Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of her best
This is definitely amongst the best Agatha Christie novels I've read, and it feels even better in this lovely 'new' facsimile edition. The novel caused a stir (relatively speaking) at the time because it's written in the first person... and particularly for another reason! Read it to find out. The first person narrative feels odd at first, but the narrator is very...
Published on 3 Mar 2007 by Androo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder story
I am a fan of Agatha Christie but the only slight problem with this book opn Kindle is that it is abridged. This took away from my enjoyment. Amazon should advertise this fact at point of purchase. However, great story
Published 19 months ago by Wendy Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 3 Mar 2007
By 
Androo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd: 80th Anniversary Edition (Poirot) (Hardcover)
This is definitely amongst the best Agatha Christie novels I've read, and it feels even better in this lovely 'new' facsimile edition. The novel caused a stir (relatively speaking) at the time because it's written in the first person... and particularly for another reason! Read it to find out. The first person narrative feels odd at first, but the narrator is very believable. This is a well structured and complex plot. A semi-retired Poirot is looked at from a different angle, but he is just as effective and there are some nice set pieces - in particular the beautifully written 'mah jong' scene that's a joy to read. The denoument is satisfying. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot gets embroiled in murder - again, 10 Dec 2000
Agatha Christie really exercises her ability to write ingenious crime fiction in this story. Featuring the well-known and lovable Hercule Poirot, we follow his attempts to retire peacefully in a country village setting, and see them blown away when a murderer strikes. As usual, Christie deceives the reader in a most satisfactory way, which is perhaps the most I should say about it. Immensely enjoyable, and the reader should find him or herself reading it over and over again to spot the clues that were missed the first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Deception, 8 Nov 2008
By 
A.K.Farrar "AKF" (Timisoara, Romania) - See all my reviews
Agatha Christie's job, as a writer of Detective Novels, was, paradoxically, to hide the criminal - much like a spiv with the card game, Hide the Lady. Even though the punter aims to find the card - and makes wild guesses (based, of course, on superior talents) the side-show spiv will win every time - maybe it's just a trick, a slight of hand, but we come back again and again in the vain hope of putting one over on the expert.

Not much hope, I'm afraid!

`The Murder of Roger Ackroyd' has to be Ms Christie's ultimate deception - it certainly had me fooled right `til the end. No matter where I looked, the Lady was hidden.

Up pop all the usual suspects - and with a Christie you know if someone is accused, it isn't them. One by one she knocks out everyone - and I do mean everyone! Surely she hasn't had a total stranger do the murder?

No, the wrist works it's magic: Poirot, shows you the superiority of his little gray cells and you loose again.

And I can't tell you the secret - I won't spoil the thrill.

What I will say is it is beautifully done.

Agatha Christie manages here to exploit the genre `Detective Novel' in a way which relies on the reader's knowledge of all the usual tricks, of lulling them into a false sense of security and then flipping them onto their backs. It is a book to be read rather than a story to be told - and despite the amazing craftsmanship of Granada television's version with David SuchetPoirot - Agatha Christie's Poirot - The Murder Of Roger Ackroyd [1989], it fails precisely because this is not only a story but an exploration of the relationship between reader and writer.

Poirot has gone into retirement - Hastings is away in Argentina, Scotland Yard is not involved. A local rich man is the victim of murder (the only one, incidentally in the story - the TV version needed to double the number, bring Inspector Japp in where he wasn't wanted and simplify the plot by removing a couple of key characters). There is blackmail and love, lost wedding rings and phone calls in the night.

Poirot, after throwing marrows around, one of which lands in his neighbour's garden and smashes open at the feet of the doctor, is brought in on the sidelines - he hardly features in fact. There is a chair out of place, a man arrested in Liverpool, and the delicate feelings of the local constabulary all to be taken into consideration.

And a lot of consideration is being done by a local tribe of Miss Marples. Nosey old women pop up in profusion - and references to the greatest detective of all times can't be avoided: The story is retold by the Doctor whose shoes were splattered - a Watson to Poirot's Holmes.

As you would expect, it is the twist and turns of the plot that matter rather than deep characterisation, but to suggest the book is shallow as a result would be to deny the profound insight Ms Christie shows into the psychology of her readership.

The term masterpiece has been justifiably applied to the book - and I fully concur.

Just make sure you read the book before you see the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 1 Sep 2002
By A Customer
You have to read this book twice- first time as a mystery, second time knowing who the murderer was and spotting all the clues that make the answer seem so obvious... (once you know who it is, you wonder how you could have been so deceived!) A really engaging story with a delicious twist at the end! This book is worth more than 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd' is the brightest jewel amongst Agatha Chrisite's crime novels. The plot of the murder is so intricate and complex, yet so logical, that only the brilliant grey cells of Hercule Poirot at their full 'methodical' capacity can allow the reader to comprehend its degree of ingenuity. The suspects are numerous; the entire staff employed at Ackroyd's mansion, his own son as well as his sister in law and her daughter. All possess the equal potential of being the murderer. With Dr.Sheppard substituting the role of Poirot's faithful companion Hastings, the road towards the truth is long but entirely bearable, as Agatha Christie demonstrates why she is the queen of crime, once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I know the murderer is in this room...All the facts lead indisputably to one person.", 22 Jan 2007
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd: 80th Anniversary Edition (Poirot) (Hardcover)
As seductive as a sudoku puzzle, with all the facts of a devilish murder laid out for the reader to solve, if only s/he reads carefully enough, this 1926 mystery is still captivating new readers. A contemporary of popular mystery writers Dorothy Sayers and Marjorie Allingham, Christie writes novels which are less character-driven than Sayers's novels and less elitist (and sometimes satirical) than Allingham's. Instead, Christie carves out a niche writing mysteries with unusually clever plots, even if, as in this case, she has to violate the conventions of the mystery/detective genre to make them work.

No spoilers. When Hercule Poirot, the French detective who uses his "little gray cells," retires and moves to the small rural village of King's Abbott, he quickly learns of the death of Mrs. Ferrars, who, after her husband's mysterious death, had intended to marry Roger Ackroyd. Soon, however, Roger Ackroyd himself is found dead, stabbed in the back in his study.

An unusual number of complications make this mystery particularly challenging. The disappearance of Ackroyd's stepson (his major heir) is thought to signal his guilt, but there are others who also have motives. A maid has been dismissed under mysterious circumstances, Ackroyd's sister-in-law has serious debts, a stranger has appeared at Fernly Park at the time of the murder and has then disappeared, and Ackroyd himself has been trying to control his estate by securing the marriage of his niece to his stepson.

Details of the mystery are not unique. Christie uses the attempt of a wealthy man to control his heirs' marriages in _Dead Man's Mirror_, for example, along with the familiar concept of a murderer entering and leaving a locked room via a window. Mysterious strangers are a cliché, as are dismissed maids who have secrets. Throughout, the characterization extends only as far as is necessary for the plot. Told by Dr. James Sheppard, a friend and frequent visitor of Ackroyd's, the novel is justifiably one of Christie's most famous, however--and its creative conclusion revolutionized mystery writing not only in its time, but forever. Don't miss this one. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Archetypal Christie mystery with a sting in the tail, 10 Feb 2002
By 
L. C. Jones (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some of Christie's finest detective stories are the one-offs, like 'And Then There Were None'. Whilst The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is ostensibly part of her Poirot series, since the Belgian detective is now officially retired and his erstwhile Watson-esque sidekick Captain Hastings is in Argentina, there is a new narrator, Dr Shepard, which gives this novel the air of a one-off. The action, as usual, is set in rural England. A rich widow who poisoned her husband commits suicide because she is being blackmailed; shortly afterwards, the man everyone thought would remarry her, Roger Ackroyd, is murdered. The formula of the novel is classic Agatha Christie: there is a massive range of suspects, ranging from the butler to the spendthrift step-son who inherits the Ackroyd fortune, each with possible motives, and Poirot is brought in to assist the bumbling police investigation. Unlike other Christie characters, such as the dreadfully dull Miss Marple, Poirot is an amusing character and brings sparkle to a range of otherwise stereotypical characters - the hired help, the annoying matron, the army officer, the family doctor and so on. That said, this is one of her funnier novels, the narrator's (rather misognystic) observations of his nosey spinster sister Caroline being particularly amusing. If you enjoy detective novels, you will enjoy Agatha Christie; if you like Agatha Christie, you will enjoy this archetypal piece of her work. If one reads enough Christie, one begins to detect her formula and manage to deduce the murderer before the final revelation (which, as usual, occurs after all the major suspects are gathered together to be lectured by Poirot); however, owing to the format change (a new narrator), even Christie veterans are likely to be left guessing up to the last few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 8 Jan 1999
By A Customer
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is an interesting, and creative book by Agatha Cristie. I consider the Murder of Roger Ackroyd one of her best mystery books. The main character, Hercule Poirot solves the case of the murder of Mr. Ackroyd. With the help of clues, and as Hercule says, "his little gray cells," he puts the pieces together discovers the most unpredictable murderer. When Cristie reveals the murderer, it leaves you dumbfounded. It's a great mystery and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie! What more do you need!, 5 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Truly the best of the man with the little grey cells from the author who has it all! This book has everything! I noticed someone said don't read this right away. I disagree! I read this 5 months ago and have been hooked ever since. The best part is in the last chapter when Poirot reveals that the murder is..... You'l have to read to find out! *Also great by Christie: The Mysterious Affair at Styles, One, Two, Buckle my Shoe, & Cards on the Table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOILER!, 12 Dec 2013
By 
This book was slightly a victim of it's own success for me. I only read about two reviews but it was described as ground breaking with a plot twist etc. I haven't read much crime and I've never read a crime novel written in a first person narrative before so I must admit I did think there was a chance we had an unreliable narrator, and after that I just looked for signs that linked him to the case. From that perspective he is an obvious suspect. Basically, it was my own fault for reading the reviews. That said, it didn't spoil the novel for me at all. It was intricate and suspenseful. The clues were revealed in a way that was not at all tedious as it has been with other crime novels I have read. The characters were interesting. It was surprising but not unbelievable. It's everything I feel a crime novel should be and I am not surprised that it was voted the best crime novel ever by the CWA. I just wish I could turn back time and not have read the reviews first!

I very much like the hypothesis mentioned at the end that we may still be being deceived further and that Caroline may be the murderer. It is left open in this sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd: 80th Anniversary Edition (Poirot)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd: 80th Anniversary Edition (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 4 Sep 2006)
10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews