife guide for safari goers!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
This book was invaluable whilst on safari!! It is an excellent compact size and has most of the animals and birds you see whilst travelling around kenya and other countries nearby. We found it very easy to navigate and the colour photos of the amimals and birds were extremely useful. The only thing this book didnt help with was spotting the animals!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small but great photos, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
It's a useful book, if a little small, although I admit the potential subject matter is vast and so even a book ten times its size could not be comprehensive. Photographic advice is aimed at the beginner/amateur and I found some parts of it over-simplistic, but on the whole it was very useful and some of the photos are stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 May 2014
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
I ordered this before I went on Safari to Kenya visiting 4 parks. Had agood read before leaving and had this with me every day when out, a good guide with great pictures, easy to idenitfy all the birds and mammals that I saw. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to carry and use, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
I needed an easy guide to carry on my African travels. This book is adequate for me, small and lots of easy to see photos of both birds,animals and the odd flower and tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as it sounds, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Was expecting a travel guide, this is NOT a travel guide but rather a species identification and fact guide. As that is is great!! Just falsley named:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, wealth of information in a compact book, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
I took this on a week's safari in Tanzania and found it an invaluable source for bird identification, whilst not exhaustive for all the birds, it covers the majority of those seen and was a very useful source of information. The sections on mammals and reptiles were equally good although there is very limited information on the flora, really just the most common trees etc. It is compact and not heavy so easily portable. Most of the photos for identification are clear with good colour replication although the lack of photos of birds in flight makes identification of birds seen only in flight more difficult. It lacks the sections on footprint and 'droppings' recognition of the Pocket guide to mammals of East Africa which I also took but was quick and easy to use. I think it is well worth buying for this sort of holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
This is exactly what we wanted. It arrived promptly too. Thank you very much am sure we will enjoy our trip away more now we have this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide)
Wildlife of Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda (Traveller's Guide) by Martin Withers (Paperback - 3 Jan 2007)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews