Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Eye - Stuart MacBride
I've been counting down the days to the release of the next book in the DS Logan McRae series and it's been worth it. Dark, gritty, fantastic characterisation with humour that despite the horrors going on make you laugh out loud.
Once again this is fast paced but the plot flows so smoothly and is so well written that MacBride makes it all seem so effortless.
Set...
Published on 10 May 2009 by S. Lloyd

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jumping the shark?
I enjoyed Macbride's previous novels, but for me this is a disorganised mess that got perilously close to `jumping the shark' (for those unfamiliar with the term, it means an outrageous plot sequence that removes all credibility from subsequent offerings). Macbride needs to reign himself in, and get back to the basics that were so good in earlier novels.

The...
Published on 13 July 2009 by bloodsimple


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish Gem, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. M. Kozak (Sainte Valiere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
Guys, read everything from Stuart Macbride, he is so worth it!
Fresh, rolling story and very humourous! Tears of laughter all the way long!
So go on and buy them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch., 23 Mar 2010
THe fifth McRae book I have read and this one did not disappoint me. Again set in Aberdeen we have someone removing eyes and burning the sockets...gruesome! People beaten up, arson, gun running, maybe a rotten apple in the Aberdeen Police Force barrel, East European Mafia, a paedophile, porno movie making etc. There are lots of little side stories to keep you going as McRae and Co investigate the eye mutilations, even a trip to Poland where McRae still can't keep out of trouble. The usual repartee between McRae and DI Steel which at times is hysterical as in the other 4 books. Consequently the story rockets along at supersonic speed, jumping from one disaster to another. Towards the end I was dismayed to think that McRae was heading straight downhill on a self destruct course, although he seems to pull up just short at the end. The only bit I did not like was the trick that McRae pulled on an unknowing DI Steel at the end with the er...sample!... not nice and not necessary Mr. MacBride. I hope that in their next book he tells her before....!! Page turning, unputdownable...yes I thought so and I look forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacked!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
T. Wilson (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book - in fact the whole series - is fantastic! DS McRae and DI Steel are a modern-day Morse and Lewis. Steel has got to be one of the best female characters around - the verbal description of her hitching up her grey bra strap and digging fag-ash out of her cleavage is hysterical ..... then the sub-plot when she starts trying to get McRae to supply a pot of semen for her and her wife in order for them to become parents - unbelievable :o)

The actual story though is gruesome, but Mc Rae shows a human side - he is just a person doing a nasty job that has to be done. Not a book if you're squeamish, but if you like really good, well-written, investigative stories with a large dose of comedy then this - or any of the others - are definitely for you!

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Well ... He's definitely unhinged. No sane person uses so many exclamation marks.', 8 Dec 2009
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
Someone is preying on Aberdeen's growing Polish community. Men are found abandoned, barely alive, on building sites with their eyes gouged out and the sockets burned. Threatening letters arriving at police headquarters make it clear that the attacks will continue.

The victims are too scared to talk to police, and the only witness is a paedophile on the run. Grampian Police are not making much progress in capturing the offender they have tagged Oedipus. There is another big case happening at the same time (involving firearms) and Detective Sergeant Logan (`Lazarus' or `Laz') McRae has his hands full. McRae is also hoping for a promotion: one of the Detective Inspectors is about to retire, and catching Oedipus could only enhance his chances.

This is an interesting, and at times brutal, police procedural. There is plenty of action, mostly in Aberdeen but also in Poland. There are also some juicy red herrings, some fascinating personal challenges (especially for DS McRae and Detective Inspector Roberta Steel). This is not a novel for the squeamish, but it does have some delightful humour.

I am reading this series out of order, and this is my first exposure to DS McRae and his superior officer, DI Roberta Steel. It won't be the last: these are characters worth exploring and I'll be tracking down the earlier four novels.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Eye, 10 July 2009
By 
Jack Fletcher (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
An excellent book. As always MacBride writes with a mixture of extreme brutality and humour. His characters are believable and realistic, although D.I. Steele pushes the boundary of what would be allowed in today's modern police force. After all, pushing a suspects head into a toilet bowl and flushing is a form of water-boarding; even if many readers would agree with what she did.

I look forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MACBRIDE Blind Eye, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
4th in the Logan series and getting predicable if still a good read

It's never the first to be arrested
New complex girl friend
Again trying to become a second Chris Brookmyre but not as inventive with the bloodlust

Still could not put down and most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 19 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
I loved this and all previous Stuart MacBride books. I would recommend them to anyone. I also enjoy the banter between him and Inspector Steel. I have to admit to cringing at some of the gorier parts of the book, the mental images they conjured up were not pleasant. Looking forward to the next book, if for no other reason than to find out if DI Steel gets her wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another exciting read from Stuart McBride., 18 Jun 2009
By 
Judith Ann Freeman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
Wow, McBride has done it again with another fast read.Truely unputdownable as are all his books.DI Steele's attempts to stop swearing are hilarious (that is if you're not one of those people who blackout swear words in library books)The storyline is topical and of course Grampian Police get their man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best yet, 8 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of Mr McBride since his first book , but didn't think he could top the gore in Flesh House. I was wrong. This is truly his best yet and even taking Logan McRae out of Aberdeen doesn't take away from the story. It nips along at a terrific pace.As for Roberta Steele,what a woman!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLIND EYE by STUART MACBRIDE, 25 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye (Hardcover)
This is Stuart Macbride's best book todate, all have been brilliant but this has the edge. Steel and Logan make a good team, so good that Steel desperately wants her wife to become pregnant by Logan, as you can guess Logan is not so keen. Chasing criminals around Aberdeen and Poland this is action packed with gruesome eye gouging and a gripping storyline of gang rivalry and prostitution - Macbride at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye
Logan McRae (5) - Blind Eye by Stuart MacBride (Hardcover - 30 April 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews