Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos visitors essential, 9 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Just returned from the Galpagos. Half the visitors in my group had this book. It is small, well organised and covers all wildlife you will encounter (apart from fish, and you are bound to snorkel, and the Godwit bird) together with useful sections on the geology and, most importantly, the sites and walks you will be taken to by your guide.
This book is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos, 27 Mar 2009
By 
D. McCarthy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
This is the book that our guide in the Galapogos used. I am no wildlife expert and I found I was easily able to identify the birds and animals I saw using this book. Only wish I had bought it before I traveled. This book cost $45US on the ship and $35US locally. I suggest you buy from Amazon before you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy reference guide to the Galapagos wild life, 21 Sep 2009
By 
R. Zakrzewski (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
We found this book very helpful, particularly in conjunction with our guide's comments. We could check up on the wildlife he had described, which helped us to remember and to label our photos more or less correctly. On the whole the illustrations were very good and the layout clear. Unfortunately it doesn't include fish, so snorkellers need another reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos wildlife, 13 Jun 2010
By 
P. Myers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
A very informative and helpful guide, providing a detailed and thorough manual of most of the wildlife to be seen, plus additional, relevant information about the conservation process, taking photos etc. The one major omission (albeit not in this guide's brief) is the absence of a section on the fish etc. seen on typical trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best guidebook on galapagos, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Having lived in the Galapagos most of my life, I wish I'd had this book while growing up, exploring the islands and guiding early visitors. The photographs are clear, the book well designed for easy identification and the text shows that the authors have a deep respect and understanding of the islands. If you don't get around to buying this book to take with you....buy it in mainland Ecuador or out in the Galapagos, only don't go without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos wildlife, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
This book by Collins is a must if you are travelling to the Galapagos Islands. It is packed with very good advice on what to expect on each of the very different Islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and compact enough to pack and take., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
One or two species commonly seen not listed, and some illustrations picture only the male of the species, when the female is quite different, and the text does not mention this. (Darwins finches). Not all tourist paths mentioned, but those listed were excellent. Cruise ship National Park Guides (mandatory for all excursions) fill in the gaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your holiday, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
This book was so useful. We travelled with a naturalist but it was not always easy to remember all he said. The book along with personal photos is an ideal way to recall our experiences. Interestingly it was selling in the Galapagos for around $45!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
Slightly slow in delivery but the book is super. Excellent guide to the islands and the wild life. A must if you are going, as I am in two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive well written book, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) (Paperback)
A great book and marvellous for spotting wildlife coupled with some background about the islands themselves and the way they formed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide)
Wildlife of the Galapagos (Traveller's Guide) by David Hosking (Paperback - 3 Jan 2007)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews