Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking Christmas mystery
Hercule Poirot is spending Christmas in the country with his friend Colonel Johnson, Chief Constable of Middleshire, and suffering terribly from the lack of central heaintg ("Nothing like a wood fire", says Colonel Johnson, but Poirot disagrees). Disagreeable wealthy old tyrant Simeon Lee is bloodily murdered in mysterious circumstances, and Poirot is called in to...
Published on 5 Feb 2005 by L O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not her best
Predictable and too much exposition, still fun. She has done better, though this is still a fun read. I. Love her imagination
Published 17 months ago by Lord Moose


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking Christmas mystery, 5 Feb 2005
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot is spending Christmas in the country with his friend Colonel Johnson, Chief Constable of Middleshire, and suffering terribly from the lack of central heaintg ("Nothing like a wood fire", says Colonel Johnson, but Poirot disagrees). Disagreeable wealthy old tyrant Simeon Lee is bloodily murdered in mysterious circumstances, and Poirot is called in to investigate.
The house is full of Simeon Lee's put-upon sons and their put-upon wives, any one of whom might have had reason to do Simeon in, especially as he had just announced that he was about to change his will to include his beautiful young granddaughter Pilar, just arrived from Spain, whom none of the family had ever set eyes on before. The family are anxious to insist that the murder was an outside job, but Poirot is equally convinced that it was not.
This is one of the best Poirot mysteries, with lots of interesting characters, especially the delightfuly vivacious, high-spirited and unconventional Pilar, and a cunning murderer to unmask. A real Christmas treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie at her Finest, 3 Oct 2001
By 
E. J. Fletcher "Erinbron" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Isn't it great to read one of Christies books for the first time and know you've found a real gem. Her clues and red herrings have led you to so many theories along the way that you've lost track, given up, admitted you're beaten. All you have left to do is read on where all will be revealed, and you know it's going to be worth the wait. That is how I was with this book. What a great story! A brilliant atmosphere, clues staring you in the face, and a solution that I couldnt have been more satisfied with. Who'd have thought.............well, that would be telling! If you are at all into her work, you are probably going to love this. I think it deserves to be more famous than it is.
Go on, read it! I defy you to work it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Holiday Read!!, 9 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This book is wonderful, especially to read over the holidays, since it is set at Christmas. The characters are wonderfully developed, and I love how the key to solving the mystery was in the dialogue all along. I wish now that I had paid closer attention to the moustache that Poirot buys and the picture he has placed in his room. Double identity and a great plot twist at the end make this an enticing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie's locked room murder mystery., 21 May 2003
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Although generally regarded as typifying the cozy murder mystery writer in whose books there is either a murder in a locked room or a murder at a family reunion in a country house, Agatha Christie rarely tried her hand at either of these murder mystery genres. In “Hercule Poirot’s Christmas”, however, she combines both.
The family is the dysfunctional Lee family, summoned to pass Christmas together in the house of old Simeon Lee, the patriarch. During this stressful reunion, a commotion followed by a blood-curdling scream is heard from the room on the first floor occupied by old Simeon. When the locked door is forced open, the furniture is found upended, the safe rifled, and Simeon is found lying dead with his throat cut. The door key is in place, on the inside of the door.
Having depicted how the family members despise, hate, or resent each other up to this point, Agatha Christie next allows the investigations and theories to develop. Poirot is on hand, but she cleverly allows other police inspectors and investigators to do most of the work and make most of the mistakes.
The solution is one you will never forget, but also one that you will probably never arrive at before Poirot reveals all. Agatha Christie is wonderfully clever at laying out all the clues in an arrangement that directs the reader away from the vital ones.
Apart from a few lines of description, almost everything in the text is dialogue. To anyone in the world who has not yet read this 1940 mystery nothing more need be said. To those who are re-reading it, I suggest they notice how cleverly it is plotted and planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Christie and an old-fashioned Xmas, 17 Dec 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Poirot) (Hardcover)
Agatha Christie might be old-fashioned but I still think she's the best crime plotter ever! This is vintage Christie, set in a big mansion over Xmas with all the family gathered - and a murder committed that seems impossible... The suspects all have both motive and opportunity, but Poirot negotiates his way with usual aplomb amongst them, to uncover one of Christie's more 'imaginative' murder methods. Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot's Christmas, 18 Oct 2012
I know The Murder of Roger Akroyd is supposed to be her masterpiece but for me this was Agatha at her very best. This was unsolvable and so unexpected I had to re read parts to see what I might have missed along the way! A country house at Christmas, a gathering of the clans and the sudden, quite brutal death of the elderly grandfather made this pure vintage Christie for me. Hercule as ever is sublime in his smart observations and dry wit, never missing a trick along the way with his usual ocd worries of disorder and draughts within this ancient crumbling manor. Snow, yule logs and Xmas puds abound to wrap around a yummy festive tale giving the reader a delicious seasonal murder mystery to solve. Simply the best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Holiday Read!!, 9 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This book is wonderful, especially to read over the holidays, since it is set at Christmas. The characters are wonderfully developed, and I love how the key to solving the mystery was in the dialogue all along. I wish now that I had paid closer attention to the moustache that Poirot buys and the picture he has placed in his room. Double identity and a great plot twist at the end make this an enticing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingeniously plotted, 25 Sep 1998
By A Customer
The title of this book is rather misleading. As always, the plot is emphasized more than the setting or characters. And what a plot it is! This story is one of Christie's most brilliantly constructed. The physical clues tie in deftly and flawlessly with the psychological ones. Christie leaves more than enough hints toward the murderer's identity, but she does so in such a subtle and deceptive manner that the reader is inevitably fooled once again! The solution is electrifying, the characters are better-developed than usual, and although the author does rely a bit too heavily upon coincidence, the flaws of the novel do not detract from the enjoyability or credibility of this novel. A solid puzzle plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN INTERESTING PLOT!!, 10 July 1998
By A Customer
Although this book does not compare to Agatha Christie's more famous ones such as "Murder of Roger Ackroyd", "A.B.C. Murders" and "The Man in Brown Suit", however the plot in this book is definitely intriguing. The murder is quite an orthodox one. A tyrannical and wealthy old man is murdered whilst all his family had gathered for Christmas at his invitation. It appears to be a case of murder for monetary benefits by one of the family members. Almost all have a motive and a possible chance to kill the old man. Yet, the end is quite interesting. I found the story so exciting that I finished it in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot's Christmas, 11 Dec 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Hercule Poirot is staying with his friend Colonel Johnson for Christmas, you would hope he would have a peaceful holiday. However, wherever Poirot is crime is not far away, and they are called to a murder at Gorston Hall where Mr Simeon Lee has met his end in a bloody and violent way. The house is full of family and visitors and there are plenty of suspects for Poirot to get his teeth into, as well as a robbery to make things more interesting.

Mr Lee had all his family to stay for Christmas - his four sons, three with their wives, plus his only grandchild and the son of an old business partner. With Agatha Christie though, you can take very little at face value and a lot is not what it seems. Agatha Christie is the Queen of Crime for a reason and that is that she was a really good writer, who told a great story. I rarely even try to work out 'whodunnit', but I was certainly stumped in this novel! However, if you are looking for a great read with a Christmas twist, you will certainly find this an enjoyable book to curl up with on a winter evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Poirot)
Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 6 Nov 2006)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews