Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unknown Classic
This stuff goes under the listing of "things most people don't know Tolkien wrote," along with things like "On Fairy Stories," "Bilbo's Last Song" and the charming bedtime story "Roverandum." It's a good collection of Tolkien's lesser-known material, including some cute short stories and poems.
In this slim volume is: "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," a collection of...
Published on 24 Jan 2004 by N. M. D. Lancaster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great
I'm a big fan of tolkien, but I wasn't sure about these stories. They were alright, but for short stories, they took a long time to get anywhere. I think this is more to do with personal taste than the quality of the writing, because I love lots of description in books and novels, but not in short stories, I prefer them to be a bit more blunt and to the point. Worth a...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Larewen Evenstar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J. R. R. Tolkien - Tales from the Perilous Realm | Review, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Tales from the Perilous Realm is a beautiful collection of some of Tolkien's finest but most obscure works, illustrated (in my copy, at least) by Alan Lee. Lee also worked with the Tolkien estate on The Children of Húrin, which was edited by Tolkien's youngest son Christopher, and I was impressed by that as well.

Here, five of Tolkien's short stories are gathered together alongside an essay of his On Fairy-Stories - despite being an essay, it's highly readable and a fascinating insight in to both the way that Tolkien's mind worked and the secret history of the fairy tale. You'd be surprised at what is, and what isn't, a fairy tale, for example.

In fact, this entire collection is very easy-to-read and surprisingly enlightening - I'll admit that I struggled through The Lord of the Rings, and I often found it tedious when Tolkien went off on a tangent. Here, he's lucid, entertaining and ready to please children and adults alike with his wonderful words.

In particular, be sure to check out Roverandom, the first story in the collection and possibly the finest. It tells you the story of an adventurous dog who's magicked away on an adventure after biting the leg of a crochety old wizard - along the way, he meets the Man on the Moon and his dog, discovers an underwater kingdom where the wizard has been appointed 'PAM' (Pacific-Atlantic Magician), and learns that 'Rover' is a pretty common name, for a dog.

Farmer Giles of Ham is also pretty epic, a story about a simple farmer who ends up battling giants and dragons to save his honour - it ends happily, and I'm pretty sure it contains a moral, although I'm not sure what that moral might be. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil follows, but it's not as good as you might expect - it's written in verse, and grows tedious after the first thirty pages.

Smith of Wootton Major and Leaf By Niggle round out the collection, and though they're both strong stories, they're not as strong as the others. Still, they're the finishing touches on a killer arsenal that will make you fall in love with Tolkien all over again, a book that's easily enjoyed by anyone, whether they're a fantasy reader or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farmer Giles of Ham, 5 Jan 2014
Farmer Giles of Ham is a tale about an ordinary farmer who, through a series of seemingly random events, becomes a mighty hero and ruler. Along the way he befriends a dragon, who appears as a villain through the early parts of the book.

Though the story is quite short and so can not be compared with Tolkein's longer works, it is still a griping and action packed story.

While this is not a classic Tolkien, I found it to be an engaging story nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master Fantasist, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know these stories were for the young but I am still reading them when not so young. You can't beat Tolkien he started my imagination and thousands of others have enjoyed these stories - hopefully we olders ones will make sure the young ones are given the same opportunity, forever. The underlying stories of good/evil and hardwork winning are here for all to read. Spoil yourselves and read them to your grandchildren - it will bring benefits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work of fiction!, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book of short works by Tolkien! Would recommend to all fans of The Lord of the Rings and Hobbit books. Very interesting lecture about faerie stories at the end of the book which is taken from his research and knowledge as an English professor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Tolkien as the master of contemporary fairy tales, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Hadourien68 (Langen (Hessen), Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This handy, cheap collection of Tolkien's fairy tales is a must for everybody who enjoyed the writer's humourous vein of The Hobbit's fame, as well as for Middle-Earth completists. But there's enough there for fans of epic fantasy too, thus for more traditional Tolkien fans, especially because of the hobbit poems from the Tom Bombadil book.
Farmer Giles of Ham is a delicious satirical fairy tale about a farmer who unwillingly, but wittingly becomes a hero of the land by luck and cunning. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil is pure Middle Earth lore, as it presents itself as a collection of hobbit poems about Tom Bombadil and many other subjects. More than the poems themselves, the entertainment value rests on the volume being made as a scholarly anthology of poetry. The introduction to Adventures is especially merciless, often stating the simple and derivative nature of the poems, written in some cases by no less than Bilbo, Frodo or Sam Gamgee, that fans of Lord Of The Rings will devour with almost religious fervour.
Leaf By Niggle is the most poetic, allegorical of the bunch. Almost kafkian at some point, it turns into a touching defense of art and literature, as well as of the simple, common-sense based nature Tolkien praised and satirised so often in other cases.
Smith Of Wootton Major is the most traditional of these modern fairy tales and the perfect ending to the collection.
This book is a bit uneven, but overall absolutely charming and very pleasant to read. On the plus side is also its being perfectly suited for children, because there are all sides of human nature here, but the tone is definitely all-ages, and everything is fairly (and fairy-ly) presented.
In closing, a mention of honour to the book's introduction, which is an extract of a 1939 lecture he gave.
In there, Tolkien the scholar poetically gives you the reason why fairy tales are also cautionary tales and tales of beauty, that speak to the heart more than to the mind, and must thus not be questioned too deeply (in the cold logical sense or in everyday pettiness), lest the magic be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great, 4 April 2010
I'm a big fan of tolkien, but I wasn't sure about these stories. They were alright, but for short stories, they took a long time to get anywhere. I think this is more to do with personal taste than the quality of the writing, because I love lots of description in books and novels, but not in short stories, I prefer them to be a bit more blunt and to the point. Worth a read anyway, but I wouldn't say this is the best of tolkien's work.

But it is a lovely collection, and any fantasy or Tolkien fan should give it a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it... must have!!, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Sera Dalli (Malta - Europe) - See all my reviews
The stories and the illustrations are wonderful! I recommend anyone who love books and who's a collector like me to buy this book and face it... it's Tolkien and illustrated by Alan Lee... it's ACES!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Perilous Realm, 14 May 2004
By A Customer
Great read! The humourous side of JRR Tolkien not many people are familiar with unless they have read 'The Hobbit'; as this book was written with much enthusiasm when Tolkien wrote 'The Hobbit'.
Classic literary work that should be read by everyone, even though one is not a Tolkien fan. Highly recommended for people of all ages as an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of wonderful, short but affective tales., 14 Jan 2004
'Tales from the Perilous Realm' is a magnificent collection of children's tales. Containing four short stories called: 'Farmer Giles Of Ham', 'The Adventures Of Tom Bombadil', 'Leaf By Niggle' and 'Smith Of Wootton Major', it is yet again one of the most enthralling books you'll ever read. Also, close to the greatness of 'The Hobbit'. The Book proves that JRR Tolkien is still number one. Sorry, Pullman. If not already, go and buy it, now. Now, go on then don't just sit there. GO NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Am a Tolkien Fan, 1 July 2014
By 
Mr. JW Mowat (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So a chance to read more of his wondrous works, I have already y read The Hobbit, The Silmarillion, The Tales of Tom Bombadil and of course TLOTR's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from the Perilous Realm
Tales from the Perilous Realm by J. R. R. Tolkien (Audio CD - 10 Jun 2010)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews