Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
I think this might well be Mr Slater's best book. Not only are the recipes wonderful but the book is a pleasure to read. Slater has the knack of being able to make one's mouth water just by reading a recipe and his directions are easy and precise where they need to be. In addition, the book itself is beautiful with a cloth spine, expensive-feeling paper and the...
Published on 5 Oct 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange format.
Sadly very poor quality pictures in a slightly disjointed book that needs time to get used to. Good receipies, but the book could have been put together better. Still like Nigel though!!
Published 9 months ago by Lomaxman


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 5 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
I think this might well be Mr Slater's best book. Not only are the recipes wonderful but the book is a pleasure to read. Slater has the knack of being able to make one's mouth water just by reading a recipe and his directions are easy and precise where they need to be. In addition, the book itself is beautiful with a cloth spine, expensive-feeling paper and the photography is luscious. It would make a wonderful gift for a foodie. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


181 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already own some Nigel and want to know if this is worth it?, 20 Mar 2006
By 
kymara - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
I'd like to add a review for those of you who are already familiar with Nigel Slater, perhaps own some of his books and wondering if this is 'different' enough from the others to buy. I was in that situation and bought it anyway and I'd like to reassure you that it is well worth it.
The recipes are wonderful - they retain his usual style of home-cooking combining comfort with flair - and there are many new ones in there which inspire me, even though I've already tried many of his other recipes.
The chronological postings are a significant difference from previous books, and a great idea. Just now I can flick through recipes from March, say, which reflect the current weather and available foods. For Valentines day I actually followed both his recipe suggestions from that day, and wonderful they were too. In particular if you're looking for a book with gentle ideas concerning a full menu, this does just that, as on days when Nigel's entertaining (or just greedy!), he'll cook two or three courses, and these give you an instant idea of what goes with what.
Another great aspect is that it combines structured recipes with fragments or ideas of a meal or snack - similar to some of the 'Ideas' in 'Real Fast Food.' So some day's entries have a recipe with full instructions, others are more along the lines of 'I forgot to buy anything for dinner - bag of chips with a beer tonight, then.' This is one of the things which for me makes it great bedtime reading, if perhaps a little heavy to hold up!
In conclusion, Nigel's presented us a new set of recipes, different enough from his old ones to make the book worth buying, but with the same qualities. The day-to-day friendliness of the diary format also has a purpose, which is that you can easily find a menu to fit the current season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 13 Oct 2005
By 
R DIXON (Blackheath, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
You could read this simply as a "non-cookery" book such is Nigel's writing. Once again, he has the knack more than any other food writing I know of getting you hungry! Certainly confirms him as my favourite food writer. This will always be a great one to dig into to find out what might be in season throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Amazon Stars and Three Michelin Stars for this book., 20 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
Diaries are personal, often intimate, evocative and absorbing. Nigel Slaters book is all of these and more. Much more than a cookery book this takes us on an intimate journey through the year covering the the ordinary mundane daily requirements of preparing food for ourselves and others but also sparkling with ideas and innovation. The food descriptions are central but alongside runs a dialogue between the author and the the reader who grow to share not only a love of food but also an understanding of culinary needs that are ever changing with the seasons and with personal moods. This is not a glossy super-chef offering of gaudy 'impressive' and flamboyant cookong. It is an insight into the man, his life, his beliefs about food and cooking. A real triumph!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius. My kind of cook., 28 Nov 2012
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries: A Year in the Kitchen (Paperback)
I've just bought Kitchen Diaries (2005) and Kitchen Diaries II (2012). Nigel Slater is my kind of cook as his recipes are straight-forward, easy to understand, and generally use ingredients that are either already in our cupboards, fridges and freezers, or readily available to most of us. I suppose I fell in love with Nigel's cookery skills by watching his television programmes. He has such a relaxed way about him, such an ordinary way of speaking to the viewer, such a no-nonsense approach to cooking, that he convinced me absolutely that 'I can do that'. Which actually remains to be seen, of course. His Kitchen Diaries are like that. They are far more than just recipe books. They are, as they state, diaries. The narrative from the author, Nigel Slater, is almost poetic with descriptions of his garden, the plants, the weather, the shops that he frequents, the produce that he so loves. You can sit and happily read these books as if they were simply delightful novels that paint vivid pictures with words. They are treasures to be cherished. Really.

As sometimes is the case with writers publishing a second book, the recipes are not, in this case, a repetition of the first book with a few changes and really just ripping off the buyer. The paper quality is very good in both books, as are the plentiful coloured photographs (by Jonathan Lovekin) of the dishes. There is not, however, one photograph per recipe which might disappoint some but this doesn't really matter to me as Nigel's instructions are so very clear and there are so many recipes to enjoy that I don't think it would have been feasible to have a photo for each one. If I were to have one tiny complaint it is that the photographs have no caption so you have to match the recipe to the image, but the recipe is not far away and generally it is quite obvious at a glance. Nigel Slater has divided his book up into months although not necessarily one recipe for each day of the month, and there is an index at the back too if you are looking for a recipe that uses a particular ingredient.

The 2005 book has 400 pages and the 2012 book has 544 pages in all. With regard to the 2005 book, I bought the paperback (for the sake of economy) and my 2012 book is the hardback version which has a nice satin ribbon for keeping one's place in the book. Both were at a great discount through Amazon. When I went to purchase them the older book in the hardback version was actually a lot more expensive than the hardback of the 2012 book and I don't mind owning paperback books at all, especially quality ones.

I hope my review helps you make your decision. For me, both versions, 2005 and 2012, are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 20 Nov 2005
By 
Rja Price (MO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
As a hardened food lover, and lover of books to boot, Nigel Slater and his Kitchen Diaries are a pleasure to own and use. I find it very dissapointing by some of the opinions raised above. The photography makes this a worthy purchase alone, even if you're not 'into' cooking. The photos here and within are truly beautiful, and compliment the brilliantly written text perfectly. Even if you're not intending to cook the some 300+ recipies, the book makes a great read. Its almost makes you feel like you're getting back to homely comforts and warm fires! The book itself feels wonderful, with a black hard canvas spine set off with a glorious picture of fresh apples - reminscent of apple pie, just like you might have had when you were a child... Please, do not be put off by the above, this book is a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than it seems!, 8 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
I bought this book when it was so reduced I couldn't resist it. A great admirer of Slater, I had looked at it and thought it over-priced, wordy, self-indulgent, poorly presented, and of little practical value. Indeed, a week after buying it I had decided to throw it out!
I don't know what changed my mind, but I'm very glad I did. This is a goldmine of wonderful hints towards great food. There are little stories of what's in season, pointers to menus, food for friends, and hundreds of flexible ideas on producing meals around a main ingredient. As to the type of food, it's typical Slater and typically British - covering every cuisine under the sun with style, panache, and no pretentions.
The book would have won 5 stars, but it is over-conscious of the message, far too long, and the "realistic" photos are a mistake. Once you grasp the knack of looking for the bold text in the margin, however, it is transformed into a very valuable addition to the kitchen arsenal. I like it more every time I use it.
If you want cooking prescriptions with lots of useless pictures, stick to the glossies from TV "chefs". Otherwise, consider Slater's book an essential purchase - at any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
This is another fantastic book by Nigel Slater. Almost all days of the year are covered by what he ate and how he prepared it. The book is a great insight into what chefs actually eat on a daily basis which I guess now is all about seasonal eating. A really good book which you will use all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and beautiful, 7 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
Absolutely beautiful book with fantastic pictures. A really good layout and contains some really excellent recipes that are for every day and special occasions. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, readable, recipe feast., 13 April 2007
By 
J. B. Chapman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kitchen Diaries (Hardcover)
Part biography, part lifestyle tome, part recipe book, somehow, out of this tangle of concepts, a gem has emerged. The prose offers insights into the way NS thinks, following on from his autobiography "Toast", and is written in such an engaging and thoughtful way that it is almost enough to buy this book on the writing alone. Almost. The rest of the reason for a justified recommendation is for the recipe ideas. Unusually, these are actually the dishes that Nigel served up for himself and his visitors, rather than being carefully crafted, food-porn visuals, dinner party fayre. The simplicity and purity of flavour that most encompass is inspirational, the food is firmly rooted in the seasons, and provides a handy hints source if you are suddenly called upon to knock up a quick dinner for guests. It is just a shame that one of the most usable cook-books (in every sense) isn't easier to keep open on the kitchen counter top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa20e8a5c)

This product

The Kitchen Diaries: A Year in the Kitchen
The Kitchen Diaries: A Year in the Kitchen by Nigel Slater (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
Used & New from: 4.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews