Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen could be so funny?
I just got this book and it is one of the most hilarious things I've read this year. It's intelligent and well-observed humour - at times outrageous, risque, or plain old silly. Mr and Mrs Llewelyn-Bowen poke fun at the old notion of class, and along the way introduce a host compulsively funny lists, puns and invented words, and provide advice on a range of subjects...
Published on 3 Oct. 2006 by happy camper

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, not for me
Some funny bits, but generally found it bit smutty. Managed about half an hour, then gave up.
Published 9 months ago by Brass Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen could be so funny?, 3 Oct. 2006
By 
happy camper (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
I just got this book and it is one of the most hilarious things I've read this year. It's intelligent and well-observed humour - at times outrageous, risque, or plain old silly. Mr and Mrs Llewelyn-Bowen poke fun at the old notion of class, and along the way introduce a host compulsively funny lists, puns and invented words, and provide advice on a range of subjects from the do's and don'ts of good grooming to "doing" sex. Written in short paragraphs, it's easy to dip in and dip out. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Hilarious, 16 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. Mr. Kraven (Notting Hill, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
I saw this book in our local Waterstones and on a whim bought it last Saturday. I spent the rest of the weekend reading it-its absolutely hilarious. It covers everything posh from the cradle to the grave and the posh sex part had me in tears of laughter. It is funny , inteligent and well written. I also like the way you can dip in and out of the chapters and pick up whre you left off . I think this is this years "eats shoots and Leaves". A great gift book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read!, 21 July 2007
By 
Melanie Carr "st_tropez45" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book!! I haven't laughed as hard whilst reading a book in a long time. Hilarious,witty,clever,fabulous. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised, 19 Jun. 2007
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
I found this book hilarious! It was fantastically written and said what others are often to fearful to say! I also loved the fact that Laurence was able to poke fun at himself - very refreshing approach from a celebrity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tongue lodged firmly in One's cheek!, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
Sharlene (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
This is a great book. I was laughing from the first page. From living a lovely life in a no-go area, dealing with your un-posh relatives, speaking menu French and eyebrow commands. All very funny. Mr & Mrs L-B's tongues are most definitely jammed in One's cheeks. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
The Bowens have done it again

Such an intelligent, charming read

A great escape from "civilisation"

A great leaving home gift for the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Ian Burton-Palmer (Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
It was a gift, so I am unsure about how well it works. I expect to hear about it in a few weeks or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, not for me, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
Some funny bits, but generally found it bit smutty. Managed about half an hour, then gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
It passes the time and the authors are quite good writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised (Hardcover)
good reading, even humorous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised
A Pinch of Posh: A Beginner's Guide to Being Civilised by Jackie Llewelyn-Bowen (Hardcover - 2 Oct. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews