Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the way home from India Sharpe gets caught up in Trafalgar
Only Richard Sharpe could get caught up in a fleet battle on the way home from India and find romance on a Royal Navy line-of-battle ship. But he does, and it's a highly entertaining read, if a little dark and implausible in places. Bernard Cornwell had to stretch things a bit to explain what an army officer was doing at a sea battle, and although Sharpe has always had a...
Published on 7 Jun. 2007 by Marshall Lord

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is the Sharpe of old?
Most of us reading this page have a lot of time and enthusiam invested in Richard Sharpe's brilliant career. On finishing the Sharpe series, I reluctantly launched off into O'Brian's Aubrey/Maturin saga - very sorry to leave the dashing Sharpe behind. Now, with the 20 volumes of O'Brian's wonderful work just behind, I looked forward to Cornwell's...
Published on 9 Jun. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down., 28 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar: The Battle of Trafalgar, 21 October 1805 (The Sharpe Series, Book 4) (Paperback)
Not one of "Sharpe's" better books,clearly Bernard has forgotten that our Hero was born in London & only worked in the "North",this has Sean Bean written all over it! Compared to the others in the series it is a bit of a let down & suffers from being in the doldrums for a vast portion of this story & does suffer from some minor discrepancies. If you read the series in chronological order,this Sharpe bears no resemblance to Tiger,Triumph,Fortress also on that note at a point in the story Richard removes the Tippoo's jewels from his coat lining to entrust to the ship's Captain,seeing as the "Ruby" is the size of a Hen's egg,how come it's now being hidden in the lining of a coat? I honestly think that this book adds nothing of note to the series & that is a shame as it could well have filled in the gap from India to Portugal better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hero Sharpe saves the day, 5 July 2015
By 
B. C. Webb "broken toy" (midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Newly promoted Sharpe boards ship to return to Britain, where he is to join the rifles. Sharpe falls for a married lady , having an affair on board ship. A traitorous captain sells the ship to the French with the aid of one of Sharpes earlier enemies. Eventually the ship is recaptured by the navy. Sharpe joins the ship which chases after the French, eventually they catch up with them and find the Royal Navy fleet . The battle of Trafalgar follows and once again Sharpe helps to save the day. Great story well written and despite being quite an old book now the story is great and I didn't put it down after I started to read it until I had finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Romp, 19 April 2011
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar: The Battle of Trafalgar, 21 October 1805 (The Sharpe Series, Book 4) (Paperback)
Richard Sharpe at the Battle of Trafalgar. Impossible!. How? Well Bernard Cornwell manages this seemingly impossible feat with aplomb, giving us a fast-paced and hugely enjoyable romp in the process. The usual elements are there - daring do, a beautiful woman, bravery, treachery, and a streak of viciousness. Sharpe is, perhaps, less sour than in other books, and the tone of the book is lighter than some of others, though the Battle of Trafalgar itself is covered in gut-wrenching (but admirably well written) detail. I polished it off in two days and really enjoyed it. Not as good as some of the Sharpe novels, but still great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHARPE AT SEA...OUR HERO IS STILL SAILING ALONG!, 14 Jun. 2002
By 
Joseph F. Leoce Jr. (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Bernard Cornwell continued his Sharpe series in fine fashion when he leaped back to Shape's beginnings in a series of books that filled in the early years in India. That change of scene was most refreshing and each of the books has been typically "Sharpe"...with action, romance, intrigue, comradery, betrayal and, oh yes, action! Sharpe's Trafalgar continues Sharpe's journey from India to Britain, with a notable stop on the way...The Battle of Trafalgar! In his usual style, which is quite a lot of fun and richly imagined ), along with his usual
( and much appreciated ) map or diagram or two ( which adds detail and enables the reader to more fully appreciate the action ), Mr. Cornwell paints Sharpe into the fabric of military history and it works quite well.There is one episode that I found somewhat unsettling and a little disappointing that I will not reveal. It's certainly not a major flaw, but, for those of us who have come to love Richard Sharpe, there may be some among us who come away with conflicted feelings about the man and/or the author.But be assured, Sharpe fans will get their fix and wish for more, and fans of Wooden Ships and Iron Men-type nautical tales of the Napoleonic era will get what they enjoy as well! So sharpen your cutlass, get used to your sea legs,load your volley gun, prepare to board stately ships and desire beautiful ladies. Richard Sharpe is at sea and heading toward Trafalgar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Sharpe novel, 10 May 2000
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar (Hardcover)
Once again Cornwell manages do another throughly enjoyable Sharpe (You would think that after all the novels so far he would run out of Ideas) this time with our hero pursuing a French privateer at see. Although I would rather have seen a final confrantion between Sharpe and Antony Pholam (makes a welcome return from Sharpes triumph). And with having Sharpe at Trafalgur it contradicts Sharpes Devil in which it says that tbattle was Sharpes first sea battle. Cannot wait for the next Sharpe though and how he gets promoted to Leiutenant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar (Hardcover)
Bernard Cornwell is, in my opinion [for whatever that is worth] the best historical author currently working in the world of narrative fiction; based upon real-life historical events. He pulls no punches in respect to the often extremely violent reality of life during the wide ranging periods of human history he has covered. The net result is an authentic and often contemporary feel, featuring a cast of flawed characters that the modern day reader can identify with [in some cases], and entertained by until it becomes quite addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a little pedantic, 21 April 2014
By 
Donald Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is my fourth sharpe , i found this one a little pedantic at times , however i did enjoy the descriptions of battles between the warships , having read similar before and also seen it described on tv it all seemed very realistic , injurties must have been horrific and if that did,nt kill you the surgery would . Sharpe has become ruthless now being a murderer and an accessory to murder added to his qualifications as an officer ,but not a gentleman. I am now started reading Prey and Sharpe is down on his heels with little cash ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe at sea & in love, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar: The Battle of Trafalgar, 21 October 1805 (The Sharpe Series, Book 4) (Paperback)
An unusual Sharpe-novel in that it largely takes place at sea (aboard the frigate Pucelle which is taking Sharpe from India back to England), and has fairly little action except for the battle at Trafalgar which ends the book.

Nonetheless, I read this with great pleasure (if only for the love story, it's strange to encounter a love-struck Sharpe) and even without pitched battles every other chapter Cornwell knows how to keep you engaged in the story and always wanting to find out what'll happen next. On to Sharpe's Rifles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and wonderful, 22 May 2008
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar: The Battle of Trafalgar, 21 October 1805 (The Sharpe Series, Book 4) (Paperback)
Again - forget A Starbuck Fan's review - its not a review - its a pigheaded opinion that that person writes on every Sharpe Prequal.

Trafalgar is a different book but certainly not a different feel.
Sharpe is at sea; not land, but the unrelenting pace and wonderful characters are still there.
Its a touching tale and the battle of Trafalgar will leave you wanting more.
The only downside is the silling killing of one of the passengers (Sharpe does it) and yes he could and would murder someone, it wasn't necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but still damn good., 22 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sharpe's Trafalgar (Hardcover)
This is not the best of the 'new' sharp novels - Fortress is better - but this is a massive improvement upon some of the more lackluster Sharpe novels from the late 70's/early 80's. Cornwell manages to portray his hero as both noble and brutal - difficult but he pulls it off.
Of great suprise to me was of course the name of the ship - I've used it as an internet name many times previously ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharpe's Trafalgar: The Battle of Trafalgar, 21 October 1805 (The Sharpe Series, Book 4)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews