Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just sushi!
What a great book! I've been looking for a basic Japanese cookbook and this really delivers. It teaches not only the fundamentals of sushi making (and no, it's not all raw fish), but also gives great recipes for cooked dishes, rice and noodle dishes. It really is food you could serve to anyone. If you want to challenge yourself to proper sushi making, the step by step...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Amy White

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ok but
its ok but only some of recipes have pictures of what they are so i have to go on internet to find out what they are so i might as well just used the internet in the first place making the book pointless
Published 16 months ago by londonguy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 July 2010
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
I love sushi but new to the cooking side.
This book has great recipies and is well designed so that even sushi virgins like myself an make something which is edible.
I would recommend this book to beginners, but i am not sure how the more experience would find it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YO Sushi, 16 May 2011
By 
Mrs. L. Fry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
Very interesting cookbook. A lot cheaper to buy with Amazon than in the shops, arrived quickly and in excellent condition. Brought 1 for myself and 1 for my daughter's birthday present. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book. We use it all the, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
great book. We use it all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, 12 Sep 2013
One of 3 sushi books I own. This gives a good overview of how to best prepare sushi, however seems very aimed at beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appealing recipes, clear instructions, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
This book demystifies complicated looking dishes making them achievable for people to make at home. The instructions are clear, with good photos to help you make beautiful sushi - with practice! Our first few tries were messy but fun (and the results were no less delicious). It's become a lot easier after a few tries.

There are loads of recipes in the book; not just variations on sushi, but also a very good mix of vegetable, fish, meat, noodle, rice and sweet dishes too. Recommended highly for someone with an interest in food - and patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yo! Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook., 19 Dec 2010
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
I really love Yo! Sushi, and now I can make the same great food at home. Great for beginners and pros alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid cover!, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
Since I bought this as a Christmas present, it has not yet been studied in detail or used. However, it arrived quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dusty, 6 April 2010
By 
Lisa M. Tonge "book junkie" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
The book looks fab arrived promptly and in excellent condidtion and unfortunatley is in the same condidtion as i have never used it (see allso the review for the Sushi Preparation Set).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yo sushi is not Japanese food., 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a book from Yo Sushi. Yo Sushi is not Japanese food and would become bankrupt very quickly if they ever tried to operate a business in Japan. Remember this is teaching food from Yo Sushi who is cashing in on some creative "Japanese" style. It is not teaching you about food from Japan. How many Japanese do you see in Yo Sushi? None or no repeat customers. If you did see? well are you sure they are Japanese? This is typical for most highsteet "Japanese" restaurants worldwide though and very typical of one coming from the UK. So think about what you are buying from. This is like mcdonalds level food charged at much higher prices. ( Even mcdonalds is cheaper in Japan as is consider so much closer to rubbish or junk).
If you are really are interested in Japanese food, at least look for another book or go to a genuine Japanese restaurant worldwide run by Japanese ( in the UK though that would mean a trip to London - as none of the Chain UK "Japanese" restaurants or provincial "Japanese" restaurants which are usually run by Chinese (they may have a some token temporary Japanese workers) would even dare open in Japan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook
YO Sushi: The Japanese Cookbook by Kimiko Barber (Paperback - 3 Sep 2007)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews