Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream publication - Sheer quality
This publication just oozes quality from the high definition colour photography to the research and layout. I have several reference books relating to British trees and this one stands tall above all the others. The number of quality colour photographs is staggering.

If you are seeking a complete reference this book does exactly what it says on the cover, if I...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Colin Riddell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Cannot See The Wood for The Trees
It is my fault. The book is good but it has not given me the results I wanted - yet.
A basic way of identifying a tree is by looking at a leaf from each specimen. This is darned obvious in spring or summer (when the leaves are out on every tree) but in autumn and winter it is a tad harder with the deciduous variety. I wanted to be able to walk past a tree and think,...
Published 11 months ago by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carried everywhere, 28 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
On a list of books requested by my son, who studying tree surgery, is keen to read anything relating to trees and their habitats. Collins Complete Guide to British Trees, although not a mini book, is carried everywhere by my son. He finds it a reliable resource for identifying trees. Extensive photos of trees, with bark, leaf and seeds, aids the arborist to gain all round knowledge of British trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Guide, 11 Sept. 2010
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I've got a number of tree books and this one beats them all for its thoroughness. The masses of photos allow you to see the subtle differences in leaves, bark and overall appearance of similar trees that is often lost with illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Info on British Trees, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I read some great reviews on this book before I bought it and I'm not disappointed.
Easy to read, good size to take out and about, photos are perfect and the layout is well thought through.

I was also impressed by the speed of delivery and quality of this nearly new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reference source for the need to know now!, 26 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. Brown (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
A comprehensive and easy to use little book that is likely to become indispensable on country walks/rambles/anytime you need to identify a tree. Pictures are clear, well labelled and supplementary information is concise and readily assimable. Great Book - get one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trees trees trees!, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I purchased this book to try and learn the tree species we have in Britain to further broaden my outdoor/bushcraft/mountain knowledge, and after trying from other books and internet sources i was starting to grow frustrated with the lack of detail much of it had. But then, after reading other reviews, i thought id give this book a go, and wow! sooo much easier to digest and learn from than anything else iv used. Straight away i went to a large wooded area near-by and soon began identifying the trees that surrounded me from the great detailed photos and written descriptions of what i should be looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great horticulture book, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
Tracey Mcevoy (South Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this for my partner as we have an open fire and go 'logging' quite often. It has been a real help in identifying the trees and is very in depth. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tree guide I have ever read., 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
Contains both common and scientific names with descriptions of all the basic information you need e.g. Bark, Branches,Leaves and fruits which aid in identification. Good pictures showing bark,leaves and fruits also help identify the trees. I would recommend this to either amateur gardeners,horticulture and arboricultural students and professionals.Collins Complete Guide - British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Complete Guide to British Trees, 23 July 2009
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
This series of Collins Guides are the very best that I have ever come across for the price. The exceptional photographs and the necessary text are on facing pages just where you want it to be and can be quickly accessed. I have purchased the Wildlife, Insects and
Birds as well. All are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed by a tree enthusiast, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for a tree enthusiast who loves it. One of the really appealing things about it is that there are actual photographs of all the different leaves to the trees and not just drawings and diagrams. There is so much information packed into this little book on trees that I didn't even know existed! Really interesting and very well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything You Need to Know About British Trees, 30 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
An excellent book on trees found in Britain - lots of great colour photographs to illustrate descriptions. There is also information on what certain trees can be used for, especially with reference to traditional crafts. I've used this book to help identify several types of the more obscure trees in my area and when out walking. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Trees: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews