Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Breaking
This book is not for the feint hearted; it broke my heart, poor poor Jodie. This child has suffered at the hands of monsters. Cathy is a saint, she went above and beyond the realms of a foster carer. She is truly and angel sent to care for "damaged" children. This book is adictive for all the wrong reasons; the things this child has suffered is beyond comprehension...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by Curlybing

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sickening
One thing stood out to me all the way through this book. That the author (fosterer) was looking for validation from other professionals regarding what a great job she was doing. Also, she has plenty to say regarding the useless social worker, but saying it in the book is too little too late. Why not make a formal complaint and push it all the way? She is as much to...
Published 10 months ago by Sharon


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Breaking, 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
This book is not for the feint hearted; it broke my heart, poor poor Jodie. This child has suffered at the hands of monsters. Cathy is a saint, she went above and beyond the realms of a foster carer. She is truly and angel sent to care for "damaged" children. This book is adictive for all the wrong reasons; the things this child has suffered is beyond comprehension. This is an increadiby good book but only read it if you feel strong enough too; I feel this book could evoke strong memories for people who have been in a similar situation as Jodie. It makes me appreciate everything I am and greatful that I was brought up in a kind loving family. A very very good read but shocking and heart breaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most unique memoirs yet, 28 April 2008
By 
M. Davies "Mel" (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read a fair amount of memoirs, there's a lot about now. But this is the first book i have felt compelled to write about, i finished this book in 2 days!!
This book is different in the way that it's written and the angle for which it's written. It is captivating, heartbreaking, and so insightful it would either convince you to become a foster carer or put you off for life.
A truly insperational book, not only for the victim but also for those who truly cared about her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****An Addictive Book*****, 20 Sep 2007
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
I dont very often read books and when i do it takes months or i never finish them, but this book i read in 48hrs!!
This book makes for addictive reading although it is sad that we should ever read this kind of a true story.
Thank god for people like cathy, thats all i can say, please read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad yet enlightening, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Jan Sutton (Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
This outstanding book should be read by anyone considering fostering children and by professionals who work with children who have suffered traumatic early experiences. Single handedly, Cathy Glass takes on the difficult task of fostering "Jodie", a young girl whose deep emotional distress shows itself through her destructive behaviour towards herself and others. It demonstrates clearly the difficulties faced by foster parents, and the inordinate amount of patience and empathy required to help children whose childhoods have been destroyed by child abuse. I have read many books on the subject of child abuse and self-harm, none of which have touched me as profoundly as this one. It brought tears to my eyes on numerous occasions. Congratulations Cathy on writing so sensitively about a tricky subject, and well done to your other children for their caring - they are a real credit to you and your courage. Lastly, my heart goes out to "Jodie" an amazing and brave little girl.

Jan Sutton (author of Healing the Hurt Within: Understand Self-Injury and Self-Harm, and Heal the Emotional Wounds and SIARI (Self-Injury and Related Issues) website: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heartbreaking read, 21 Mar 2007
By 
J. WALKER (YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beautifully written book about fostering a VERY challenging child. Cathy Glass comes across as a very caring and remarkable women who was willing to take on a child that others had written off.

As the child called Jodie reveals the true extent of her abuse to her foster carer Cathy, it is truly a disturbing read and thank god Cathy stuck by Jodie and supported her in a positive way unlike her Social Worker who is heavily criticised.

Unfortunately the happy ending the reader will wish for Jodie does not materialise and the end of the book is heartbreaking.

Well done to Cathy for bringing Jodie's case to the public eye. It only takes one person like Cathy to make a difference to an abused child's life.

HEARTBREAKING BUT A MUST READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Sad but Wonderful Read, 4 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
There are a lot of books out there that tell the story of how children are wrongly abused and I have read the reviews on these books. In each different review I read how it made that particular person cry but yet I never did. However when reading Damaged there was a number of occasions when I couldn't stop myself from crying. I read this book in just under three days as I'm sure most people do when they read it. Cathy writes in a way that you feel as if your there with Jodie when she finally opens up about something that happened to her. You feel as if your there calming Jodie down after one of her heartbreaking fits.
Unlike other authors Cathy tells you about Jodie's progress as she grows up and its in that last chapter that I cried the most. If ever I was to be inspired to become a foster carer then this book would be my inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a page turner, 24 April 2008
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
I couldnt put this book down it was amazingly harrowing what this woman has done to help all the foster children is brilliant.I read it in a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 1 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
Cathy is an amazingly dedicated foster carer who tells the tale of an extremely damaged girl she took into her care and how, with a lot of patience, she slowly unearthed the story of her horrific past. It's the most appalling and tragic case of abuse I've ever read about and I found the incompetent way Social Services dealt with it extremely disturbing. Thank goodness for people like Cathy though.
Cathy writes openly and honestly and the way the tale slowly unfolded made it hard for me to put the book down. My only criticism is that not enough was said about the outcome of the prosecution at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching and thought provoking, 29 Feb 2008
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
as a mother to 3 children and a person who did suffer child abuse as a young child myself, this was a very difficult read and yet, therapeutic in some ways. admiration is not the word for how i feel about Cathy Glass, and women like her who devote their souls, never mind their time and energy to children like Jodie, and i understand some of the feelings expressed ina very real and existent way. when are the social services and the government going to get up and realise that this is what is wrong with society today, family life is breaking down and no body seems to notice. Jodie wherever u are, i hope that your soul is in one piece. heartfelt appreciation to you and Cathy for allowing your story in the public domain where it may save another hurting childs life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shocking but true, 9 Nov 2007
This review is from: Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child (Paperback)
I work with looked after children and even children who haven't been as severly abused still have an effect which will follow them through their lives.

I had to read cover to cover to see where the tale ended desperate for that happy ending! After talking to Cathy by email its still a sad tale.

I hope this book inspires people, good caring people to open themselvess and event their homes to these children. Our counties are fast running out of good placements!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child
Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child by Cathy Glass (Paperback - 6 Aug 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews