Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide for Simpson Anoraks...and others, 1 Jan 2003
By 
S. Bradnam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like to find out more about the episode you happen to tune into on TV, then this book will help. Painstaking levels of detail for two of the more recent series, will give you info you would otherwise miss. Funny and informative, and sits well with the previous 2 volumes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This book has SO much info!, 30 Nov 2002
This book is so good! The seasons that are featured are 11 & 12. Each episode has two pages to itself. It tells you what you may have missed, hidden jokes, and the story behind the freeze frame jokes. It also includes Character Designs and Production Art from from both seasons. And the couch gags. And synopsis' of the Itchy & Scratchy episodes. 127 pages of brill Simpsons info. If you are a fanatic of the show, then by all means click on Buy Now for £9.99!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CALLING ALL SIMPSONS FANS..., 1 Feb 2003
This book is brilliant, a must for all 'Simpsons' fans. It's detailed look at every episode from seasons 11 and 12 ensure that even the most "clued-up" fan will find trivia unknown. This may sound quite boring, but with the "Highlights of the show", "Things you may have missed", hilarious 'freeze-frames' and a brief plot outline, it will keep anybody entertained for hours!
Absolutely fantastic! 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars v.happy, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favourite Family (Seasons 1-8) (Hardcover)
well what do i say,its the simpsons, they never fail to put a smile on your face.good price too,doh! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for any huge simpson fan., 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favourite Family (Seasons 1-8) (Hardcover)
This book is a great read. It gives you an in depth look into each episode from season 1 to season 8. On each page it shows you a handfull of quotes from the episode, things you might have missed and also it explains the meaning behind the episode. On the side of the page it shows a character and expalins a few things about them like who voiced them and what they like and dislike. In conclusion this page is a must buy for an simpson fan and I love it and have read it at least 3 times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great tribute to the show's golden years., 15 Sep 2010
By 
Zeke Pliskin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favourite Family (Seasons 1-8) (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of The Simpsons "golden era". Each critic has a different idea of what that is, but my own personal definition is a little broader than most: I even like the slower-paced sappy early stories and cruder animation style of the first season so for me it is seasons one through nine, just about the time Homer became really dumb and all the good writers/showrunners left. This book covers just the good stuff, so you have the almost the complete golden era in one tomb. Much better value for money than the ones which cover only two seasons per book and are paperback only.

I pride myself on spotting every detail in the episodes, but I have to admit even with the benefit of DVD commentaries and rewatches, there are still odd bits of trivia or sight gags I have missed which this book spells out for you. I particularly like the recap of the Itchy & Scratchy episodes - the titles of these short "show within a show" segments are great even if you're not watching them at the time. "Scar Trek: The Next Laceration" always makes me chuckle.

I suppose the most amazing thing is how the writing stands alone. Bereft of the excellent animation and legendary vocal performances by Dan Castallaneta (owner of the best scream/yell abilities in the business) et al it is quite impressive that the writing still jumps off the page. The humour and careful sentence construction really does pop out at you, highlighting the dialogue and story construction quality that few shows have matched since, animated or otherwise.

Generally, the classic Simpsons formula is as follows: the first act is often non-sequitur to the other two, usually with the most random gags which somehow setup the crux of the plot, which is fleshed out in act two usually with a barrage of more traditional situation comedy observations and the odd dramatic moment. This rolls into act three which ties up the main plot and any subplots in a very, very clever way that never feels forced. The last few minutes will usually feature some heartwarming moments to balance out the comedic sociopathy and slapstick fun before. It's a very well-balanced approach that builds on Citizen Kane, The Three Stooges and various pop culture jabs along the way.

This book allows you to relive a slice of that magic and is a nice counterpart to the DVDs. The layout is clear and concise and condenses the twenty minute plots down nicely, picking a smattering of the memorable moments along the way. I particularly like the side-character columns, which appropriately are on the outer edges of each page. You can open any random page and put your finger on a funny quip without looking most of the time. This makes the book great to pick up at times when you're not really able to immerse yourself in a proper novel; each page only takes a few minutes to read, but really does capture the spirit of that particular episode and gives you a similar feeling to actually watching the episode when you've finished it.

The only thing I don't like is that not all pages are numbered at the bottom and that the numbers are in the centre of the page, but it's a very small blemish on a great piece of work.

As Groening states in the introduction, seventeen people may well have gone mad creating this thing but it was well worth the effort. Nice work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 26 Aug 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favourite Family (Seasons 1-8) (Hardcover)
A lovely read for the true simpsons fan, who wants a detailed explanation of each episode for seasons 1 to 8. Each episode has its plot explained, with goofs, facts, and quotes that really stick out.

Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simpson Tastic!, 1 Dec 2002
By 
C. A. Richards (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Everything from Season 11 to 12 is explored here. Two seasons may not sound like a lot, but this book is essential for any Simpsons fan. Not only does it contain info about each episode, but also some of Homer's Mmms..., his D'oh!'s and production art, which shows some of the original sketches of characters from certain episodes. The guide itself is very colourful with some excellent screen shots of all our favourite episodes. If you have The Guide to Our Favourite Family and Continued... then you need this too! You also need it even if you don't have the two previous editions. This would make a great present for any Simpson-holic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calling Simpson fans!, 24 Aug 2003
By 
Mr. R. J. Unwin "robman46" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is no spiecal book, it's just a normal episode guide to the latest epesidoes. Find the story's, the cut seans, how they made it, best best's bit's of the latest episode, it's not a story. I'll say this book is just for simpsons fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favourite Family (Seasons 1-8)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews