Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin!
I wanted a straightforward, easy to follow book as I am newcomer not just to Watercolour painting but art in general, and it does what it says on the tin. 'Watercolour for the Absolute beginner' is just what I was looking for in a book. It guides you from what tools and materials to and buy and follows on about how to use them. For me who always had an interest in art and...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Elaine Shilton

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter but the high quality drawing is a bit daunting
There are many "how to" books on watercolour, but Alwyn Crawshaw is one of the big names and reading this I can see why. I would recommend this to a beginner precisely because the styles of fluid, grainy watercolour seen in these pages are just what the beginner needs to master. Too many books basically consist of "colouring in" and this is proper watercolour with...
Published 21 months ago by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin!, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I wanted a straightforward, easy to follow book as I am newcomer not just to Watercolour painting but art in general, and it does what it says on the tin. 'Watercolour for the Absolute beginner' is just what I was looking for in a book. It guides you from what tools and materials to and buy and follows on about how to use them. For me who always had an interest in art and drawing (but not very good) it takes you step by step on how to produce flowers, people, fruit, buildings etc. It's an all-in-one book which demystifies the whole idea of "you have to have a natural talent" to be an artist.

An excellent recommendation to anyone who has thought of taking up a new hobby. I am a crafter and this will enable me to include a new aspect into my crafting projects in the future.

Beautifully illustrated book and well written.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for watercolour beginners, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Length:: 1:26 Mins

Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner is actually a collection of 3 books that were published earlier, namely You Can Paint Watercolors by Alwyn Crawshaw, You Can Paint People in Watercolour by Sharon Finmark and You Can Paint Animals in Watercolour by Trevor Waugh.

It's now sold together as a 224-page paperback at a wonderful bundle price.

This is probably the least intimidating watercolour book I've seen. The exercises are short and easy to follow. It shouldn't take more than 15-30 minutes to complete each one.

The examples are simple, usually a single subject, like a banana or some grapes. Even for the landscape paintings, there are also very few elements included. The simple examples are great in a way because they build confidence.

What's lacking is perhaps the section on colour theory. It teaches basic colour mixing, with simple recipes provided in all the exercises. But it doesn't talk about colour harmony, like how some colours work well with others. Anyway, you can get another book for that called Watercolor Artist's Guide to Exceptional Color by Jan Hart.

This book is highly recommended to watercolour beginners who want something less intimidating. Or if you want something more challenging, but still suitable for beginners, check out Complete Watercolour Course by John Raynes.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 25 May 2009
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This is an excellent purchase for any beginner to watercolour painting. The exercises can be attempted again and again to view one's improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watercolours for beginners, 21 Mar 2010
By 
W. Aisthorpe "wendy" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Mum, as she'd decided to take up Watercolours, something she had NEVER done before. I just wanted to give her a bit of encouragement and understanding.
She loves it!!!!! and hence is really enjoying the classes she attends to weekly.........Result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This book leaves nothing out. Best value for those wishing to paint using watercolours. Start with this and you won`t go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good learning book, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
A very very good book for absolute beginners, easy to follow yet comprehensive enough to impart good knowledge. A little treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars art enlightment, 7 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I have just recently had lessons on watercolour painting this book supports the lessons but i have a handy reference to dip in and out this is an excellent book for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour for Absolute Beginners, 3 Sep 2010
By 
sunseeker2 (Louth Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This book is excellent it is comprehensive, interesting and very easy to understand. I had not painted for 30 years and was very rusty to say the least, I use this as my painting Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter but the high quality drawing is a bit daunting, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
There are many "how to" books on watercolour, but Alwyn Crawshaw is one of the big names and reading this I can see why. I would recommend this to a beginner precisely because the styles of fluid, grainy watercolour seen in these pages are just what the beginner needs to master. Too many books basically consist of "colouring in" and this is proper watercolour with granulating washes, overlaying veils of colour and the paint doing most of the work.

Drawbacks? This IS proper watercolour, and nobody ever said proper watercolour was easy. You can't learn judo from a book even if you can get the general idea - and you have to have a lot of practise to master watercolour too. One reviewer suggested repeating the exercise till you improve and this is very good advice indeed. Another facer is the fact that the drawing shown by the artists, especially in the animals section, is too dauntingly good to encourage a beginner. Forget elephants, concentrate on dogs (which are more convenient to study as they are widely available) and also sheep, which are gratifyingly easy with all that wool to blur the awkward bony bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute beginner, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
this is excellent for the absolute beginner like me! Non-patronising and encouraging. It inspired me to buy sketch pads and pencils and have a go at some of the projects. I was amazed that I could draw a horse for example! Inspirational! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner
Watercolour for the Absolute Beginner by Trevor Waugh (Paperback - 6 Nov 2006)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews