Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's called 'Where Demons Dare' in the UK!
Great book, great series - but don't get confused thinking you've missed a book (like I did) as this is an alternative name (US?) for 'Where Demons Dare' #6 in the Hollows series.

Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6)
Published on 8 May 2010 by Kelley Townley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mmm just doesn't work for me
Well, I love Karen Chance and Patricia Briggs and Carrie Vaughn is great as filler though a little unsatisfying so was hoping I might like this series. But I'm afraid I just cant get into it. It may be that I started with book 6 rather than book 1 (it was a gift) but it just doesn't work for me. I tried re-reading it again last night thinking I might just need to give...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by lyra


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, 7 July 2008
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6) (Paperback)
The latest book by Kim Harrison which fans around the world has had fans waiting for what feels like an age. However what will cause some concern is that depending where you're getting it from will depend upon the title to which it will have which will cause no end of confusion as fans chat about the events upon different message boards.

As you've come to expect from Kim's writing its witty, classy and a book that concentrates upon the characterisation and interaction of the principle protagonista and her Investagative Posse. Addictive, fun and above all a story that will amuse not only the fans but open darker doors for which we can only speculate as to how much trouble Rachel is going to wonder into in later novels. However one thing I would say to readers is, if this is your first KH book, don't, whilst it is the newest you will lose out on a whole host of adventure as well as plot points by having missed out the earlier tales. You could read it as a new reader but to do so would ruin the opportunity of reading the earlier novels as certain plot points are gently placed within this book's pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same book as Where Deamons Dare, 23 Jan. 2009
By 
Emmelina Audigier (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For people colecting these books it is worth noting that if you get this expecting a new story it is the same book as WHERE DEAMONS DARE. Very good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a warning to Kim Harrison fans, 20 May 2009
By 
E. J. Waters "Emmsie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is actually the US import of Where Demons Dare so if you already have that don't buy this!Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, and thats a good thing!, 9 April 2008
By 
V. Sweeney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6) (Paperback)
Well here we are, Rachel Morgan book 6 already. If you have read the previous books in the series you should know what to expect by now and this will not disappoint her fans.

Several months have passed since the end of the previous book and our plucky heroine is still trying to come to terms with all that happened back then. It's nearly Halloween and out on a shopping trip with her mother Rachael is attacked by her old enemy 'Al' who should of been locked away in Demon prison with no hope of release. Escaping Al with the help of an unexpected ally she learns someone is summoning Al every night and leaving him unbound and free to kill her as the Demons reward. Rachael must find out who before one of Al's attacks succeed.

Personally I thought Book 5 (For a Few Demons More) even though it was the darkest novel so far, it was also the best in the series uptil now. Where Demons Dare does not have the same impact the previous book did mainly because this one concentrates a lot more on the resolution of the many issues Rachaels was left with back then rather than the "threat to our heroine" plotline. Most of the earlier novels are fairly evenly split between the action / soap-opera sections, this one feels more about the character development.

This isn't neccassarily a bad thing as Kim Harrison writes about all the character interactions very well and the interpersonal relationships between all the characters is one of the best points of the series. The loss of her boyfriend(s) and how she moves on, her relationship with Ivy, dealing with the dark magic she has had to use and a number of suprising revalations dealing with Trent and their parents - these actually seem to be the main plot threads that are handled in this book.

As has been typical in the series so far certain plot-threads will continue on into the next book or two. Now that many of Rachaels personal problem are resolved (to a greater of lesser extent) at the end of this novel, here's hoping these see her returning back to usual ass-kicking self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why, 22 May 2011
By 
Maxine (DONCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i would like to know why kindle edition books are so expensive? this particular book is more expensive than a paperback copy - obviously publishing in e-format is much cheaper - why the price gouging? amazon makes more than enough profit without this - please check the relative prices before you commit to paying far more than is reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6)
Where Demons Dare (Rachel Morgan 6) by Kim Harrison (Paperback - 1 April 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews