Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's certainly not slipping, not a bit!
This is the 5th book in a series I strongly recommend you read in order, both because of the personality development that takes place across the books, and because old, presumed solved, issues raise their ugly heads in later books and it won't be half as much fun. The first four are 'Dead Witch Walking', 'The Good, The Bad and The Undead', 'Every Which Way But Dead', 'A...
Published on 4 Mar 2007 by J. L. Ashurst

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, but is it a guys book?
I finished "For a Few Demons More" by Kim Harrison today. In it her main character has to deal with the consequences of what happened in the previous book in the series. In the previous book, Rachel Morgan (Harrison's main character) hid a charmed item called a "focus" (which could give the group that possesses it great power) from various groups of demons, vampires,...
Published on 28 Nov 2007 by J. Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's certainly not slipping, not a bit!, 4 Mar 2007
By 
J. L. Ashurst (Crewe, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
This is the 5th book in a series I strongly recommend you read in order, both because of the personality development that takes place across the books, and because old, presumed solved, issues raise their ugly heads in later books and it won't be half as much fun. The first four are 'Dead Witch Walking', 'The Good, The Bad and The Undead', 'Every Which Way But Dead', 'A Fistful of Charms' and now, of course, 'For A Few Demons More'.

Rachel Morgan started out going 'on the run' in the first book and despite soon physically settling in one place, she's still running. She lives in a society where humans are frightened of tomatoes because a genetically modified strain killed many of 'us' off, thereby making every supernatural creature unable to hide in the mass of humanity anymore. So you have everything, vampires, demons, pixies, werewolves and so on - collectively known as 'Inderlanders'. Rachel is one too, because Witches aren't just talented or learned humans, they're as otherworldly as vampires and perhaps because they aren't as obvious, trusted the less for it.

Rachel started out as a kind of supernatural policewoman, a 'runner', making sure humans aren't preyed upon (unless they want to be) and generally trying to keep the supernatural species from each other's throats. I don't like giving away plot developments, so look away here if you've not read the first book - she quickly loses this job, and sets up on her own with a not-quite-vampire (she was born that way, and has to die to become a vampire), Ivy.

What drove me to write this review - apart from the fact that she's keeping me hooked into book 5 - is that the paperback edition I have says on the front 'action packed chicklit with a supernatural twist' - the Times. I could kick the person who wrote that in the knee. Chicklit? Yes, Rachel ends up with boyfriend troubles, but the books don't revolve around them, nor do they revolve around the fact that Ivy, apart from being her friend, partner and housemate (churchmate?), is gay and in love with Rachel. These books have created a now highly detailed alternative society, just slightly skewed from our own, and Rachel is trying to survive in it and keep the people she cares about alive. If that's chick-lit, then so was Lord of the Rings! (I exaggerate for effect, in case you're wondering).

They're adult books, because sex does come into it, but Harrison uses sex as just one part of the plot, not THE plot, as Laurell K Hamilton's later books began to do.

This book is darker than the previous four. Rachel has been constantly getting in over her head ever since the 1st book, but up until now she's managed to just about squeak her way out of everything that's happened. I can't tell you more without giving away the plot, but Harrison is deepening her characters, as she has done all the way along - and this book ends with a shock, for us and for Rachel. I can't wait for the next.

Comparisons are invidious, but we all do it. I think Jim Butcher's 'Dresden Files' are brilliant, and though his and Harrison's worlds are different, they are both in the same sub-genre - and no-one would call Butcher's books 'chick lit'! So if you went off Laurell K Hamilton because it became sex sex sex, Harrison is for you - she's a much more imaginative writer.

Also, if you like fantasy of any stripe, even if you've not tried 'set in the "present" day' fantasy, try 'Dead Witch Walking'. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Never Enough--More, Please!, 18 April 2007
By 
K. Montgomery (Columbus, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
In many ways, Rachel Morgan's problems come full circle in this fifth installment of the Hallows series. With enemies drawing closer than they ever have before, her palette of choices is fast becoming slim to none. In one power play after the next, Rachel's about to fall behind enemy lines, instead of the one step ahead we've been seeing.

It's back to Cincinnati after her desperate attempt to save her pixie partner's son and her ex-boyfriend, Nick. Rachel harbors a rather nasty curse trapped in a bone prison, the focus, which threatens to twist the realities of Weres and vampires alike, both of wom squabble over it like children. With Trent vying for it, someone killing for it and our favorite demon Al lusting after it, Rachel once again has to find a way to undo another problem forced upon her. As the delicate balance between her and Ivy begins to come to a roiling boil, it's all the earth witch can do to stay this side of good, acceptable magic. With her special blood and desire to help others though, it's near impossible for her to deflect the trouble that comes looking for her with a vengeance. Unable to unload the focus on just anyone, she'll have to decide who's the best choice...and none of them are looking particularly stellar.

The first of Harrison's series to be offered in hardback, it's a worthy installment for it, tipping the scales even further towards excellent. For a Few Demons More wraps up some of the problems that Rachel has been having over the course of the other books while of course unraveling others even further. Trent comes back into play and it's a totally different side of him than readers have read before. Ceri, the powerful ex-demon familiar, shows Rachel just how much she respects her and Rachel's pack mate David takes on a major role. The demon Newt is back and we get some interesting information and insights into that character too, though whether they help or hinder the outlook on Newt is the reader's choice. Ivy's dilemma with Piscary is excruciatingly dealt with and it was a struggle at certain points to get past the powerful emotions Harrison has written surrounding Ivy and Rachel. As always, Harrison manages to insert a shocking twist, one I never saw coming, involving Rachel and another of her closest friends. For a Few Demons More is inundated with its fair share of pain, angst and utter despair and readers most certainly may feel closer to Rachel than ever before because of it. It's not without it's glimmer of hope though and some very interesting new characters are introduced that I hope will continue to make appearances in the next book, most notably a mysterious organization of demon practitioners and Dr. Ford Miller, a psychiatrist for the FIB (Federal Inderlander Bureau, the human division to deal with Inderlanders). In the end, as much as Rachel has had to deal with, she's never appeared stronger to me. As always, the once-a-year release of Harrison's Hallows series just can't come fast enough and I only hope that there will be many, many more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural action: a really witchy romp, 4 April 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
Kim Harrison's series about Rachel Morgan is leaping along, and this volume is probably the best of the bunch.

It's set in an alternative universe where fairies, vampire, werewolves and witches have come out from the shadows and exist in uneasy harmony with humanity.

Rachel is a witch -- and like all good modern heroines she is feisty and up for it (whether it is a spot of fisticuffs or frolics between the sheets). Her supporting cast includes a female vampire flatmate (who's a lot in love with Rachel but that love is unrequited -- maybe!); a frisky pixie and his entire family; a werewolf who choose Rachel to be his pack alpha; a vampire boyfriend, a human ex-boyfriend thief, an evil (maybe) elf; a good (maybe) elf, and a bunch of demons who are all out for her blood.

The series have really broadened and developed in the five books, and it is clear that there is plenty of Rachel's history which has yet to be revealed.

This genre is a tricky one to manage. It's part soap-opera and part supernatural thriller. I have given up on a few other series because they end up being excuses for soft-porn or childish girly fantasies. Kim Harrison doesn't make that mistake and so far she's balancing the demands of plot and character in a believable yet fantastic universe very well.

It's not flawless, which is why it doesn't get the 5-star rating. Kim tends to find a favourite phrase ('pity party' or 'my blood pressure spiked') and rely on it too much. She deserves better editing to make her prose flow without such interruptions to the reader's concentration.

But otherwise this is a thoroughly enjoyable, entertaining and uplifting book. You need to read the others in the series first (and they get better, so if you're not keen on the first one then try the second as well before you opt out).

If Kim Harrison can keep up the tension, keep Rachel's soul in the grey zone and always in danger, keep the sexuality as part of the thrill but not the focus of the story, then she'll keep me as a reader.

Recommended -- from age 14 to 40 and beyond...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional punch, 16 Jun 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
The fifth entry in Kim Harrison's series about Rachel Morgan and the Hollows. I would say that this book is easily the best since book two - the action kicked off literally from page one and there were enough plot twists, complications, heart-pounding sex scenes, arguments, comedy moments and terror to keep the pages turning at a vigorous pace!

Here Rachel realises that the focus isn't quite as securely hidden as she originally thought - she wakes to find herself being possessed by scary mad demon Newt, who seems to be searching for the focus. This, alongside the murder of various Weres, starts a plot that takes Rachel to some very dark places.

This was the first of the books that caused me outright emotional turmoil, caused by events surrounding two characters. One of these was Trent - I had been enjoying the enigma of the elf, who has done some seriously naughty things but was becoming a character that seemed to mean well. This was all thrown on its head during this book, where we see the depraved levels that Trent is capable of, which disappointed me. I liked him as a character prior to this, but now find myself feeling about him in the same way as Nick. I did love his first meeting with Ceri, though, something that has been coming for the past couple of books. Quen's reaction to Ceri was also lovely, and I'm glad I can still see Quen as the honourable warrior.

The second character to suffer in this book was Kisten. I LOVED Kisten, and found myself very upset by the resolution that Harrison introduced to his story. I don't want to say anything more, for fear of major spoilers, but I am keen to see how it plays out over the next book(s).

I am also a little scared by the fact that Harrison keeps introducing the idea of how indispensable Jenks is to Rachel, but also shows his son taking over more and more duties, and keeps emphasising how old Jenks actually is. Also, Matalina spent most of this book off-stage ill, and I hate the thought of these two lively characters being missing from future books.

By the end of the book, Rachel has openly dealt with demons and seen the people of Cincinnati develop prejudices against her for it. She's interrupted Trent's wedding to Ellasbeth spectacularly. She has been invited to join a demon cult. She's had a taste of what life might be like with Ivy on a more permanent basis. Altogether, this was an action-packed and exciting book and was possibly my favourite so far, since I really enjoyed the new emotional punch Harrison added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witches and Demons, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
Rachel and the gang are busy investigating a case concerning several dead bodies that appear to be Were suicides in this book. This is all weaved in along side Rachel's usual headaches involving Trent and the demons -- neither of whom seem to ever leave her alone, much to her chagrin. The action is fast from the get go, which made a nice change as Harrison tends to build slowly to a crescendo with a lot of action in the second and third acts -- but not here. Her writing has improved exponentially.

We see a lot more of David in this book, which was nice and there's new characters introduced -- I particularly liked Minias. He's a demon and an interesting one, not surprisingly. We also see more from Newt and get the answer on his/her gender!

The book rounds off nicely with certain more long term plot lines having been finished and closed for good as well as there being set up for future books at work as well. I was kind of disappointed as to how Trent was written in this book, he seemed different to how he'd been in more recent books. Although any page time for him is welcome as far as I'm concerned; it's just a shame there had to be two steps forward and five back for him here. I welcomed more from Ceri.

Rachel herself experiences what tv tropes would deem 'a crowning moment of awesome' in 'For a Few Demons More'. It occurs nearer the latter half of the book and I just cheered her on even though I adored the character she was about to make life miserable for. Her actions reminded me of the Rachel of the first few books and it helped me to remember how truly awesome she was -- I'd forgotten what with the annoying blood balance angst and general stupidity that had plagued her character lately. But no, the Rachel who rode the bus in her bridesmaid dress ready to kick butt was the Rachel that had disappeared for a while. I'm glad she's back.

Overall, one of the best books so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting impatiently......, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Pookie (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
...for the 6th book! So far this series has been absolutely riveting. I bought the first volume "Dead witch walking" on impulse in my local bookstore,and was hooked.

This series is a fantastic romp through an alternative earth, where a mutated virus has killed off half of the "pure" humans, leaving them on a roughly equal footing with witches, vampires, werewolves, elves, pixies and demons. Would you want to owe a demon a favour? They can be sooo devious when it comes to the fine details.....

Rachel Morgan is a very believeable character with her own quirks (she's a witch) and problems (the series begins with her trying to avoid being killed by assassins sent by her previous employer), yet she still tries her best to help those around her- whether she thinks they deserve it or not!

Her interaction with her two business partners- a female vampire and a pixie- are nothing short of brilliant. At times they seem to know Rachel better than she does herself- and have no qualms about telling her so. She also manages to upset the non-human branch of the local law-enforcement with great regularity, and often through no real fault of her own...she just does what she feels is "right"

I've made a point of pre-ordering the next book- just so that I get my hands on it as soon as possible, and woe betide anyone who bothers me before I've finished it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book, but is it a guys book?, 28 Nov 2007
By 
J. Bowen "Jamie Bowen" (Hampstead London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
I finished "For a Few Demons More" by Kim Harrison today. In it her main character has to deal with the consequences of what happened in the previous book in the series. In the previous book, Rachel Morgan (Harrison's main character) hid a charmed item called a "focus" (which could give the group that possesses it great power) from various groups of demons, vampires, weres, elves, pixies and the like. In this book, people start dying, so Morgan naturally assumes that someone might be looking for the "focus."

It wasn't a bad book, it certainly rattled along at decent rate, but there was a lot of "back story" that Harrison made reference too, so I'm inclined to wonder what someone who didn't start the series at the first book would think of the series.

In addition, while I like the series, I've found that it's classified as "chick lit" in England, which might explain why I haven't really clicked with the series as much as I would have liked (given that I generally like horror-cum-fantasy books).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in series so far, 25 Sep 2007
This review is from: For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) (Paperback)
Much better than the last book, because it's got quite a bit of yummy Trent in this one and the scenes with Rachel and him are just hilarious, especially the one at the wedding. No great loss in the other male interest department. Two main characters got written out and thank goodness for that. About time! This book is easily the best in the series so far and will be difficult to top. You will need to have read the others first though to appreciate it fully, this being the fifth in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good series, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this series and loved getting to know the characters - good series - easy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rollercoaster all the way, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read every one in the series so far and, happily, unlike your average film series, they just get better every time. It was a rollercoaster, especially towards the end and I had a lump in my throat and held my breath, losing sleep to find out how it would end. To call this"chic lit" is an extreme disservice to Miss Harrison. They are well crafted, funny, poignant, thought-provoking and, most important, an extremely good read. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5)
For A Few Demons More (Rachel Morgan 5) by Kim Harrison (Paperback - 19 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews