Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, really good book.
I am a fan of this kind of story. Unfortunately authors who can write this kind of thing well are few and far between. Jim Butcher is one, Rachel Cane is another and of course there's Laurell Hamilton and her Anita Blake series (early books anyway) Kim Harrison easily fits in with their illustrious company.

The first book, Dead Witch Walking, set up a wonderful...
Published on 3 Mar. 2005 by Mark E. Cooper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend it...
I have to start off by saying that I'm so glad I decided to carry on with 'The Hollows' series after not liking Dead Witch Walking - book one in the series.

Rachel - the protagonist in the story - was so much stronger as a character than in the previous book. I did think she was stupid in the last book but now she seems to have grown up a lot since having to...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by GloriousBooks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars 25 going on 14..., 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed the first book in the Rachel Morgan series, I was disappointed in it's sequel.

The story is interesting but I found myself becoming increasingly irritated with the main character who, in my opinion, becomes increasingly un-likeable and at points the 25 year old woman is depicted as a spoilt petulant brat who revels in making ridiculous decisions to "spite" her comrades and "move the story on."

The secondary characters have promise - and as such I am prepared to try the third novel - however it is very hard to care for / invest in a protagonist who insists on being so stupid during pivotal moments.

Ah frustration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2) (Paperback)
Kim Harrison, The Good, The Bad and the Undead. If ever there was a world which needed to be created in celluloid this is it. There is a terrible event that wipes out people and forces the weird and wonderful into the light of day. The world is recovering but slowly. Rachael Morgan is my kind of woman, strong, independent but wonderfully messed up. Her relationship with her vampire house mate is so real and leaps off the page. Rachael Morgan is one of the most accessible heroines I've ever read, so follow in the steps we find in The Hollows and enjoy the new world, where witches run with vampires and hunt evil in their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on the entertainment, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2) (Paperback)
This is the second book in the series about Rachel Morgan, ex-IS runner, white witch and now paranormal investigator. The first book was a solid enough read, introducing the reason behind humans and Inderlanders and the characters which inhabit the Hollows, while being nothing spectacular. This book ramps up the action, suspense, excitement, eroticism, terror - it is a whirlwind of a story that doesn't let you breathe until the last page has been turned.

Here Rachel is experiencing trouble meeting her rent payments and suffering from a lack of cases that would provide her income. So she ends up taking on a case through the FIB through necessity - someone is killing leyline witches in a gruesome manner and the FIB want to know who. Rachel finds it easy enough to accept the case, since it seems as though she'll also be able to return to her investigation of Trent Kalamack, a mysterious figure who managed to evade being taken in by the FIB in the first book of the series.

In the course of her investigation Rachel manages to gain a familiar, find out Kalamack's heritage, come to the attention of the master vampire Piscary, take Nick to meet her mother and meet again the demon she dubs Big Al. There are a number of twists in this book that kept me guessing, and I was glad to see the characters gain more and more dimensions.

I particularly love the little details that help to flesh out the world of the Hollows - everything from the fact that Jenks the pixy wears red if he is travelling across the territories of other pixies and fairies to show his harmless intentions; to the fact that humans have an innate distrust of tomatoes since they carried the Angel virus that caused a quarter of humanity to die out. Harrison has also created a menacing otherworld in the form of the ever-after, which lends power to leylines and happens to be where demons roam - I enjoy the way she turns fairytales on their head by showing that rather than finish 'and they lived happily every after', they actually finish 'and they lived in the ever-after'.

As well as the excitement, the violence is ramped up in this book - and some of it is not for queasy stomachs. The descriptions of the witch deaths and Ivy's nasty experience left me with raised eyebrows.

All in all, Harrison has produced a book that is heavy on the entertainment and light on any of the issues I had with the first book. The characters are intriguing, especially Al the demon and Trent, about whom we learn a great deal more in this book. In fact, a lot of the niggling little mysteries from the first novel are cleared up here in an outstanding fashion. I simply cannot wait to move onto the third in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy follow-up, 26 Jan. 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2) (Paperback)
This is the second book in Kim Harrison's series about Rachel Morgan, freelance witch who lives in a converted church with an alive vampire. I enjoyed the first book, Dead Witch Walking, and this book was an excellent follow-up, picking up the story just after the end of the first book.

Rachel is still trying to get to the bottom of the misdeeds of Trent Kalamack but finds herself employed by the FIB (non-witch agency) to try to locate a missing ley line witch, boyfriend of Trent's secretary. Rachel is paired with Glenn, an FIB officer who doesn't seem to be afraid of witches. Rachel is of course accompanied by Jenks her pixy - the scenes with Jenks are some of the best in these stories, I love the way Kim Harrison has written him.

Rachel soon connects the deaths of several witches in very nasty ways, and a ley line magic teacher, with Trent Kalamack and, against the advice of the FIB, tries to pry more into Kalamack's dealings. Her home life isn't much safer with Ivy, her vampire room-mate, struggling even more with living with someone who isn't a vampire, Nick her boyfriend playing with summoning demons and her own confrontations with the demon that attacked her in the last book.

I found this book a little slow to start and it wasn't until halfway through that I really thought it got going - after that I was very much enjoying the ride. I tend to find that the different charms and spells seem sometimes rather an easy way to move the plot on but I like the characters and particularly the difficulties between Ivy and Kim, the confusion over whether Trent Kalamack and Kisten are goodies and baddies, and of course the brilliant portrayal of Jenks the pixy and his family. I've already ordered the next in the series to enjoy after this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More action in this second Rachel Morgan book..., 19 April 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first book in this series Dead Witch Walking (Rachel Morgan 1) started off with a comfortable get to know you pace, the second shoots out of the cave like a bat out of hell. Fast paced with plenty of action this book also answers a lot of the questions left unanswered in the first one.
Harrison manages to create characters that are memorable and fun. Readers of this genre will be used to the more heavy handed scenes that L. Hamilton comes up with, fortunately Harrison keeps it well within the comfortable boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, Yet Original & Enjoyable As Well, 2 Feb. 2005
By 
M. R. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like its predecessor, Dead Witch Walking, this novel appears highly derivative of all manner of sources. I counted the following without any difficulty: Chandler, Sara Paretsky, Buffy, Blade, Dennis Wheatley (of course), Andre Norton (I strongly suspect), Dark Angel and Anne Rice. Those were just the easy ones. Yet, it manages many of its own original twists on most of these salvaged sources, and its world setting is one of the more appealing science fiction / fantasy alternate universes I can recall in recent years. It also probes a number of areas of psychological insight that manage to transcend its broad "sorcery fantasy + police procedural" genre fusion. Occasionally, these forays become laboured, but mostly they are entertaining and deftly done. Overall an enjoyable, even un-put-down-able read with a degree of serious intent that adds some savour. Best advice is read Dead Witch Walking first, otherwise one or two of the plot and character reversals in this book may seem bland. I've not previously paid any attention to this type of book, but Harrison has stimulated my interest. One thing Harper-Collins (and the same goes for Dead Witch Walking) - WHAT HAPPENED TO PROOF READING ? - some unbelievable spelling howlers remain in the text of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADDICTIVE, 14 April 2005
By 
Karin Pissoort "Epona Rosa" (AALST, OOST-VLAANDEREN Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A wonderful and bewitching story, once again. If you love the books by K. Armstrong and L.K. Hamilton, you will adore the books by Kim. The two stories so far are truly addictive and I can't wait to read number 3 in the series.
Buy them and enjoy your reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this book!, 7 Nov. 2011
I have the physical version and desperately want to buy it for my kindle.
Unfortunately - it's simply too expensive!

The price for these books is ridiculous!
Don't get me wrong, if you don't already own a version they're deffo worth it but it's really ridiculous to expect me to pay that much for an ebook I own in a different form!

NOTE TO PRICE SETTERS: REDUCE THIS EXTORTIONATE PRICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bookworm, 25 July 2013
By 
Miss Newbon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2) (Paperback)
These are an okay series for me I felt they dragged a little in places, haven't completed the set yet, they are good and can also be quite heavy. very good at the same time - I know this sounds confusing! Just try dead Witch Walking and see what you think - its different for everyone!

Quick delivery, well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The good,the bad and the undead, 15 Feb. 2014
Kim harrison rachel morgan series is refreshingly different . Yes their are vampires witches and were animals but she still managers a different take on it . The stories are action packed and the main characters are great especially jenks the foul mouthed pixy . I would recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2)
The Good, The Bad and The Undead (Rachel Morgan 2) by Kim Harrison (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews